We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience!”

Oriental Gardens Restaurant
Ranked #55 of 341 Restaurants in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Center
Rogue Valley, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

My husband & I stopped in Kamloops on our way to Jasper & Banff and, since we weren't familiar with the area at all, we asked our hotel clerk to recommend a place that SHE would have dinner. With no hesitation at all, she said she and her friends go to Oriental Gardens, and gave us the directions.

We found it easily and parked...you pay for parking but are reimbursed in the restaurant. We were greeted immediately when we entered, and we were impressed by the classy decor, the the pond and waterfall, and the private dining rooms...all just gorgeous! The staff were very friendly, and the menu is extensive.

Great food, great service, and a wonderful ambiance! We will definitely be stopping here again on our return to Canada.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MusicalAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    41
    15
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort St. John, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

All I can say on a positive note was we were seated fast but that was likely due to there being 10% of the tables used. Decor is dated and needs updating. Our group of 6 had a variety of food. Each one of us had something on our plate that was disappointing. Many things did not appear fresh. As far as our drinks they were in the smallest glasses I've had in a restaurant, then full of ice. Literally two sucks on a straw and it's gone. I don't recommend this place. Too much money, poor value. Location was good though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank June7892014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better Chinese in your local mall”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

The service was fantastic but the food was very disappointing. Tasted just like what you would get at a mall food court but with a $100 price.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Calilane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Chinese/Japanese Food in Kamloops”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

This has to be the best food. Our favourite place to eat ethnic food in Kamloops. A busy place with friendly service, more than enough food served that you can take a doggy bag home. We have been going there for nearly 40 years and have never had a complaint with food or service and it has lovely atmosphere. Highly recommend a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Diane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
489 reviews
309 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“Service good. Disappointing food.”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We have visited this restaurant many times for both the Chinese and Japanese menu; the Chinese food has certainly been better than the Japanese, and overall the food has been fine (Westernised rather than authentic).

However, on our last visit this week, we were left disappointed. The quality of the food has gone downhill.. the gyoza was overcooked and dry, and obviously pre-packed. The tempura was oily and heavy, with a very salty sauce. The sushi rice was cold and dry, and the sushi poorly presented. The sashimi was fresh. The service was good.

It is a shame as we really liked the location and the food. Not sure we can recommend this place as highly anymore, as it is expensive for the quality.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFamily88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oriental Gardens Restaurant also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Oriental Gardens Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing