We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Noise Limits”
Review of Playa del Sol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playa del Sol
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We rented 16 rooms for our wedding, for out of town guests who stayed in Kelowna for a week. Needless to say, we wanted to have a good time. When we checked in, we were told of the noise by laws.. for the first time. No noise after 11pm or you would get a $200 fine for each time security came to your room. We were VERY disappointed we were not told this when we booked for our wedding in the first place! Yet, it was too late to do anything as we had all paid up front. It is a nice, clean place and nice location, but confusing as it is a vacation rental and a place where people live.. which are two very conflicting situations! If you have kids and need a quiet place, this may be okay for you, but if you are there for a good time.. go to Manteo, or elsewhere in Kelowna, where they are more forgiving of noise!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Playa del Sol
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 78 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2011

We weren't disappointed in the rooms. However, the noise bylaw was not communicated to the people from out of town that rented sixteen rooms for a wedding. If we would have known we were going to be hassled and bothered every day that we were at Playa Del Sol we would have picked another resort to give our $30,000 to. We were told there was a pool and hot tub but by 3pm we had to find security to open up the gates so that we could use them. We opened up a towel to dry after a shower to find all kinds of leaves and twigs which ended up in the tub and on the person drying off.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Bottom line...rooms were great....but don't plan to have others in your room after 11 pm or you WILL get a $200 fine. This was not made clear to our group (about 16 rooms) when we booked for a wedding vacation for a week from Sept 27th-Oct 4th. As our rooms were already paid for in full - there was nothing we could do when we found out the 'rules'. The pool and hot tub entrance was locked when we had a beautiful sunny day so we were unable to get in unless we jumped the fence. If you want to make this your home with small children, the noise curfew would be welcomed but that's not why we were there. Conflicting housing arrangements at Playa Del Sol make it not so attractive for vacationers. Amanda was very helpful & professional but 'Security' was snotty & so tight we almost choked!! Not happy. :(

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jwillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2011

16 rooms were rented at the Playa Del Sol from guests from Ontario and BC for a wedding being held in Kelowan As you are all aware, the cost is not a drop in the bucket.... Upon arrival of several guests between the hours of 7:00 PM to 10:00 PM,( all arriving at different times), we all met in the room belonging to the parents of the groom. At exactly 11:15 PM security was at her door advising we were too loud and if she had to come again, they would impose a $200.00 fine for each offence. Needless to say, the mother of the groom was very upset all week, for fear of anyone making too much noise. The next evening, we all met outside in the courtyard at another guests room. We bbq steaks and such. At 9:15 PM.. security at the door advising we were too loud. When we asked him if there had been a formal complaint, he advised that No, there was no complaint made. The parents of the bride had an informal meet & greet evening where again security showed up at 11:15 to complain.
We feel very dissapointed in Playa Del Sol for not advising this group of the ABSOLUTELY no noise policy. The organization should have known when 16 rooms are booked for one wedding that they should have advised us. After spending close to 30,000.00 at this resort and constantly being harassed, we all have a bit of a sour taste in our mouths about staying at this resort. All involved including the residents from the Kelowna area will definitely not recommending this resort......

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We found Playa Del Sol to be wonderful for a relaxing vacation! Our condo was immaculate and well equipped and had an exceptionally comfy king sized bed. The owner had thought to leave us many 'extras' including a bottle of local wine! and the complex had a lovely pool / deck area as well as a fitness room and an adult lounge. The whole area was clean and well maintained and I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Some rooms face onto the main road - other onto lovely quiet patio areas or the pool so check before...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jhus63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

our family stayed in a 2 bedroom suite on the top floor for a week and have no complaints at all ! it's quiet, beds are big and comfy, and the apartment itself was large enough for the 3 of us. having a pool and hot tub in the complex is a bonus if you want to swim, but not go to the beach. nice to have self controlling air conditioning in the unit as well. good to have your own kitchen as we cooked our own meals to save money instead of always eating out, which can get boring and expensive. having a unit that faces away from the busy road is a bonus if you have a family and you want quiet at night. we would stay here again, and actually plan to do so.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank OilTastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

We were very excited to arrive at Playa Del Sol which looked beautiful from the pictures we had viewed on line. The exterior of the building was very nice as depicted in the photos, however, the unit we rented was a far cry from the advertised units! Unit 338 was filthy and smelled! The carpets were VERY stained. The linens were stained and dirty. I have included a picture of the face cloth which I was to use, it was sickenening. There was no functioning shower curtain or bath mat. The linens and hair dryer were covered in dark hairs. When I pulled out a cutting board it was sticky and covered in grease. There was no light bulb in the bedroom lamp which was the only light source for that room. The toilet paper holder was broken. The smoke detector was not hooked up. In response to the complaints the Manager admitted that the suites were rented so continuously that cleaning them thoroughly was not posssible. When we tried to move to another Hotel the Playa Del Sol Manager together with the booking company, Okanagan Vacation Home Rentals, tried to discount our concerns and refused to refund our money if we left. This experience ruined two and a half days of our week long vacation which is devastating! I never want another family to go through the same ordeal we did.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kelowna hotels
Hotel Eldorado
#1 of 34 in Kelowna
532 reviews
Central City
Best Western Plus Kelowna Hotel & Suites
Central City
Coast Capri Hotel Kelowna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites Kelowna
#5 of 34 in Kelowna
685 reviews
Central City
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Kelowna
South Pandosy - K.L.O.
Siesta Suites
Siesta Suites
#13 of 34 in Kelowna
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa del Sol

Address: 654 Cook Road, Kelowna, British Columbia V1W 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Okanagan Valley > Kelowna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kelowna
Price Range: $140 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Playa del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa del Sol is a 4* Luxury Condominium Resort in the heart of the breathtaking Okanagan Valley. Cool off in the 3rd level swimming pool, warm up in the hot tub, pamper yourself in the Spa, tone-up in our fitness facility, or de-stress in the steam room. You can barbeque by the pool or indulge yourself at the Resort’s tantalizing Cabana Bar & Grille. Enjoy steaming lattes at the Coffee Shop. Whether you want to play or relax, Playa Del Sol has it all! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Playa del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Del Sol Hotel Kelowna
Playa Del Sol Kelowna, Okanagan Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing