We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable dinner and atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chop Steakhouse & Bar - CLOSED

Chop Steakhouse & Bar
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cooper
Description: Chop blends the fine dining experience with a casual setting to bring you "fine casual dining". With an extensive wine list, prime cuts of meat and fresh seafood, Chop is the restaurant to choose when you're looking for a night of indulgence.
Ladysmith, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a great place for a nice romantic dinner for two or with a group of friends. The decor and building are very nice and even in some respects quite impressive with high ceilings and stone fascia. The service was fast and efficient and our waiter was knowledgeable and friendly - and managed to up-sell us on the night's signature drink. We enjoyed our meal that started with a warm loaf of in-house baked bread. The vegetables were cooked to perfection and very tasty. I had a steak and my husband had the prime rib and both agreed that they were flavorful, but just short of a great cut (a little tough with a little too much grizzle). However, that is being very picky as we both enjoyed our meals, the service and the ambiance. This is a place that we will visit again!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyWebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    32
    10
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Chop House that can't cook meat!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This new restaurant was close to our hotel and, despite numerous negative reviews, we decided to walk over and try for ourselves. The decor is very nice, the staff were very pleasant and the service was great. The only real problem we had was with any of the meat that was served. I ordered the Peppercorn Rib Eye - it came the way I ordered it but it lacked flavour and actually looked grey on the outside (once you stripped away the so-so peppercorn sauce). My wife had the "famous" steak bites as a side to her lobster and they looked the same. It seems the chef doesn't know how to cook on a hot grill and chooses to cook on very low heat. The result was no grill flavour - something the average cut of meat (it should have been excellent) really needed. To be fair the bread, the appetizer (Limoncello Lobster Cocktail), the lobster, desert and drinks were all excellent. It's a shame a "steak house" doesn't know how to cook meat!
As with other reviewers we also found the interference from the sound system in the lounge to be annoying. There are very few tables in the restaurant area that are protected by the walls to the lounge and, therefore, the music from the restaurant clashes with the music from the lounge (and it was only 7 o'clock). They really need to address this issue to assist with the experience (or lack thereof - depending on what you eat).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JFriswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Service but Terrible Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

As a Family we chose to celebrate our mothers birthday with dinner here. It was all of our first time in the restaurant. The decor is pleasant and staff were very presentable however the food was terrible. The coffee that was ordered tasted like it was yesterdays pot and smelled like rotten feet. Of our five entrees only 1 was any good the Chop Burger (what a dissapointment if they got that wrong) about the only thing they got right. Two orders of the Chop Prime Dip were absolutely terrible the majority of the roast beef was very fatty with one of the CPD they got the salad wrong which we were werent even presented with the proper Salad upon request. For the second CPD the Ceasar salad was the worst Ive ever had. My father ordered the Prime Rib dinner and it came practically floating in Blood and was 80% fat and the meat was tough. A fourth entree the Lobster Stuffed Haddock was terribly fishy and could smell the stank of the meal the second it was presented.It tasted overwhelmingly fishy. All the entrees serving sizes were incredibly small for the High prices of the meals and all entrees were served with only 1 side dish. Since when do you order an entree and have to chose to either have a Potatoe side OR vegetables. The appetizers were splendid but as obvious the least of importance in the meal. Once we had spoken with management the manager gracefully removed all entrees from the bill and presented our Mother with a free drink for her Birthday hassle. We were pleased with the service and the problem resolution of the management however this will be the last time any of us eat here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tyler B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was a regular not anymore”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Asked for meduim prime rib, they brought a mooing cow on a plate. Then served us a frozen cake.

When speaking to the manger he made it clear that they do not freeze their cakes ... Even though it was frozen.

My prime rib which I paid top dollar for and it came out looking like one of this 9.99 specials in Vegas.

He only deducted one drink each and the frozen cake.

Unfortunately we will not be coming back to our favorite spot. There are much better restaurants in Kelowna.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachbumm019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
“Third and last visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

We went to Chop twice in 2011 and ordered Prime Rib each time. I was served a huge slab of medium rare fat (very little meat) and on both occasions I returned it to the kitchen. It was replaced by a better piece and management offered us a complimentary dessert. Not necessary but appreciated.

We returned last week with guests from Eastern Canada and they both ordered the Prime Rib. They received a VERY THIN SLICE of very fatty meat (70% fat) and were very disappointed. In addition, they learned that there were only two choices of mashed potatoes: One version was Wasabi infused and the other contained lobster for an extra $3.00. They opted for a free baked potato instead.

My $33 Stuffed Gorgonzola Filet was good but miniscule (4-5 ounces??). I paid the $3.00 for Wasabi-free mashed potatoes.

Just so you know, the lighting is awful. Awkwardly dim. They definitely need to install pendant lighting over each table.

Anyway, this was our 3rd and last visit. Kelowna has a huge selection of amazing restaurants that are much better value...Try RauDZ or Waterfront Wines instead.

Service was OK but very impersonal.

Anyway dinner for 4 people was $260. Not worth it.....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AtaGlanceVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chop Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing