We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Econo Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Econo Lodge
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean and Comfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2008

I stayed at this motel with my 2 adult (18 & 24) sons from August 14-18, 2008 for the Canadian Triathlon Championships. We needed a place that would comfortably sleep 3 adult men, i.e. 2 double beds wouldn't work, and we wanted a place with kitchen facilities and easy parking. We originally picked a place downtown, but taking a triathlon bike up and down the elevator and finding adequate parking would have been issues so we chose the Traveller's Choice. Paul Ross, the owner/manager, is a very friendly host. We rented a family kitchen apartment on the second floor, unit 217, which had a bedroom area with a single and double bed and large closet, and a living area with a sofa bed, TV, closet, table and chairs, cupboards, fridge, stove, microwave, sink, pots and pans and cutlery. Adjacent to the kitchen was a small bathroom sink and mirror, and a toilet and bathtub/shower were separated from this area by a door. The bedroom area was separated from the living area by a sliding divider. The apartment was big enough for the 3 of us and we had no issues with the facilities. There is daily maid service. A continental breakfast served in the lobby from 7:30-9:30 a.m. consisted of coffee, cream/milk and sugar, orange and apple juices, bagels, large muffins and butter. There is a toaster but no cream cheese. There is really nowhere to eat in the lobby so trays are provided to take food back to the room. The motel has an indoor pool, open 10-10, but we didn't use it. There is a nice grocery store in the plaza across the street, a 2-3 minute walk. There is a Dairy Queen next door to the motel and an A & W across the street, and many more national franchise restaurants nearby. Kelowna is a beautiful clean city with expensive housing, and watch for the many tame-looking rabbits that roam the boulevards. A google search of "Kelowna rabbits" will give you a better idea.

Our only real complaint resulted from a midget boy's football team from Nanaimo, BC that stayed at the motel from Friday to Sunday. The large number of teenagers wandered the property like ants at a picnic and were generally inconsiderate of other guests, while their parents set up tents, lawn chairs and a BBQ at the end of the parking lot and interfered with traffic. The children ran up and down the stairs knocking on doors, loitered in the parking lot, and were generally noisy. When we enquired in the office about the situation, we were told that they would be told to be quiet after 10:30 p.m. but that didn't seem to be necessary.

Overall, we would stay at this motel again in the same circumstances.

  • Liked — size of room and location
  • Disliked — other guests
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Moose4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    10
    9
    18
See reviews for
21
15
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2008

On the phone the staff were pleasant when we booked; but, when we had to cancel they were extremely rude. Make sure they advise you of their cancellation policy as they didn't advise us and now they are trying to stick us for one night's accommodation. Even their brochure does not indicate a cancellation policy.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton, alberta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2006

The only reason we stayed here was because we got a flat tire and it was the only place with vacancy to roll into. We paid $140 for the worst night of our life.

The clerks behind the desk should of been our first clue to push the car somewhere else. Even sleeping in the car would of been better. The guy was a rude man and the woman was trying to act like the hotel was a five star hotel.

We got a room right by the pool. The teenagers were running in and out of the pool screaming for hours. The room itself was disgusting. Stained sheets, floor, walls, sink, and bathroom. The only time I went into the bathroom was to see how disgusting it was. We didn't even shower in the morning it was so gross. Since we were camping we had our blankets in the van and had to remove their blankets and use our own.

The fridge didn't work because it was missing the whole knob for temperture control. The air conditioning worked but at the price of not sleeping because it sounded like a jet landing.

We tried to get out of the room but it was too late. They had us for the night.

I wont even get into the breakfast. Let's say we didn't eat or drink anything there.

  • Tips/Secrets — Please just keep on rolling somewhere else.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank destiny2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2005

Stayed at this motel recently and had a great time. The rooms were clean and comfortable without being luxurious. The staff were great and were keen to offer assistance when required.
The location was very good with a large shopping centre directly over the road and the main part of town about 3-4 minutes drive away. We walked to the centre of town one night and it took us 15-20 minutes.

There is a FANTASTIC dutch pancake restaurant directly over the road and the food there for breakfast was DELICIOUS.

We paid about $95/night which included all taxes etc. which wasn't too bad. I would recommend this motel for a short stay of a night or two without any problem.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BoofPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2005

We recently stayed in this hotel. We were expecting a little more for what we paid. The tiny TVs with 12 channels, the chintzy continental breakfast, and the uncomfortable beds were some of the things that were disappointing.

The hotel is in a good location but there are other places in this area that are probably a much better bang for your buck. Most of the hotel staff were polite etc although the evening desk clerk was kind of rude.

The rooms were also pretty dark which is fine if you spend no time in your room but if the weather isn't great and you spend much time their, it can get pretty gloomy. We just thought we could have better spent our money elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Accent Inn Kelowna
Accent Inn Kelowna
#9 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Central City
Kelowna Inn & Suites
Kelowna Inn & Suites
#17 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kelowna
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Property: Econo Lodge
Address: 1780 Gordon Dr, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 3H2, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Central City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Hotel Kelowna
Choice Hotel Kelowna
Econo Lodge Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing