We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" Variety, freshness, wholesome authentic goodness."” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Poppadoms - Taste India! - CLOSED

Poppadoms - Taste India!
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Highway 97
Description: Poppadoms is a little family-run restaurant in Kelowna. For us, wholesome food starts with great quality raw ingredients. That's why we make our own paneer using local dairy. Our naan bread is made using local organic eggs. We only use seafood that's sustainably caught. Plus, all of our meat is free-range. Where possible, we like to change our menu seasonally to make the most of what the Okanagan and BC has to offer. We want to re-introduce you to Indian food and show you how each region in India is different with tastes, spice blends and techniques.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“" Variety, freshness, wholesome authentic goodness."”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Four of us ate at this great place this evening. We shared two appies and then ordered individual dishes. Everything was so fresh and very tasty. You can chose what level of hotness. Our server, Janelle, was especially efficient and very personable. A very comfortable place to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    41
    15
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Great Indian Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We love this restaurant. The food is great and you can order it as hot or as mild as you like. And we like that it is a family run business.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KelownaAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

A meal at Poppadoms is a treat for our whole family. Even the kids order their Butter chicken 'Hot'. Staff are very friendly and service is great. Food is generally always great with rare exception when it is only Good (depends on chef). Food is never bad. I would highly recommend it for anyone that wants to try Indian food for the first time. Most will love it and come back. Can't imagine anyone not loving the atmosphere, service or the food. My favourite is the chicken Tika Masala. We often get takeout from here as well though not available on certain days (Saturdays?).

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Everytime I go here I have a pleasant experience. The food is amazing swell as the service. Friendly, prompt, fresh…what more could you ask for!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Amazingly mediocre. ..The food did very little to inspire the palate... it was overpriced and the naan a little lacking

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poppadoms - Taste India! also viewed

Kelowna, Okanagan Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing