We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the tower....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Go for the tower....”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

the main hotel is old outdated, the relatively new tower is excellent.

The suites are top of the line, big kitchen, awesome oversized chairs in a decent sized living room, with 46" LCD HDTV. Balcony is a little tight, but more then enough room for two to enjoy a local bottle of wine, and if your 7th floor or higher, the view south is quite impressive.

If your key card becomes demagnitized, it's a bit of a walk around the main building to the front desk.

Nicest "Coast Hotel" room I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calgarydave1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    88
    85
    46
    38
See reviews for
97
76
17
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

4 of us stayed at the Sandman hotel in Kelowna in Aug for 2 nights. Had 2 rooms, a king room in the new tower on the 5th floor and a king suite in the new tower on the main floor. The building is pretty basic and the tower is newer than the other building. Even though the tower is newer, the king suite was pretty worn looking...a few stains on the carpet in the room and in the hallways. The king room on the upper floor was much cleaner but the view from the balcony was of an industrial complex. Bed was fairly comfortable. Noise level can be high as the doors tend to slam shut so you hear all your neighbors going out/coming in. We didn't try the indoor pool or the restaurant but we did use the front desk for directions and they were incredibly nice and helpful.

Location is not central to their main strip so a car is needed. We did see bus stops near by but can't comment on how good the public transportation was since we had our car. There are some fast food restaurants within walking distance including some that served breakfast.

Parking was free but there was one night where there were many trucks in the parking lot so I am guessing they 'rent' out some spots to truckers too. That night it was a challenge finding an open spot to park.

I would stay closer to the main street the next time as it was a much nicer tourist area.

Room Tip: Suggest an upper level room in the new tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GusToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband and I chose this hotel because it is a pet friendly property. When we made our reservation we were told that we would not be guaranteed a "non smoking" room. This was the first tip off that it may not have been our best choice of hotel. Upon check-in we were provided a non-smoking room and we were thrilled... until we saw the room. To be blunt, it looked like a set piece from a horror movie.

The wallpaper had been hastily painted over with dark brown paint. The front door had obviously been kicked in at some point and was never repaired (the deadbolt was broken and the door was slightly hanging on its hinges). The bathroom was in dire need of a reno (picture moldy black grout lines). At some point the pictures hanging above the beds had been removed and had been replaced by a much smaller picture centered between the beds, yet the original picture holes were not filled or repaired in any way. The towels had black stains on them and when we were given new towels, they also had black stains on them. The view from the window was onto the courtyard pool, making the room very, very dark, and not at all private.

We went to the front desk and described the state of the room, explaining that NO ONE should stay in that room, EVER. We were moved to a different room around the corner. It was not a pet friendly room and the manager on duty didn't seem thrilled to be giving us a non pet friendly room, but at least he did.

The new room, although heads and shoulders above the last, still wasn't great. Although the wallpaper hadn't been painted over, it also had the bizarre picture frame issue with unfilled holes in the walls above each bed. The bathroom was in slightly better shape, and we had a working dead-bolt. Still had black stains on the towels however and the view was still the pool courtyard (directly overlooking the hot tub this time). This is perhaps a great feature if you have kids and want to keep an eye on them in the pool. But for us it meant a very noisy stay with no privacy. Thankfully we had a lot of wine touring to do and managed to stay away from the hotel for most of our stay.

I would most definitely never stay at this hotel again and I'd be leery of ever staying at a Sandman based on this terrible experience.

Room Tip: Do not stay in the old part of the hotel. Stay in the new tower, or give this property a miss entire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzecross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kelowna hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Our hotel room was on the 9th floor and didn't have a fabulous view but we weren't too fussed about that. Internally, it was clean, fresh and had a very contemporary feel. We were very pleased with the room. Comfy bed, stylish but simple bathroom. Very modern feel unlike some of the other Sandman Hotels we've used. We would def initely go there again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are definitely quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenDoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We were allocated a dark, dank room on the ground floor with a view of a wall. To get to the room we needed to negotiate piles of dirty sheets. Needless to say we complained. The staff were understanding & helpful. We were upgraded to a room on the penthouse floor of the tower with a balcony. Was this a different hotel??? 5*.

Room Tip: This is Canada. Polite Englishman on holiday works wonders.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arthururm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2011

We checked into the Sandman on August 17 and stayed 6 nights. We were upgraded to a tower room for an extra 10.00 a night. The room rate was 129.00. We were put in a King suite and absolutely loved it. Very nice big space for my Husband and my seven month old and I. Was clean and the bed was comfortable. Can't beat the location across the street from the mall and the weekly farmers market. Would not hesitate to return! :)

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade to a tower suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kty2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We always stay here when we go to Kelowna. We love the tower suites with a kitchenette and patio. This sandman is always super clean and well kept. We love this balconies in the higher rooms too. We always like to eat at Chop too. it is attached to the Sandman. One more bonus is that this hotel is across the street from the orchard mall. (Starbucks!)

Note: Do not use the washer/dryer machine in the room. it wrecked a bunch of our clothes. You would be safe to wash but don't dry.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJSC007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
347 reviews
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#7 of 34 in Kelowna
607 reviews
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#17 of 34 in Kelowna
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna

Property: Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna
Address: 2130 Harvey Ave, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 6G8, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Central City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna 3*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna is located in the heart of the beautiful Okanagan Valley; a world class destination featuring an endless variety of summer and winter recreational activities, making it the perfect choice for your next stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelowna Sandman Hotel
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing