We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Spot to stay #307”
Review of Grizzly Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelowna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grizzly Lodge
Ranked #19 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kelowna
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I spent a week recently in unit #307 at Grizzly Lodge at Big White and thoroughly enjoyed it. A couple things were terrific, a couple things need some work, and there were very few annoyances.

First off, for two of us, we each had our own bedroom with comfortable beds, clean sheets, plenty of pillows and separate bathrooms. Excellent amount of space for two. Four people could start to get a little cramped, but it would still be fine. The kitchen, although small, is very usable. However unlike someplaces, there is nothing here except salt. Not like some spots where some of the basics are left from previous stays - cooking oils, pepper, etc... If you're cooking, prepare to purchase absolutely everything. This is not a complaint though, just an observation.

TV was new - LCD. There is a blu-ray player and an older stereo. If you are a tech savy person and want to hook up an ipod/ipad, bring a infared cable and a mic jack cable (similar to what you'd hook up an ipod to an AUX outlet) - you can then hook your ipod to the TV and run the digital sound through the stereo.

We only had a couple issues - which we left with centrel reservations so hopefully they are fixed up for the next guests. 1. The glassware is brutal. Most of the glasses are chipped around the edge. I cut my lip on the first drink. 2. There is a washer/dryer in the unit, however the dryer does not produce any heat.

The only other annoyance is that the walls are pretty thin. We had some young guys next door that were up until 3 am...and we heard everything.

The hot tub and sauna were 99% vacant the entire week. The sauna is terrific. Just remember to flip it on as soon as you get back from the hills, and it'll be cooking when you go to use it.

Otherwise, the location is great. Ski-in/Ski-out is a bit misleading. It's walk-out, ski-close. But still - handy. Location in terms of restaurants, central reservations, and shops can't get much better.

All of the staff we dealt with were terrific. The guys at Central Reservations were great, the two young ladies that did the house-keeping were excellent - friendly, and courteous, and the shuttle driver that picked up us and our baggage was great.

All in all we will definitely be returning. As you can read, the minor annoyances were few, but the comfort was large.

Room Tip: Some have private Hot Tubs. #307 doesn't. #307 does face east, providing great sunrises, howev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bp_thegolfpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Grizzly Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear BP_thegolfpro,

Thank you for sharing your review with the travel community, we really appreciate your feedback. We took care of the dryer heater element immediately after you brought it to our attention, so thank you for telling us. The owner of this property has made some more improvements to the unit since your visit.

We hope you will come and stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 19 of 19 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2009

Had a week's ski-ing at Big White for the last week of the season Mar 30th to Apr 6th. 2 adults and 2 children 12 and 9 yrs travelled by car from Calgary with overnight stop. Check-in at Central reservations fine, all ski passes and tickets for kids ski school all there, with lots of information about the resort. We stayed in 105 Grizzly Lodge which was really nice accomodation. This complex has it's own "great room" with TV, sofas and pool table with an outside communal hot tub which was empty most of the time. The resort was great, loads of varied runs but all well connected by an excellent lift system, everything was open when we were there including the cliff. Ski School for kids was excellent, they just did mornings which they both enjoyed, only 3-6 in a class and then we spent the afternoon doing our own thing. Village Centre well laid out, nothing is too far away, lots of laid on activities on an evening, including free Carnival night with games for kids and prizes with free pop corn and candy floss. All ends with a mascot race out on the street. Restaurants were good, prices reasonable but not cheap, but I suppose it's all got to get there !! We did shop in Kelowna for food as we came through which meant we had enough stuff for the week as we mostly did our own breakfast and lunch as we were so close to the slopes. The general store was well stocked and had the day to day things that you needed. The snow conditions were also excellent. We had a base of 250cm all the time and there was plenty of powder during the week. Good point for kids is that there is a green run from the top of every lift so they could go right up to 2,300 m and see the snow ghosts (trees that get covered in snow) The runs were also very quiet at this time, sometimes I started to wonder if a run had been shut !!!! Other activities to do like snow coaster tubing runs (inner tubes that you sit in) snow shoeing (but need a minimum of 4) snow-mobiling, sleighrides or just go for walks as the whole place is scenic. Most of the staff are Aussie or English with some Canadian thrown in, but we found everyone to be very pleasant. Would definately go there again. Their web-site is also very informative and you can send for brochure and a DVD which is great if a bit cheesy but let's you get a feel for the resort and is what helped sell it to us.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank scar1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Grizzly Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Scar1012,

Thank you for sharing your review with the travel community, we really appreciate your feedback. I just found this review so I apologize for the late reply :-)

I am glad you had a nice stay in Grizzly Lodge #105. This unit has added some new amenities since your visit. High definition televisions in the living room and master bedroom and private, secure wireless internet access are now included in this unit.

I hope you will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2009

We stayed at Grizzly Lodge over 2009 New's Years and would be happy to stay there again. On previous trips to Big White we've stayed at Ptarmigan (relatively speaking, it's "budget accomodation" but decent value for the price) and Towering Pines, We found Grizzly Lodge to be the most conveniently located of the 3, with just a few minutes walk to the Kids Centre for ski lessons and all the other village amenities, and my husband and I could easily go back to the unit for lunch. The Lodge is decorated in a rustic ski chalet style with exposed pillars and our unit had a beautiful view of the Monashee mountains and the fireworks displays. GL doesn't have granite counters like Towering Pines, but maybe a nicer vibe for a ski holiday and a nice gas fireplace. Due to excessive hot tub noise at Towering Pines, this year we chose a unit without a hot tub and were happier for it. There's a shared hot tub for the entire building which was just about always empty. The one time my husband and kids used it there was one other couple there. As for the resort itself, it's great for families. My only warning is their claim to ski-in ski-out accommodations in most of the village accomodations isn't true. All three years we supposedly had ski-in/ski-out access but in actuality none did, with the possible exception of Ptarmigan under ideal snow conditions where there's enough snow on the parking lot to skate across the 50 meters or so to get to the hill. That's ski out. Ski-in there too is pretty much impossible under any scenario other than climbing uphill. I'm giving GL a 3 for service because there isn't much service to speak of except through the main desk of Central Reservations in the village. Housekeeping came daily though and did a good job.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cindy_Louer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Grizzly Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Dear Cindy,

Thank you for sharing your review with the travel community.

Most of the condos in Grizzly Lodge do have granite counter tops, but not all of them. We market the Grizzly Lodge, Towering Pines and Ptarmigan Inn as "ski to/ski from" locations. For these buildings we describe the slope access as "Ski-to/Ski-from Ski Access (Only a few steps across a road or pathway to start skiing.)" We do have many properties with "Ski-in/Ski-out Access"; this is a standard feature on our website under the Plan Your Trip section. Also, we train all of our reservation agents to know the exact slope access details for each property.

It sounds like you really enjoyed the outdoor hot tub feature at Grizzly Lodge and I'm happy to hear that. Most of the units in this building have upgraded their televisions to high definition flat panel models now and a few of them even have their own private secure wireless internet connections. The building still offers a public wireless internet service too.

I hope you will stay with us again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWCR, Manager at Grizzly Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Central City
Delta Hotels Grand Okanagan Resort
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Manteo Resort - Waterfront Hotel & Villas
Central City
Ramada Kelowna Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#4 of 34 in Kelowna
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grizzly Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grizzly Lodge

Address: 5315 Big White Rd | Big White Ski Resort, Kelowna, British Columbia V1P 1P4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kelowna
Price Range: $125 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A feeling of rustic luxury permeates these beautiful condos overlooking the valley directly opposite the central village. The sensation of raw majesty is evident in the Great Room, the common recreation area dominated by a massive stone fireplace and breathtaking floor-to-ceiling windows. With natural wood finishes throughout, all the units have that pampered and tucked-away feeling of an exclusive mountain lodge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grizzly Lodge Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing