We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic ranch holiday”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kamloops
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Campbell Hills Guest Ranch
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic ranch holiday”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Outside Kamloops B.C., way up in the hills overlooking several small lakes, over about 5kms of unsealed road, is this spectacular cedar holiday ranch property, owned and operated by a couple who also own Amsterdam restaurant in the city itself. You can tell how much this friendly, couple love their work and what a fabulous place for children! Bernadette is wonderfully patient with them and with her 11 horses. Plenty to do: ring and trail riding, hikes higher up into the hills above the lodge with wonderful views to the Kamloops basin, collecting eggs from the domestic chickens (21 eggs on one day), Daisy and Mollie the excessively friendly dogs, birds, wildlife. We even watched a bluebird couple building their nest in a little nesting box less than 5 metres from the lodge. Martin is a chef and his food is delicious and copious. Try his Dutch pancakes! We had indifferent weather, but the afternoons delivered and the mud dried up very quickly. Lovely games room above the lodge eating/lounge downstairs area. All very friendly and open plan. Our three children didn't want to leave and all plan to come back - and it's a very long way to return from New Zealand! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are two family chalets and two large double bedrooms upstairs in the lodge. Chalets will sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rocmimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
27
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was the best choice ever!! We were looking for a short three day family trip and found it at campbell hills. We were with 2 small kids age 5 and 9 years old. For us it was relaxed because the all inclusive gave us so much peace of mind. three meals a day, and snacks, so we were never hungry at all. Also the kids were very well entertained throughout the day. Horseback riding in the morning, hiking and watching wildlife in the afternoon, and at night marsmallows roasting at the firepit. the kingsize matras made me fall a sleep like a log after a full day in the saddle. The horses were nice and gentle as were the hosts.

Room Tip: the room in the lodge with the lake view was the best. It is called Clint Eastwood!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merove v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This guest ranch is amazing! I highly recommend this to anyone; from beginners to experienced riders or just nature lovers. The horses are great and the trails are absolutely gorgeous. Management was very helpful and we learned to communicate with the horses in such a natural and beautiful way. We loved our experience!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed at this guest ranch with my three children (5,8,10) and my mother. The kids and I had a cabin which was fabulous and my mum stayed in the lodge. The hosts are incredibly accommodating, and great with kids. The two older kids and I went on a trail ride, but the youngest was too young (need to be 8) so he got to ride in the arena which he was very happy with. The food is great, plenty of it and kid friendly but still healthy and well balanced. There is a games room upstairs in the lodge with pool table, air hockey and fouz ball.
This is great for those who want to ride or just to read, write or relax. The trails up the back of the property are also good for trail running. Highly recommend this place, it makes a great two-three day break on the route from Vancouver to Alberta or as a family experience on its own.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3under7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terschuur, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2014

just had a great holiday at this wonderful guest ranch! The location, food, service and horse backriding have been a wonderful experience!!
It is located in the middle of nature about 30 minutes from down town Kamloops and 45 minutes from the airport of Kamloops.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

This guest ranch is a hidden gem. Nice and quiet. Wonderful rustic western atmosphere. Guest house is complete with a games room! Fitness centre also on site. Beautiful riding trails, very knowledgeable wranglers! Excellent food and staff are extremely friendly! Love that they practice natural horsemanship!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
12.6 mi away
Hotel 540
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,433 reviews
13.3 mi away
Ramada Kamloops
Ramada Kamloops
#26 of 54 in Kamloops
385 reviews
7.4 mi away
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Riverland Inn & Suites
Riverland Inn & Suites
#15 of 54 in Kamloops
329 reviews
13.4 mi away
Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre
12.5 mi away
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campbell Hills Guest Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campbell Hills Guest Ranch

Property: Campbell Hills Guest Ranch
Address: 4036 Campbell Range Rd | Campbell Lake, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 6W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Campbell Hills Guest Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campbell Hills Guest Ranch offers the perfect seasonal horseback riding Vacation, close to Kamloops. Our cozy facilities are nestled amidst open meadows, and timbered mountains in the heart of Cattle Country BC. Come and enjoy horseback riding with a natural horsemanship approach for beginners and the more advanced riders. We offer different levels trail riding based on skills. We set you up for a pleasant and enjoyable ride. We also encourage guests to participate in getting the horses, grooming etc. For the non riders we offer hiking or mountain biking in the wilderness, bird watching, kayaking on Campbell Lake or just take advantage of plain rest and relaxation! Enjoy beautiful views of gleaming Campbell Lake and the Monte Hills right out of your window. Don't miss out on the scenic morning sun rising above the lake. As a small all inclusive resort we can accommodate up to 16 guests. We also offer morning or afternoon packages and a variety of horseback riding tours for 8yrs and older! Trail rides combined with either lunch or dinner plus natural horsemanship introduction! Quality, comfort and safety are very important to us. Decorated in a Western motif, you'll see Bernadette's care for detail in every room. All beds have premium quality mattresses, pillow, duvets, towels plus complimentary toiletries. The main lodge is very intimate and welcomes you to make yourself at home, with its family style dining area, the kitchen of every cook's dream, overstuffed couches and river rock fireplace in the Wild Horse Saloon. The inviting reading loft has many Western novels, and other best sellers. Many Gourmet Buffet and Barbeque dinners are served on our wide-open deck that looks out over Campbell Lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing