We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveler rating
6
10
3
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
10
3
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 19 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My family and I loved our trip to Big White. We stayed at the grizzly lodge #201. It was such a treat to ski in /ski out, and the family loved the hot tub. The condo had lots of room for our family, and nice to have two bathrooms. It was close to the village, so it was so great to walk around and convenient to the market and restaurants. We loved the condo at Big White, and had a great family Christmas to remember.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Grizzly Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Bex D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide such great feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Big White Ski Resort. We are pleased to hear that your stay was so enjoyable and that you hope to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

*This review applies to condo #203 unless otherwise stated*

Service
Central reservation in Big White handles everything very professionally! No need to worry about anything and they are helpful in every situation. Thanks guys, keep up the good work!

Value
It was low season and the price we paid seemed fair. Not really cheap, but good. Well, compared to similar offerings in Europ one could even say cheap.

Sleep Quality
Though rating. The bed was smaller than we're used to and the same goes for the room itself. For unknown reasons, we didn't manage to sleep well in the bedroom. This might just be personal preferences though - as stated there wasn't anything really wrong with the room, it just wasn't for us.

Cleanliness
This time around a bit of a let down to be honest. Nothing really wrong, but that little extra attention by the cleaning crew seemed like it was missing. It was all clean and cleaned on regular basis, but not more. At times we even wondered if someone had really cleaned on the advertised basis (about every 2nd-3rd day - we stayed 11).

Location
We loved the location. Amazing view in the morning and central reservation is just across the street. Ski-in, ski-out can be argued about I guess.There was a tunnel one had to go through to access the groomers, but it was just a step outside of the garage and once through you were directly on your way down to the lifts. Highly recommended for the location!

Rooms
One combined dinner, kitchen and living room + 1 bedroom and 2 washrooms (1 bath+shower, 1 shower). All very clean and rustic decoration which somehow seemed very fitting though. We liked the setup. The kitchen was sufficient but nothing special. The fridge seemed oversized based on the rest of the equipment, but hey - stuff it full with apres-ski beers.

Swimming Pool
There was both a common hottub and a prive one on the balcony. Both seemed to have seen there best days, but were functional and a welcome addition to the trip. After a full day on the slopes, there's nothing better than a beer in the hottub.

Common area
Fireplace, big screen TV, vending machines, fridge and a pool table. Seemed like a popular gathering place for families and kids. We didn't use it.

Skilockers/Parking
There was a small locker in the spacious garage where you could store your skiing equipment over night.

There was also a small laundromat in the building.

Summary: Compared to "Trapper's Crossing" where we have also stayed, it would be a tough choice. Skilockers and general equipment were better in "Trapper's Crossing" - but the view in Grizzly Lodge made up for a lot of that. Internet was definitely better in "Trapper's Crossing" where we had our own router for the room (not shared with botht the common room and rest of the floor). I can recommend both places based on your preferences.

Room tip: *This review applies to condo #203 unless otherwise stated*
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorgenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Grizzly Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2015

Dear JorgenB,

Thank you for your thoughtful and thorough comments on your stay at Grizzly Lodge. Please be assured that we are taking your concerns seriously and are taking steps to rectify these issues. There is private internet service in all of the rental units in this building now. If you would like to discuss this further at a time that is convenient to you, I have provided my direct line and email address for you in a message to your profile inbox.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in room 205 which is a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom condo with full kitchen amenities. The main bedroom had a queen bedroom and huge ensuite, the second bedroom had bunk beds and still a big bathroom as well. The sofa was a pull out bed as well. The condo was spacious, clean and well serviced.

It was great having the kitchen as we could have breakfast, come home for lunch if we wanted and also cook dinner if we chose not to go out at night. The condo has great view overs Lara's gondola. I would not call it ski in ski out, more like ski to and from. You could ski down a hill through a little tunnel to the basement to put your skis in the locker, but you could not ski back up the hill again. A bit annoying when you have to carry the kids skis, but not a deal breaker by any means.

Loved having the gas fire in the condo. The only things I would change would be to upgrade the old TV's to flatscreens and provide laundry powder (there was a bottle but it was empty).

We did not use the communal loungeroom, but it was well equipped with a fire, pool table, TV, book exchange, etc.

Overall, a reasonably priced, well positioned and importantly, QUIET location for your next ski holiday.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Grizzly Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2015

Hi,

Thank you for providing such thoughtful and thorough feedback regarding your stay at Grizzly Lodge 205. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. The owner has made several upgrades to this property since your visit including high definition televisions, private wireless internet and telephone with free long distance. Grizzly Lodge is a ski to/from property not a ski in/out location but it is a short walk across the street to access the ski slopes and/or the Village Centre Mall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have stayed for the past two weeks at Grizzly Lodge, appt 203. Very nice one bedroom with private hot tub. Has a nice open plan feel and just the right size for me and my partner. It has two bathrooms which is handy, espeically when you want to both have a shower when getting out of the hot tub. The kitchen is nice, little small, but appropriate for the size of the place. The bed is super comfy and we were delighted to find feather pillows on the bed. The couch is very comfy too, and can be a pull out sofa if need be. The ski storage in the parkade is very good too, with good access in and out, with only a small amount of walking needed to get to a ski run. We think they are lacking only in the storage, as the wardrobe is a half size one so you can only hang anything the height of a t-shirt, and there is nowhere for you to hang your ski gear, except on some hooks in the entrance way, or over the back of the dinning room chairs. There is also nowhere to store your luggage, except beside the couch. The laundry is a communal one, downstairs, costing $2 a cycle and you need your own powder. There is also nowhere to dry your clothes, unless you again bring them back to your unit and use the dining room chairs or if you can put them in the dryer. (no good for woollens!). We LOVE the hot tub and enjoy watching the mountains dim in the sunset after a hard day on the slopes. This is a well located condo, and we would happily stay here again.

Date of stay: January 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Bex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, General Manager at Grizzly Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Hello Bex D,

That you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Grizzly Lodge. It's great to here that you enjoyed your stay so much that you would happily return.

Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I spent a week recently in unit #307 at Grizzly Lodge at Big White and thoroughly enjoyed it. A couple things were terrific, a couple things need some work, and there were very few annoyances.

First off, for two of us, we each had our own bedroom with comfortable beds, clean sheets, plenty of pillows and separate bathrooms. Excellent amount of space for two. Four people could start to get a little cramped, but it would still be fine. The kitchen, although small, is very usable. However unlike someplaces, there is nothing here except salt. Not like some spots where some of the basics are left from previous stays - cooking oils, pepper, etc... If you're cooking, prepare to purchase absolutely everything. This is not a complaint though, just an observation.

TV was new - LCD. There is a blu-ray player and an older stereo. If you are a tech savy person and want to hook up an ipod/ipad, bring a infared cable and a mic jack cable (similar to what you'd hook up an ipod to an AUX outlet) - you can then hook your ipod to the TV and run the digital sound through the stereo.

We only had a couple issues - which we left with centrel reservations so hopefully they are fixed up for the next guests. 1. The glassware is brutal. Most of the glasses are chipped around the edge. I cut my lip on the first drink. 2. There is a washer/dryer in the unit, however the dryer does not produce any heat.

The only other annoyance is that the walls are pretty thin. We had some young guys next door that were up until 3 am...and we heard everything.

The hot tub and sauna were 99% vacant the entire week. The sauna is terrific. Just remember to flip it on as soon as you get back from the hills, and it'll be cooking when you go to use it.

Otherwise, the location is great. Ski-in/Ski-out is a bit misleading. It's walk-out, ski-close. But still - handy. Location in terms of restaurants, central reservations, and shops can't get much better.

All of the staff we dealt with were terrific. The guys at Central Reservations were great, the two young ladies that did the house-keeping were excellent - friendly, and courteous, and the shuttle driver that picked up us and our baggage was great.

All in all we will definitely be returning. As you can read, the minor annoyances were few, but the comfort was large.

Room tip: Some have private Hot Tubs. #307 doesn't. #307 does face east, providing great sunrises, however it does make the room very warm in the morning. Keep in mind that some of the units are owned privately - and those owners aren't the friendliest on average.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bp_thegolfpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Grizzly Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear BP_thegolfpro,

Thank you for sharing your review with the travel community, we really appreciate your feedback. We took care of the dryer heater element immediately after you brought it to our attention, so thank you for telling us. The owner of this property has made some more improvements to the unit since your visit.

We hope you will come and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews