We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chop Steakhouse & Bar - CLOSED

Chop Steakhouse & Bar
Price range: $10 - $29
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cooper
Description: Chop blends the fine dining experience with a casual setting to bring you "fine casual dining". With an extensive wine list, prime cuts of meat and fresh seafood, Chop is the restaurant to choose when you're looking for a night of indulgence.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

The food was ok and the service was good. The price was a bit steep but not out of line. I just wish they wouldn't dress their female staff like hookers. It is not necessary. The girls are beautiful and well mannered but they don't need mini-miniskirts and high heels to do a good job.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 33895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    32
    10
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Favourite Steakhouse in Kelowna!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

I have been here several times and every single time has been a treat! The food is always delicious and the service exceptional. The wine list is huge! But so great and I love how many local wines have been included. The servers are all very knowledgeable and really add to the overall exceptional experience.They are great at recommending a wine that will compliment your meal. They also serve a compllimentary loaf of warm, freshly baked in house bread before your meal. So yummmmmy! Behind the wine cooler/vault there is a private dining room that we used once for a family dinner and it is really elegant and unique! I love Chop and think if you decide to dine here you will not be dissapointed.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nwilliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
181 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Interior design very nice, service was exceptional, food was good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

Interior design very nice, service was exceptional, food was good. If you are a foodie then this might not be the place to stop. Kelowna has so many great restaurants to choose from for really good food. This is a great place for large party who want a trendy atmosphere and a nice selection of good appetizers. Service was top of the line.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snowbirdwannabe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Good food - too much service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

Two of us. One ordered a ginger and peach rubbed pork loin with apple and bourbon salsa - it was absolutely deliciious and the pork was very tender and moist - cooked to perfection. The other ordered sirloin oscar, sirloin with prawn and scallops and asparagus in bearnaise sauce. Also very good and steak was cooked exactly as ordered. Both meals came with 'infused mashed potatoes' (horseradish) which were OK and veg (nothing special). We both took leftovers home with us since they healthy serving portions.

Shared an appetizer of cheese, lobster and scallop dip with assortment of crackers/bread - very tasty (and probably why we couldn't finish the main courses!).

We ate there on a Tuesday evening, which seemed to be 'training night'. We had a trainee and a trainer serving us (and there were several other pairs around the restaurant). That was fine, but they both felt they needed to chat with us everytime they came to the table - so they lingered a bit too long each time. (our trainee was doing very well - no problems that we could see)

On top of that, 2 other people - not serving staff - came by to ask us how our meals were; 1 man and 1 woman. Both of these 2nd solicitations interrupted our dinner conversation - again - where we had to stop talking to listen and answer theirs, then pick ours up again. This is hugely annoying to us since if something is wrong, we'll let you know; both our servers had already asked and knew that we were pleased with our meals. One of the reasons we go out to dinner is to be able to have a conversation without other distractions and that sure didn't work this night. It would mean more and appear to be sincere if: a) something hadn't been right and they sent someone from 'management' over to speak to us personally about it and/or b) if they asked if we wanted to participate and give specific feedback - but these 'wandering solicitors' with their very general - how was everything? - are a pain; seems like they are just killing time to me (theirs and ours!) I don't ever get the feeling they really want true feedback just by the way they ask. In a good restaurant - everything should be fine most of the time.

We enjoyed the food and would return for that reason, but we'll be on the lookout for the roving solicitors at other tables before we get too far into the meals!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Prairieschooner2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Burger Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Food, service, decor, staff, all were on the ball. Wife had the pork chop, was very good too. 2 people, 2 courses + drinks & change from $100CAD

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank arthururm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chop Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing