We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fresh quality food”
Review of TERRA

TERRA
Ranked #8 of 339 Restaurants in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: City Center
Description: OUR STORY In 2011, hotel and restaurant industry professionals Andrea and David decided to make a go of it on their own. Their idea was simple; partner with equally passionate local producers to showcase the best of the Thompson region in a fun, creative setting. Four years later, Chef David’s award winning cuisine along with a stellar line up of wines, beers and delectable cocktails have made Terra a local favorite. FRESH We believe in cooking with the seasons. We change our menu monthly to reflect ingredients at their peak. So there’s no asparagus in November, no pumpkins in May and certainly no fava beans in January. What you do get though, is an inspired, creative team excited to work with local farmers, ranchers and artisans who provide us with exceptional products. LIQUID ASSETS You wouldn’t expect to find Canadian wines at a small restaurant in Australia would you? Our wines, beers and spirits are carefully selected from small, quality producers right here in BC. Some in fact, are just down the street. We are proud of our relationships with craft brewers, distillers and wineries as they allow us to showcase the exceptional products of our region. JOIN US We recommend making a reservation, especially during busy times like weekends or holiday weekends. We appreciate larger groups calling ahead to book space. If you are out and would like to drop in, please do so, knowing you will always be welcome. At Terra Restaurant, we pride ourselves on serving our guests the very best locally sourced, organic and most authentic food each and every day. Our traditional recipes and approach to preparing the meals we serve is what sets us apart from the rest. With the freshest ingredients at hand in our community each menu item starts with incredible taste. If there's one thing we pride ourselves on, it's complete customer satisfaction. From the time you walk through the door to the time we have to say goodbye, we ensure that you've had the very best dining experience. We treat everyone that walk through our door like family and want you to feel that way. From the care that goes into preparing our meals to the smiling faces of our staff.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh quality food”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Very good. Quality fresh you don't feel Lethargic after you eat the food. We eat here whenever we get a chance because you crave the quality which you can't often find in restaurants in kamloops

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    48
    17
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“a good choice”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

There is no shortage of good eating establishments in downtown Kamloops and it can be hard to choose. Best to figure out what you feel like and what you want to pay, then check out TA and make your choice. The great thing is the walk to and from your restaurant is very enjoyable on this lovely main street.
Terra was our second choice because we felt like Mexican but the Mexican restaurant had a very funny smell happening?? so we headed out to Terra. It's a nice restaurant, comfortable seating, well decorated. The staff were prompt and capable and kept our water glasses full. I had a view of the kitchen which is not my favorite so I would not choose to sit there again. The food was wonderful and this is a restaurant that uses local food and beverage producers in it's kitchen. I really appreciate that. The potato leek soup was amazing, such a delicate flavor. i'm dreaming of that one for sure. The steak was prepared perfectly and surrounded by lovely, braised and don't forget locally grown veggies. Mashed potatoes with crab, sounds different but it works!
We had one small issue which I discussed with the head chef and it was dealt with immediately. A complimentary house cheesecake, baked in a little mason jar, was a perfect way to end the meal. Shhh...it's not on the menu.
We'll be back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank samcan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed overnight in Kamloops and looked in the Tripadvisor to find a good restaurant. Terra restaurant was number #1, so we decided go there.

Very disappointing:
- terrible service : there were few customers and the service was very slow... including the meal preparation
- food: not bad, but far for being good! No flavor at all... my friend ordered a fish, and left half of it. I ordered a chicken and had to ask for salt, because it was tasteless

So, when we think about the quality of the food, the price is terrible high. I don't mind to pay if the meal is really good! Not in this case..... my suggestion: don't go!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bias23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed overnight in Kamloops and went to Terra based on the TA rating.

We were not disappointed. Whilst a little darker inside than you would normally expect the service was friendly and helpful with the chef himself taking the time to come over to make sure everything was in order. He also thanked us for dining there.

The main courses were excellent however make sure enough room is left for dessert.

If you visit this restaurant,like us,hopefully you will find it a treat worth every cent.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HotspurHero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Maryland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Our party of four adults was very pleased with our restaurant experience. The server was very friendly and extremely helpful in describing entrees. Chef David was accommodating to our vegan requests, so much so that he created a special dessert! The specials were seasonal and elegant. Presentation was superb!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TERRA also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to TERRA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing