We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Kelowna
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel has the best staff and is an excellent property. Comfortable beds, spacious rooms, and a great breakfast bar. I will not be going anywhere else when travelling to Kelowna, and without hesitation I highly recommend the Holiday Inn Express Kelowna.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn683, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kelowna, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guest (B W),

Thank you for sharing your experience about your visits to our property!

Our team strives every day to ensure that our Guests are comfortable and enjoy their stay while visiting Kelowna. We are truly very lucky to have the best Guests in the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Kelowna
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 563 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

While the appointment of our suite was quite nice the the traffic noise level and the Air Conditioning were problematic. During the day the AC kept the room comfortably cool but inexplicably at night the room temperature would rise significantly resulting in very uncomfortable and sleepless nights for both my wife and I. The front desk advised me at check out that the AC was programmed to cut off during the silent hours as an efficiency effort. Totally unacceptable when it results in sleepless nights. Contributing to the sleep problem was a very soft bed (felt like sleeping in a hammock) and very thick pillows. Considering that their were 6 pillows available surely one could have been slim and one medium in thickness. Very disappointing and we will not be staying there in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a back of Hotel room away from the traffic noise of Hwy 97.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn683, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kelowna, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guest (Bruce J),

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us!

I am really sorry that the AC and traffic noise kept you awake during your stay. We want our Guests to have the best sleep possible when away from home and are very sorry that you didnt have a good experience with us.

If you would like to forward me your name to jkuiack@fortisproperties.com, it would be my pleasure to add your preference for back of the house to your profile should you visit in future. Although, we are unable to change the experience you had when you were here, we would love the opportunity to change your experience at our property for future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We had not expected to be so far from the centre - too far to walk. The hotel is on a trading estate and many of the rooms face the very busy highway into town. Rooms were clean with free internet .Breakfasts were awful. They may be included but quite frankly I wouldn't pay for it. The worst we had whilst in Canada. Plastic/paper plates and bowls set the tone, I had a pot of yoghurt and some cereal whilst sitting at a table placed bang in front of a TV showing burgers being cooked! If you need to stay out of town for one night then this is OK but I can't agree with the comment that it's centrally located

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main highway.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuryRowland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn683, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kelowna, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Guest (BuryRowland),

Thank you for your review of our property!

I would like to apologize that there was confusion with where we were located in the city, and for the experience you had with our Breakfast.

Our breakfast is mandated by our Brand in terms of what food we offer, and how it is set up. However, we have made some recent modifications to our Breakfast Bar so that we have some silverware available for our Guests, and we do have glass plates upon request as well.

We would like to thank you for your feedback, as without our Guests sharing their experience with us we would not be able to improve our facilities and services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed in Tower Suite for 2 nights. The rooms are very new and in excellent condition. The suite had a separate room for the living area with a small kitchenette. The bathroom is large enough to comfortablely move around and also in great condition. The rooms were clean and generally quiet. My big issue is the bed. It is very high and requires a bit of a leap (I have a 33" inseam--so should not be an issue). Otherwise the bedding has a nice comforter and nice sheets. There are two flat-screen TVs in the suite with a microwave and small fridge.
One cauthion I asked for a quiet room and was given a room on the Highway (97) side of the hotel. The traffic is easy to hear, so if you REALLY mean quiet--make sure it is on the back side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BluDragonFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn683, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kelowna, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Guest (BluDragonFlyer),

Thank you for your feedback about our tower suites. We do get some comments regarding the height of the beds, and I have passed this along to our Maintenance team.

We are glad that you found the room comfortable, spacious, clean, and enjoyed your stay overall.

If you would like I can add the preference for back of house to your profile for you. I would just need to you send me an email with your name to jkuiack@fortisproperties.com.

Thank you so much for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This was our third stay at this hotel in as many years, this stay was our longest duration lasting just over a week. The rooms are always clean and the staff are friendly. Breakfast was included, but after a week the variety got quite limiting (But, I don't believe many people stay this long).

We always stay here when we are in Kelowna, last time we brought a our mountain bikes to ride the Myra Canyon and we were permitted to keep them in our room! We bring a tarp to keep the room from getting too dirty from our bikes as we hope people don't abuse this privilege and mess up the rooms and there change any policies).

Free cookies and coffee at the front every evening is a nice touch.

Room Tip: Ask for the tower section, its newer and quieter and the elevator is direct from the underground par...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NomadOU812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn683, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kelowna, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Guest (NomadOU812),

Thank you for your feedback regarding our Breakfast Bar selection. Our brand standards tell us what we need to serve in there, but I will definitely pass on your comments to an IHG representative when they visit our Hotel about the variety.

We are glad that you choose our property when visiting Kelowna and we are always more than happy to have your bikes here or to store them for you. Thank you for taking care of our rooms and putting a tarp down for your bikes, our housekeeping team thanks you too!

The cookies smell so great when they are being baked at the Hotel for our Guests and we are happy that you enjoyed them! We look forward to welcoming you back soon and thank you for choosing us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed in the tower, which was very quiet. Our room was quite clean (except for the stained curtain), and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom lighting was poor and not conducive for putting on makeup. The toiletries had a strong medicinal smell - was glad I brought my own. When we went to breakfast, we could hear it all the way down the hall because it was so crowded. As we are very familiar with HI Express breakfasts, we decided to go to "Ricky's" next door instead of waiting in line. The waterslide and pool looked like fun, but it was always crazy busy. I found myself wishing there was an adults-only hour. As for the service, they were friendly and efficient, but the front desk was hectic and had a line every time we saw it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the tower.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScarlettMX5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kelowna, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Dear ScarlettMX5,

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced.

We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your comments. Your business is valued and we hope your future travel plans will continue to include IHG properties.

Sincerely,
Brenda J.
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a great location to stay. We were in town for soccer provincials and it was very centrally located to everywhere we needed to be. We have stayed here before but it was our first time in the tower. Beautifully decorated and nice and quiet. The rooms and public areas are always immaculate and this is important to our stay. The staff are always friendly and very helpful with restaurant recommendations. Cactus Club across the street is an awesome bonus! Great coffee and the breakfast was spot on, love the cinnamon buns. Would not hesitate to stay again and to recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: The tower is very modern and quiet
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VNelsonBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenn683, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kelowna, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Dear Guest (VNelsonBC),

Thank you for your review on our Tower rooms! We are very proud of our new expansion and we are glad that you were able to enjoy it!

We are happy that our team made you feel welcome and had some good recommendations for dinner, and I will ensure that your feedback is shared with them.

Thank you so much for choosing our property, we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 34 in Kelowna
685 reviews
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Central City
Sandman Hotel & Suites Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kelowna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kelowna

Address: 2429 Highway 97 N, Kelowna, British Columbia V1X 4J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > Central City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kelowna
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kelowna
#7 Family Hotel in Kelowna
Price Range: $125 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kelowna 2.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Kelowna HotelOur downtown Kelowna hotel, conveniently located on Highway 97, is located in the heart of Kelowna but still close to championship golf courses, world-class wineries as well as great shopping.Business travelers will certainly appreciate the hotel's proximity to the Kelowna International Airport. Kelowna is home to many championship golf courses including Gallagher's Canyon, Predator Ridge and the Harvest Golf Club. Our hotel in Kelowna has an assortment of amenities for the business traveler, including free high-speed Internet access, a business centre and a meeting room that's ideal for up to 35 people.We provide guests who are looking for comfort and value with the smart choice for lodging. Vacationers to Kelowna will find that we offer excellent ski packages to Big White ski resort. The Okanagan Valley's wineries host spring and fall wine festivals that are always popular. Guests will be able to wash away their worries as they walk along Okanagan Lake or through one of the many orchards. Our hotel is the perfect leisure vacation choice.With 190 guest rooms, including executive king rooms and two Jacuzzi suites, there are plenty of options for our patrons to choose from when staying in our hotel. Kelowna is a great travel destination for anyone looking for natural beauty in a relaxing environment that is perfect for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kelowna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna Hotel Kelowna
Holiday Inn Kelowna
Kelowna Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Kelowna Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing