We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Sandman Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Okanagan Falls, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sandman Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great room, clean hotel, friendly staff. I was here for business and 6 weeks in a room can be a bit stressful. The two things I didn't like about this hotel were the noise of people shouting and running up and down the hall and second the internet would take up to 10+ min to connect and I would spend about 20 min trying to open my email or my online course load. Most days I'd give up and go to the local Tim Hortons.

Room Tip: Upstairs back of hotel is better and seems quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TLynneWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelownaManager, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your positive comments and constructive feedback. I have passed along your comments with regard to our friendly and helpful staff to the team and your words are much appreciated.
With regard to your internet concerns, we have been working with both our internet provider and the internet support company on improving their systems to better meet our guests needs and they have implemented a number of upgrades to the system. With the quickly advancing technology demands it does take constant enhancements to keep internet access up to speed but we will continue to strive to do so. The challenges that were slowing down internet access over the last few months have been addressed by both parties that are involved in the internet service of our hotel.
Our hotel has been designed to provide our Executive Tower, designated for business and corporate travellers, and our Atrium Complex that is configured more with family and group travel accommodations in mind. This does provide an opportunity to keep our different guest types in areas that have less impact on each other. It sounds as though there may have been some overlapping in the case of your room assignment and I apologize if we did not address it immediately for you in order to control any disturbance while you were here. If you brought this to our attention and we failed to resolve it, this is not our standard. Our hotel policy is that quiet time is to be respected from 10pm to 9am in consideration of our guests and there are procedures in place to maintain that. I would encourage you to always report any such disturbance to the front desk team to resolve and to let the hotel management know if it is not attended to, at our hotel or any other. Our intention is always to provide our guests with comfortable accommodations and a good night's sleep.

Again, I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and hope you will stay with us again on future travels to Kelowna.

Kind Regards,

Kelly Watt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    80
    77
    45
    36
See reviews for
90
69
14
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My daughter , grand kids & I had a wonderful stay here . The staff are very friendly & helpful . We stayed in a pool side room & really enjoyed ourselves . The pool was so warm & very clean with a nice common area around it . I would definitely recommend this hotel for a nice , relaxing & fun place to take the family or even a couples get away .

Room Tip: If you have kids the pool side rooms are very nice & handy . Although it has no elevator & c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelownaManager, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
We are so pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable get-away to our hotel and we thank you for your positive feedback. We often have package specials that are specifically designed for visitors within our own region to enjoy a short travel, weekend experience such as yours. Our indoor pool and poolside rooms are particularly popular for families with children during the winter for this type of trip and we also have excellent "Suite Deal" specials that appeals more to couples that may want to come to Kelowna for Dinner at Chop Restaurant and an overnight stay. Makes a great way to treat yourself after shopping, hockey game, concert etc.
We have several families that make an annual tradition of a winter visit to our hotel for the very reasons you did and we enjoy seeing the kids from year to year as they are growing up.
We hope you and your family will stay with us again on future visits to Kelowna.

Kind Regards,

Kelly Watt,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Clean small room, road traffic noise. No breakfast, charges for on site computer use. No discount for any on site or promoted dinning. Close to Mc Donalds. Good for a drop in and go hotel. Well priced.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelownaManager, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your positive review and constructive feedback regarding your recent stay in our hotel. Our hotel does have the ability to offer a wide range of room types to accommodate a variety of needs and budgets from our smaller standard rooms with one queen bed to our Executive Tower Suites with a king bed in the separate bedroom. With our recent renovations to the entire Atrium Complex we are confident that we can offer comfortable accommodations for all room types as well as considerable dining and recreational facilities through our indoor pool, fitness room and banquet facilities.
We appreciate your comments on providing dining discounts with our Food and Beverage partners and will review this with them. We do offer a Bed & Breakfast package option for those who prefer that, but many of our guests would prefer to book a lower priced room and make their own decisions about breakfast. Because a lot of our guests like the convenience of having their own food with them, all of our guest rooms have a fridge, microwave and coffee maker in them.
While we do offer complimentary wireless access to all our hotel guests we have recently switched to a pay-for-use computer as it was more secure in protecting users from cyber fraud. There is still the opportunity to print boarding passes at no charge from this computer.
There are certainly a lot of guests that agree with your comments regarding the convenient location of our hotel and ease of getting around to all areas of the city. Being on a main road does also have some drawbacks but many of our regular guests tell us they sleep very well when they stay with us.
Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope you will stay with us again on your future travels to Kelowna.

Kind Regards,

Kelly Watt,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed in a one bedroom suite in the tower and it was splendid, like coming home. the facilities are great, clean and working. the fitness room is large and fully set up but not full of non guests. overall I would say this is an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: The tower one bedroom suite was excellent and worth the etra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelownaManager, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the comforts of your Executive Tower Suite. We are also very glad to hear that our fitness room exceeded your expectations. With the recent renovations and enhancements to our Atrium Complex we were especially excited about being able to expand and improve our fitness room for the benefit of our guests, along with the renovations to our guest rooms and public areas. We hope you will choose to stay with us again for your travels to Kelowna.

Kind Regards,

Kelly Watt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The property is located right across the road of Orchard Park shopping so its convinient location was why I chose this property. I decided to spend a bit more money to get a King Room in the Executive tower. The room was clean and but extremely small I would expect these kind of rooms from an older hotel in the big cities not in a newer tower in Kelowna. The road noise from the road directly below was also ver noticeable so was all the noise coming from the hall. Over all not the best value in town I Guess there is different interepetations of what "Executive" means.

Room Tip: Unless you book a suite in the tower a room in the atrium is better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eurocanuck73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelownaManager, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. Our guest comments are a valuable perspective for us to review in order to continue to improve.
I was sorry to hear that you felt the room did not live up to your expectation of the term Executive. Our Executive tower rooms and suites were really designed with the business traveller in mind with over-sized desks, in room safes, additional power outlets, additional lighting and one king size bed for each room or suite. Both the King bed suites, with their seperate living room and kitchen area, and the King bed rooms have become very popular with our business travellers. It is true that some travellers do notice traffic noise more than others and we regret that you were disturbed by this. I was disapppointed to hear that you were also disturbed by noise from the hallways as this is unusual. We do have staff on 24 hours that are quick to put a stop to any noise issues that are caused by neighbouring guests. Usually one phone call to the front desk will prevent any further disruptions, so if this was not the case for you I sincerely apologize. It is important to us that our guests feel they have received good value and convenient and comfortable accommodations and we will continue to monitor our guest's comments and reviews to insure their concerns are heard and considered. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future to evaluate our success at this.

Warm Regards,

Kelly Watt,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed at the Sandman Hotel Kelowna on Thursday September 8th as a part of a group. All of the staff at the Sandman are excellent. The front desk staff were always happy to assist, the banquet staff were attentive and professional. In the afternoon we enjoyed the lounge and their happy hour chicken wings & drink specials.
We had rooms downstairs which were sufficient for our short stay, and easy to access from the main lobby. Having lots of large luggage, it was nice to be able to take everything into the hotel rooms for the night.
The entrance/lobby of the hotel has been recently renovated to a modern chic look and it's very welcoming. Lots of parking outside, and easy access from the main highway.
Thank you to Sandman Kelowna, we look forward to staying again next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spclak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelownaManager, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the positive feedback regarding your most recent stay. We are very pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy so many of the amenities of our hotel to your full advantage. Having 3 restaurants on site, as well as our well equipped banquet rooms definitely gives us the opportunity to insure we are able to fully provide every service our guests may require, whether it is Chop Restauant for that romantic dinner, Denny's for breakfast 24 hours a day, or Bar One for happy hour.
We are very proud of our friendly and professional staff, both in the hotel and with our affiliate food and beverage organizations and will be sure to pass along your comments about their service.
We look forward to your return next year as well and any other time in the coming year that you may need to visit Kelowna!

Warm Regards,

Kelly Watt,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Enjoyed our stay at Sandman Hotel in Kelowna. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. We took advantage of their weekend rates and upgraded to a Tower king suite room, which was well worth the extra $15/night. The room had recently been upgraded and the extra room was great for our family. It had a apartment size fridge, microwave, dishwasher but no stove. The a/c worked well. The hotel is with in walking distance of several restaurants (some on site) and shopping. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: Request a room in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday4four
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KelownaManager, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your positive feedback. It is always a pleasure to hear when our guests have had an enjoyable stay, and when they spread the word to others it is much appreciated.
We are pleased that you along with many others, found our location convenient and the accommodations comfortable and we look forward to welcoming you back on your return travels to Kelowna!

Warm Regards,

Kelly Watt,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#8 of 34 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Central City
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna

Property: Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna
Address: 2130 Harvey Ave, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 6G8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna is located in the heart of the beautiful Okanagan Valley; a world class destination featuring an endless variety of summer and winter recreational activities, making it the perfect choice for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelowna Sandman Hotel
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing