We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A one night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Nova Gorica, Slovenia
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A one night stay”
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Where to begin..... Hm, I didn't like that hotel very much....
It's a little bit old and it needs a renovation.

The rooms are big with SAT TV and phone. The bathroom is ok, but it could be clener.
My friends bathroom was a real disater and they had a flood all over the room, but I must say that the personnel came really fast and helped out with the flood.

Some rooms have the doors to another room, so if you don't want that, tell this to the personnel.
The hotel does not have an elevator. So if you are disabled, make sure they give you the room on the floor. You don't have your own balcony, they are all together, because there in the entrance to the room from the balcony.

The hotel is near the road, but it's not very crowded.

There is internet in the lobby.

The breakfast room is really small and the breakfast is so poor.I recommend to eat it somewhere else.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoriSLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    68
    84
    53
    56
See reviews for
97
83
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2009

This stay started out very bad, but ended okay.
I paid $84 (plus tax) - good rate, but first room they showed me was a total absolute dump. One of the worst rooms I have ever seen.
Lock was broken, so I asked for a new room. (I had decided that if they couldn't give me something decent, I was going to leave.)
Second room was better, but wifi didn't work.
Finally, the younger fellow that worked there upgraded me to the equivalent of their business suite, and I have to say it was a great room.
I don't know what that room would have cost otherwise, but I was happy with the way things turned out.
In the end, they ended up doing the right thing, but I shouldn't have had to jump through those hoops.
I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rambling_Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kamloops hotels

Abbotsford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

I stayed at the howard johnson inn downtown last week with my 2 kids on our night over stay in Kamloops. After driving for more than 6 hours from edmonton we decided to find a cheap place to stay but we didn't wanna spend much either. We stopped by few other properties but rate was alot more than what we wanted to pay but then we found the howard johnson downtown. The gentleman at the front desk seemed to be very quick and knowledgeable and i was impressed that he was helpful in informing somebody else in front of us about the activities in town. We wanted a room with 2 double beds but he offered us 2 queens for the same price and the rate was about 19 dollars less than what others offered. Bonus was that the rate inlcuded continental breakfast and suprisingly the free wireless internet worked well ( for some reason i never find wireless interet working at motels). we were worried about the street noise but they seemed to have good windows and we weren't bothered at all. Our room was very decent and clean and small fridge was great to have in 36 degrees.

I don't usually write comment for my hotel stays as i travel a bit for work. But i have to say that i wasn't expecting to see what others have written about this place. This place is definetly not what others have said about it. I would definetly reccommend this hotel to people looking for cheap but clean accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pointpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, NV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2009

It is next to a XXX store. When we arrived in the middle of the night there were a bunch of kids in the back messing around with a basketball and racing around. People were coming in and out of the front door. It seemed like a lot of people lived there. It was just ghetto and gross and THERE WAS A BUG ON MY PILLOW WHEN I PULLED THE SHEETS DOWN TO SLEEP!!! Gross. The only good thing about this trip was that we pulled in at 1:30 am and were only there to sleep for a short time. I was shocked to wake up and find that our car and uhaul were not stolen.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teahbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2009

The motel has no problem in free parking, free breakfast, free ice machine on the 2nd floor, and counter staff information service. Just one problem that I encountered is buds bite my neck and arm so that I hardly took a good sleep. In the early morning with my eyes closed, I instintively hit my left arm with my right hand, and succeeded in cracking down a bud. In the morning when I turned on the water in the bathroom, surprisingly dead buds came out of the water faucet. Even though hotel charge was cancelled, what I expected is not refund, but a good sleep.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buddahOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, ca
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2009

That's what it was like for us when we pulled into the HoJo. It was pouring down rain, we'd been in the car for hours and it was getting dark. We were so looking forward to reaching our hotel and relaxing - until we got there. We pulled into the parking lot - looked at the hotel and thought, " Crap! We'd already spend the money as we booked the hotel on Priceline at a $70 rate. Typically we are able to get a 4* at that price on Priceline but for whatever reason the bidding gods weren't working for us. For a split second we thought about writing off the cash and sleeping in the car but managed to check in.

Having read many bad reviews about the hotel management we were encouraged by the treatment we received when we checked in. The man at the desk was super nice and gave me hope that the hotel room may not be that bad.

Unfortunately that wasn't the case. The room was old and musty with well worn furniture and a bed that makes you consider sleeping with your clothes on. The bathroom was some odd kitchen-bath combo that had cupboards and a refrigerator on one side and a bathroom sink on the other. The hotel itself is on a busy street so you have to decide between opening the window for fresh air but dealing with road noise or settling for less road noise but a musty room.

I'm not a hotel snob by any means. My travels have taken to me to every type of accomodation imaginable and the only thing that really matters at the end of the day is a clean room with a decent feel. This hotel had none of that. A little renovation would go a long way here.

The complimentary breakfast offered so few choices I almost didn't bring it up but it did provide us a place to sit, utensils and milk for the cereal we had in our car.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandyago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

I don't recall seeing candid traveller pictures of this place, maybe I could have avoided it if I did. We were parked in the alley (along with our room facing it) next to a garbage can. Outside, and remaining outside pretty much all three days we were there, was a wasted looking woman chain smoking. The room itself was dark, and did not feel clean, repeat, did not feel clean. The beds were pretty hard. I am consistently surprised whenever I stay in a hotel/inn in a small Canadian city, always way overpriced, this place no exception. The location was fine, for where we wanted to be, but it is a long time fading property that needs to be redone. I am still scrubbing extra in the shower back at home...

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops
City Center
Travelodge Kamloops City Centre
Ramada Kamloops
#25 of 54 in Kamloops
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Panorama City Centre Inn
#32 of 54 in Kamloops
26 reviews
Knights Inn Kamloops
#44 of 54 in Kamloops
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops

Property: Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops
Address: 530 Columbia St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in 2014 with new bathrooms, new pillowtop mattresses, new linen, fresh paint and many other updates. We are located downtown right besides the Denny's Restaurant , 2 blocks away from the Kamloops' Royal Inland Hospital and across the street from the Kamloops court house. Many stores and restaurant are within 3 to 10 minutes walking distance from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Kamloops Downtown Hotel Kamloops
Howard Johnson Kamloops
Kamloops Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing