We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly beautiful peace resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Okanagan Resort
Ranked #30 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Give yourself plenty of time and arrive before dark, the road from the highway to the resort about 10 miles is stunning but rather twisty and windy with very little in the way of safety barriers go slow. The reception staff couldnt have been more helpful. The room was really roomy and very clean. There was an elephant made from a towel on the bed when we arrived and my daughter thought this was the ultimate. We were greeted by deer right outside the room well within six feet. There is a sauna and indoor hot tub, and an outdoor hot tub and swimming pool. The views from the resort are stunning and looking out over the lake from the hot tub is a great way to end and start the day. The restaurant is reasonably priced and serves really good food with the exception of the sweet menu which is almost non existant and again the views are breathe taking. We were sorry that we couldnt stay for longer but will return again for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jockboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 397 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the hotel on the Valentine's Day package, it was a horrible experience we wish to never repeat. The road to the hotel was awful and treacherous, uopn arrival at the front desk, the male on duty was rather crass and rude making tasteless jokes. The room we were given down by the lake was musty smelling with worn carpets and leaking shower. We didnt unpack our case as we were trying to decide whether or not to stay..the thought of driving that road back into town in the dark was the deciding factor so we decided to brave a night in this dump.

The dining room had a nice view and the staff were quite friendly and nice. There was a male that seemed to be the supervisor or manager that was quite rude and unfriendly. The food was nothing special and not as good as it sounded. Desert was dried out and after attempting to face this disaster, we decided to retire to our room. Needless to say there was nothing romantic about our night out. I had read some reviews about this place prior to staying here and I can concur with them that this place is a disaster and I wouldnt send my enemy here.

I was told that some renovoations were done on the rooms but I have yet to see anything that remotely resembles presentable or inhabitable in our room. WE FELT LIKE WE WERE BEING PUNISHED STAYING IN THAT NASTY MUSTY UNCLEAN PLACE...STAY AWAY FROM HERE.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank msoptimist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Efay28, General Manager at Lake Okanagan Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2011

Dear Guest,
Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues that you had during your stay. I understand that you were looking forward to a romantic stay and we were unable to deliver.
I have shared your comments with our team and we are focused on making sure that this does not happen again.
If you would be so kind as to give me a call at your earliest convenience, I would like to discuss this matter further with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We had stayed at Lake Okanagan Resort several times before our big day, and loved the secluded location in the heart of the BC wilderness. The road to the resort can be a little treacherous, be sure to give yourself plenty of time and it's best to arrive in day light and enjoy the windy mountain road. (Also be sure to stop off at a grocery store and/or liquor store before you embark on your journey).

I would recommend a one bedroom suite or if you've a few dollars to spare a villa (the villas are brand new and BEAUTIFUL).

Nothing beats having a full kitchen (with dishwasher) and a lovely balcony overlooking the lake to sit and enjoy a cup of coffee or a glass of wine.

The beds are not the most comfortable, however, having a one bedroom means if one of you sleeps in the other can get up and enjoy the room without disturbing your partner.

The restaurant serves amazing gourmet food with local ingredients (not to mention a few comfort items). While in the lounge be sure to have a glass of Tree Brewing Co. Raspberry porter.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelMynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

My husband and I decided to spend a nice new years at the resort and were very dissapointed. The room we were given was old and had a funny smell to it, We went for the dinner which was not that impressive for a new years party, After dinner we went down stairs for the dance and salsa lessons. The band was horriable and would have sounded way bettter in an elevator . we tried to go back upstairs but were rudley told that we were no longer alowed to go back upstairs even though most of the crowd had already gone up. At midnight there was an attempt at a fireworks show and a change of music but we decided to count our losses. We will no be returning to this resort in the future

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eatdinwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Was recently given a free trip to the resort from a family member who has a timeshare there. After travelling on a dangerous road for 20 mins (steep cliffs with no barriers, on a narrow / bendy road) we arrived at the resort. We checked in at a small office that smelled strongly of marijuana (should have left right there and then !!) and were given the keys to our room. The room itself was very outdated (filthy carpet and furniture that stunk) our duvet on the bed appeared to have stains all over it and we called housekeeping only to be told they wash their duvets only once a year !! and that a replacement would be of similar quality??? there was 2 mousetraps in our room, and we heard what i thought and later confirmed were racoons running around above our ceiling (i investigated and found a huge hole where they were going in/out of the building) The layout is TERRIBLE and you need to drive to go anywhere or else you have to walk up/down the steepest of hills.. "The golf course" is a tiny 9 hole course set on the side of a steep hill??? how does one prevent there ball from rolling downhill several hundred yards after every shot?....the view is nice, but the resort is designed terrible. Can't walk anywhere unless your young and athletic. Food was not bad. Very expensive for the quality though (definitely not a red seal chef in there kitchen). Despite all of this we tried to make the most of our stay. The only thing positive about the place is the secluded location (if you like that) and the staff were all "new" (excluding our intoxicated server in the dining room) and could care less when it came to addressing problems. I spoke to the manager who was rude and very reluctant to hear our complaints (definitely not a people person) and he left me wondering how he got the job as manager. Did not offer to do anything for us and told us the resort was exactly as advertised??? I would not recommend this place to anyone and would never stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ScouterMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

My fiance & I decided to book a couple of nights at this resort and enjoy the offered New Year's package. The one bedroom jacuzzi suite turned out to be very nice. Clean (I didn't notice any "musty" smell) with everything in good working order. It's true that the appliances, tv/dvd player, etc., were not "state-of-the-art" but this is only a 3 star place. We found the mattress quite comfortable and the jacuzzi tub was large and worked great. The food at our buffet was delicious with excellent service by the staff. In fact, the front desk personnel were pleasant and efficient, even when working in a somewhat remote location on New Year's Eve.

The resort, itself, is a combination of privately owned time shares and units owned by the resort. For the most part, the "older" buildings (circa 1982) are resort owned. There is, as of January 1st (I asked) a brand new building that is owned by the resort. If you are a senior or someone with special mobility concerns, you will definitely want to get into the newer building as it has elevators. None of the older units have them and, like us, you might end up having to haul your stuff up 4 flights! After several trips to the van, I determined that this was a real negative!

This is a seasonal Canadian resort. It's situated quite a distance from the closest community (Kelowna, BC) so, particularly in the winter, you'll really want to have all the stuff you're going to need. As with previous postings, the views are stunning and the location makes it ideal for an intimate getaway.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank letterdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

We were let down from the moment we left te highway. The road is narrow and dangerous .We arrived at the front desk and were advised that are room was not yet ready and would be another 45 min, So we put our 2 small children in their stollers and went to have a look around. There is nothing acessible on this resort for strollers or wheelchairs,We decided to grab a bite to eat in the main building and were greeted by what looked like the entire kitchen and service staff sitting at the bar at 11 am watching TV. when are server sat us we were informed that breakfast was over and had to wait about 20 min to order our lunch and that the only kids menue was located in the restarunt downstairs .we finaly got to eat at Cabanas which was good but expencive.
Our "room " was outdated ,dirty,and smelt horriable and asked for another room which we were told there was no vacientcies. Our dinner had a beautiful view but the food was overcooked,oversalted and overpriced.(our server had also been drinking and seemed dazed and confused).
Over all it was an awful vacation and not a good place to bring your kids ,

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank offmenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
The Royal Private Residence Club
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
The Charles M Suites
The Charles M Suites
#22 of 34 in Kelowna
2 reviews
Central City
Prestige Beach House
Prestige Beach House
#16 of 34 in Kelowna
334 reviews
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Okanagan Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Okanagan Resort

Address: 2751 Westside Rd N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Z 3T1, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range: $111 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Okanagan Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Okanagan Resort is located on 300 acres of mountainside parkland on the West Shore of beautiful Okanagan Lake, just 20 minutes from downtown Kelowna.Lake Okanagan Resort is the Kelowna's "true destination Resort. The resort has its own 9 hole executive par 3 golf course, lit tennis courts, hot tubs, resort store, renovated meeting space, restaurants, lounge, seasonal pools, spa, upgraded suites (all with kitchen facilities) and premier villas, beach and brand new marina.The resort welcomes families, couples, groups, conferences, retreats and is perfect for beach weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lake Okanagan Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Okanagan Hotel Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Kelowna
Lake Okanagan Resort Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing