We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I wish we'd stayed longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Urban Villa

Urban Villa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kelowna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Urban Villa
Ranked #22 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Kelowna
Central Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I wish we'd stayed longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

The Urban Villa is easy to find and handily situated for some chi chi downtown shops and restaurants. We had a warm welcome from Gwen and were made to feel very at home, without feeling smothered. The decor of the whole hotel (more like a very nice house) is modern and chic, and the attention to detail in our room was exemplary. Everything was absolutely spotless. The bed is one of the comfiest I have ever slept in. Next morning we had to get up for an early start, but Gwen was already there in the kitchen to make sure we had everything we needed before setting off, and we enjoyed (I hope she did too!) chatting to her over breakfast.

Two quibbles: The bedroom was slightly too warm and we could have done with the air-conditioning being turned up and: I wish we'd booked in for longer! Next time...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
13
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

URBAN VILLA IS A GEM. I am from Arizona, and I meet my Canadian relatives in Kelona for a short holiday. It was perfectly situated to take advantage of everything Kalona has to offer- a few blocks from the beach, a couple of blocks from the funky Pandosy area, and minutes away from the downtown. It is an ideal combination of hotel and villa- set up perfectly for those who want to mingle and interact-while still maintainig privacy. The beds were the best I ever slept in, The host was prompt and gracious, and the value was trememdous. I will definitly be back.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegemarizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

Urban Villa is not your standard guesthouse. The interior has been lovely restored to create a modern and cool atmosphere (the air-con is great and not noisy!). The common room area includes a lounge with comfy sofas, wide screen plasma tv, an open plan kitchen, dinning area and balconies at the front and back. The rooms are simply but tastefully decorated. And everything is spotlessly clean. The owner/manager is very welcoming, but generally leaves you to get by on your own to help yourself to refreshments, the buffet style breakfast and just relax in your own time. The location is not great if you want to walk into the centre of Kelowna (takes about 40 - 45 minutes) but it is only 5 minutes stroll to some lovely secluded beaches and some lovely walks beside the creek.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

Urban Villa is beautifully decorated and one of the nicest boutique hotels I've stayed in. The service was impeccable, with that extra touch only an owner could give. The beds are more comfortable then my own at home! Urban Villa is a little out of town but only a short drive. Overall I had a wonderfully relaxing stay!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

Quite far out of town, this very modern building with super-flash and trendy interior provides for a very comfortable stay (the bed is something else). However, the welcome is poor at best and the breakfast is as basic as you can imagine. Don't expect anyone to fall over themselves helping you (or remembering you). Not one for giving negative reviews but taking price, breakfast, location and service/owners into account, it doesn't add up. I wouldn't if I were you...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paemsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hugoEdmonton_, owner at Urban Villa, responded to this review, August 1, 2009
Urban Villa is 3 blocks from the most popular beach in Kelowna, Gyro Beach. A three minute walk to trendy shops and cafe's on Pandosy Street. And a five minute drive to downtown Kelowna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2009

A foot high mattress on a king size bed in a luxiourious room, which was beautifully decorated and furnished. What more can you ask for from a room?

Very much a relaxing B&B feel, which added to the experience, thanks to the hospitality of the hotel manager. Common areas are equally as well appointed and well maintained as the rooms.

The only surprise was the location, as the hotel is somewhat lost in a sea of suburbia. However, once inside the property, everything works so well. This would be an ideal location for a group gathering, as either a part of the hotel can be booked out, or even the whole building (approx 9 rooms).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nottstravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, ID
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2009

This was a surprise 4th anniversary trip to Kelowna, our first experience with the city. Urban Villa was my choice because of the glowing TA reviews, and I have to say, every positive review was accurate.

Besides the reviews, the pictures of the attractive, modern setting drew me in. When we arrived I was not disappointed. Once you are on the property, everything is beautifully appointed with very well thought out accouterments, from the courtyard to the balcony to the spiral staircase to the chocolate walls with butter cream trim, and original vintage molding.

Things to know include these:

It's in a neighborhood, near a park, very near a shopping center, and just blocks from the beach. Also, the website refers to a "hotel" and I was pleasantly surprised to find a personal B&B atmosphere with an high degree of professionalism, rather than a hotel atmosphere that was botiquey.

We enjoyed spending time sitting in the courtyard with the fountain water sound enjoying local micro-brews, we enjoyed the uber-soft bed and watching some flat-screen TV, and anything that we thought "hey we need...." they had already thought of and solved.

Thank you UV, we'll see you again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russellmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Siesta Suites
Siesta Suites
#14 of 34 in Kelowna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Boyce-Gyro Beach B&B
Boyce-Gyro Beach B&B
#36 of 48 in Kelowna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Kelowna International Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
By The Bridge Bed&Breakfast
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Mission Park Inn
Mission Park Inn
#20 of 34 in Kelowna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
The Chesterfield Inn
#5 of 48 in Kelowna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Villa

Property: Urban Villa
Address: 2735 Richter St, Kelowna, British Columbia V1Y 2R4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna > South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Kelowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban villa is the ideal setting for those who wish to get away with friends or a perfect meeting point for families to gather, Urban Villa offers luxury living for weddings, reunions, corporate gatherings or work retreats in breathtaking Kelowna, Urban Villa offers versatile accommodations for up to 16 people, to sleep comfortably in 3 queen bedrooms with family size washroom, 2 king bedrooms with en-suites and patio access, 1 king bedroom with detached bathroom, a nanny suite with 1 queen bedroom, includes sofa bed, bathroom, kitchenette and sitting area. We can also provide 2 cots for young children.Urban villa is only moments from downtown Kelowna, yet an easy commute to the nearby mountains, lakes, over 40 golf courses, countless vineyards and everything the Okanagan Valley has to offer....what better place to lay your head and relax your body than at URBAN VILLA! Urban Villa is impressive; it is the place to entertain, relax and indulge in comfort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Urban Villa Hotel Kelowna
Urban Hotel Kelowna
Urban Boutique Hotel Kelowna
Urban Villa Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing