We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed with my cousin when he was in Kamloops with his softball team. Our room was clean and smelled good. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Not sure why others have left negative comments but I think it was excellent choice.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackspic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 325 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

I knew we were in trouble when we drove up! Ever get the feeling that something isn't going to be good....this was it. Checked in, got to our room and the smell was unbelievable, asked to be moved, checked 3 or 4 other room and finally decided on one. Once in the new room noticed the pillows were stained asked for new ones, got them. Went out for a bite to eat and checked a hotel down the street, had a vacancy. Checked out of the HoJo asked for a refund they said contact Expedia to get it. Didn't matter if I got the refund or not, they could give this hotel to me to stay for free, wouldn't do it. Stay away!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Not even sure where to begin. There was a large group of us and so had quite a few rooms. The first thing we did was check for bed bugs!! Ironically when asked others, every single room did the same thing. Thankfully nobody saw any and the sheets looked clean. So that would be a plus. Was really noisy in the rooms with the AC and in ours a toilet that kept running (no adjusting could stop this). Worst shower of my life. Fluctuated from ice cold to scalding hot every ten seconds or so. Not an exaggeration, I screamed at one point and ended up turning the hot water off completely and dealt with the ice cold. Wasn't just ours or time of day, everyone said the same thing. I didn't even shower the second day I was afraid. Rooms didn't seem like they were properly cleaned and were either not stocked with towels or not enough. Looked like there was mold and mildew problems in the bathrooms, around the baseboards it was pretty dirty. One room had something gross on their door and when they told the front desk they just brought them a paper towel to clean it up. Another room apparently smelt like urine. I did not go verify this, but some had carpet and honestly who would make it up? We considered moving to another place, but it seemed like a headache so we put up with it. It was more the cost of what we were paying for what we were getting. Rooms should have been around $50 a night and we paid more than double that. They included a breakfast as well, which wasn't much, but better than nothing I guess. There were other places nearby if preferred something other than toast or cereal and coffee and juice. Note that we didn't complain or try to get anything changed, but the place was booked and there didn't seem like much they could do other than get us more towels. It was the first time I checked out of a place and they didn't ask how was the stay. They must know the place is a dump. I definitely wouldn't be staying there again or any other hojo without checking out the rooms first. There are lots of other choices around, so as I said, I'd recommend only if desperate.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CDavis80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We do not recommend. The room was tiny, dark and you could see light around the door to the outside. Everything was worn and / or stained. Not worth the money. Pillows were so thin you needed 3 but there was only one.
Our room was on the ground floor facing a back parking lot/alleyway

Room Tip: There are many other hotels in Kamloops so do a better job of previewing them than we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron3849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This place is discusting filthy crackhead place.. Pulled back the sheets to see it was already slept in!! Asked for another room it was worse.. Dirty sheets dirty floor.. Place should be shut down!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Truckergal55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed in a room with 2 double beds. The room needs updating but other than that..the room was clean and smelled fine. There was no fridge which was disappopinting..I really like having a fridge in my room. THe room came with a hairdryer which was great for me. The bath room was clean but like I said needs updating. The remote for the TV didn't work for everything..but that didn't really matter for me.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coastalstorm25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Stay at Howard Johnson Inn Downtown for a weekend for 2 nights with my husband and kids and it was a wonderful stay. Our room was clean and smelled good. Wireless internet worked fine and continental breakfast saved our family $25 every mornings. This hotel has best staff I have ever come across. Every time I needed somethingThey always offered to come to my room and deliver. Overall, I would say this Howard Johnson is my choice of accommodation for my future stays in Kamloops.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mel1975_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops
City Center
Travelodge Kamloops City Centre
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 54 in Kamloops
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen
Kamloops Travelodge Mountview
Quality Inn Kamloops
#22 of 54 in Kamloops
146 reviews
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops

Address: 530 Columbia St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2V1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range: $48 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in 2014 with new bathrooms, new pillowtop mattresses, new linen, fresh paint and many other updates. We are located downtown right besides the Denny's Restaurant , 2 blocks away from the Kamloops' Royal Inland Hospital and across the street from the Kamloops court house. Many stores and restaurant are within 3 to 10 minutes walking distance from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson Downtown Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn Kamloops Downtown Hotel Kamloops
Howard Johnson Kamloops
Kamloops Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing