We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, let down a bit by other guests and half-hearted cleaning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel, let down a bit by other guests and half-hearted cleaning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We just left the Hampton Inn after a 2-night stay and would recommend the hotel. The massive bed was lovely and comfy, the sofa-bed was fine for our little boy, and the room and bathroom were really nice. The breakfast was amazing, with lots of really lovely baked goods, a waffle-maker, fresh fruit, yoghurts, choice of coffees and juices, and 2 different hot items each day we were there.

The pool was clean and a perfect size and temperature and the hot tub was really nice. There were plenty of towels and lots of natural light in the pool area, though it was overlooked by some people walking from their cars to Reception.

The staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel has a really nice feel to it. However, there are a couple of down-sides. One is the very noisy plumbing - the hotel has aerating taps to save water and this may be why it's so noisy when anyone nearby flushes a toilet, runs a tap or showers... There is also poor sound insulation round the room doors (and in fact there are big gaps under the room doors), so when you get people walking down the corridor at midnight having a good loud chat about nothing in particular, or happily letting their room door slam in the middle of the night, you WILL hear them. Ditto the person in high heels in the room above us stomping around her bathroom for an hour in the evening. Last but not least, there's the traffic noise at the front of the hotel - those Looper boys do LOVE their V8's, and they also love driving up and down the many hills all evening! Although the view is nice we would probably elect for a room at the back next time.

We were also unimpressed by the cleaning standards. We suspect our cleaner was interrupted halfway through cleaning our room, as the bin wasn't emptied and the coffee wasn't replenished, so we had to go to Reception and ask for some. Hardly a major inconvenience, but it always makes you wonder what else isn't being cleaned! We also boggled a bit at the hotel's proud boast that they supply clean bed linens for every guest. Er... Don't most hotels do that?!

If it would only get better sound insulation, this hotel would go from good to great. As it is, it's worth considering only if you don't mind noise from people and cars. But did I mention the breakfast?

Room Tip: Good views from the rooms at the front of the hotel, but beware the traffic noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topoftheworldma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your thorough review of your recent stay at the Hampton Inn by Hilton in Kamloops, BC. Thank you for your compliments on our bedding and "amazing breakfast". We try to wow our guest by exceeding what they are expecting in regards to a complimentary breakfast with a selection of numerous items.

Our pool area is one of our most popular aspects of our hotel and I'm glad that it was a positive area that provided some entertainment during your stay with us. The trade-off to the natural light is that the windows overlook the parking lot.

You are correct in your deduction about the aerating taps in the hotel. We do use the taps in order to save water at the hotel.

Thank you for your feedback about the sound insulation in the room. In response to the gaps underneath the doors, we are currently in the process of replacing all the door sweepers as they have started to wear out after the current winter season. I agree that when people walk through the hallway late at night talking, they sometimes forget they are in a building with other people and talk rather loudly and let their doors slam shut later at night.

Next time that you are though Kamloops, be sure to let us know we would be happy to accomodate you with a backside room if you found the road noise a little loud for your tastes.

I am disappointed to hear about your room cleanliness issues. We strive to have all our rooms in tip-top shape for when our guests arrive. It's not something that I as a manager take lightly and will be following up with our housekeeping staff about paying attention to detail when cleaning a room and making sure those things are noticed. In regards to our boast about they supplying clean linen's to every guest, it's to assure our guest that they are sleeping on sheets and duvet covers, that have been washed fresh that day for their arrival.

Again, thank you very much for your feedback of our hotel. It's feedback like this that will allow us to take a good stay and have it become a great stay! Thanks and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    294
    73
    14
    12
See reviews for
277
271
27
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here recently and had a very positive experience. Clean room, comfy bed, perfect breakfast for us (simple, quick, healthy), friendly staff, great value. Would recommend this hotel especially for families but for business travel this hotel makes great sense too (well located, good business amenities).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops. I'm very happy to hear you had a "very positive" experience during your stay with us. We take pride in our clean and comfortable rooms, with a included deluxe hot breakfast in the morning. I will make sure that our housekeeping staff hears about your positive experience in our guest rooms.

We would love to host you again and next time you are through Kamloops I would invite you to stop by! Thanks for taking the time to post a review and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was our first time overnight in Kamloops and we decided on this hotel based on trip advisor reviews, we were not disappointed! We found the location near the highway great for easy access, yet it was far enough away that it was quiet. It was within an easy walk of many restaurants and the staff was really great. We had a 4th floor room with a view over Kamloops, the room was very clean and comfortable. We took advantage of the hotel's water slide, pool and hot tub for a fun but relaxing night. Breakfast in the morning was just right, with a great selection. As a bonus, they had covered parking for my truck (need atleast 7ft clearance). This would be my first choice hotel the next time I pass through Kamloops.

Room Tip: Higher floors had great view over the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trophy_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops. I was very pleased that you chose to stay with us based on our ranking on TripAdvisor. Our pool and wateslide are always a family favourite. I'm also glad to hear that you had a "really great" customer service experience with our front desk staff. I'm will make sure that they know about your experience. I look forward to you staying with us again when passing through!

Have a great day and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Another great stay, 4th floor, quiet and clean! Improvements on wireless greatly appreciated! Great location and breakfast has lots of healthy options. Will stay again next time! Ricks grill down the street, best steak I've eaten in a long time! Room deodorizer is very strong - only small complaint!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hockeymom11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for your recent review of the Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops. I agree our wireless upgrade was needed and I'm glad your experience with our new speeds was a positive one. We try to provide our guests with many options in our breakfast and feedback on our hotel is always appreciated.

Thanks again and we look forward to hosting you in the future!

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williams Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here over a weekend during a hockey tournament. They have a great pool/hot tub/slide that is actually fun for both adults and kids. By the end of the weekend, my timid 4 year old was even brave enough to go down the slide on his own...actually didn't want to stop.

Rooms are very clean and weel appointed, beds are comfy. 40" HDTV in the rooms with plenty of HD channels.

Fresh bakes cookies were at the front desk when we checked in. A great complimetary breakfast each morning with choices such as eggs, bacon or ham, oatmeal, fresh waffles, cereal, yogurt, fruit, juice, etc. Just excellent.

Hotel is in the Aberdeen area. You can't walk to the downtown core from here, but it's central to alot of amenities like a beer and wine store across the street, several sit down of fast food restaurants, Tim Hoton's and a great little sports pub a block up the street. Not to mention the shopping at Aberdeen Mall 2 blocks away.

Highly recommended when staying in the 'Loops.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Kamloops (the parking lot side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brick_Tamblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops. I'm glad to hear about your 4-year old and the waterslde. I personally haven't been down it but I hear it is quite a fast slide. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed the new TV service we have had installed into the hotel. The breakfast selection is excellent and we try to adapt to our guest's changing needs.

Thanks for the review and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
197 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

If youre in kamloops, you definitely have a car so location isnt a big deal. Breakfast js simple but good, service is very good as its a hilton chain and the cookies in the afternoon are really really tasty! Nice little pool with a long slider for kids too. Great set up.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avidtravellerbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel in Kamloops. We are very happy to hear that you had a positive experience and that you found the breakfast was good and set up with the pool was a great. I also enjoy the cookies in the afternoon and I'm glad you got to experience them. Thanks for positive review and we hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.

Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

As we excepted this hotel chain exceeds the expectations of its guests.
The staff goes out of it way to be helpful in any way it can to make your stay a positive memorable experience. If at all possible, I would not staff with ANY other chain.

Room Tip: when booking, tell the staff your needs and travel level (special rates) you may be entittled to. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick O, General Manager at Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay here at the Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops. I'm happy to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations for your recent stay here at the hotel. We strive to always go above and beyond for our guests, and a lot of the time it's the little things that count and show our customers that we care.

Thanks again for the review and safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops

Property: Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops
Address: 1245 Rogers Way, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#5 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#6 Business Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada, and enjoy a refreshing countryside suburban retreat with a choice of facilities included in your stay. Set just 20 minutes from Kamloops Airport, this hotel is conveniently located close to a major highways, only ten minutes from downtown Kamloops. Explore breathtaking scenery, discover an outdoor adventure with skiing or golfing, or treat yourself at Aberdeen Mall, just a short walk from this Kamloops hotel. Unwind and recharge in a comfortable Guest Room with a fresh bed and free high-speed internet access. Upgrade to a spacious suite and make yourself at home with a microwave oven and refrigerator. Wake up with a Hampton’s Free Hot Breakfast or grab a breakfast-to-go bag from Monday to Friday at the Front Desk. Sip on complimentary tea and coffee in the cozy hotel lobby and stay in touch with free WiFi in public areas. Catch up with work in the 24-hour business center or re-energize with a workout in the fitness center. Plunge into the indoor pool, splash around on the waterslide, or bathe in the whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn By Hilton Kamloops Hotel Kamloops
Hampton Inn Kamloops
Kamloops Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing