We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Finally, quality coffee in Kamloops!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cowboy Coffee - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cowboy Coffee
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Seating
Neighborhood: City Center
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Finally, quality coffee in Kamloops!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I had to return to Kamloops twice in June and I made a point of going to Caffe Motivo each time. The coffee is definitely a cut above the rest of the coffee scene in Kamloops. Stocking quality roasters and fresh coffee, definitely notice a difference in the cup. Also, allows to pick up freshly roasted beans for home use as well. In addition to providing good coffee drinks, Caffe Motivo also provides some very good breakfast wraps. The Southwest is definitely a must try. Not overly spicy but provides good flavour. Unfortunately, I've never been to a Sunday brunch menu but looks amazing. The atmosphere in the coffee shop is definitely positive and everyone seems to be enjoying themselves. I especially enjoyed the personal demonstration of the Aeropress and it makes me want to purchase one to try. Next time I am in Kamloops, I will be making another visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Modare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Real baristas making great coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

great cappuccinos. Each time i go, the barista making my coffee seems to make it slightly different, which i love. Happy to experience real baristas and their signatures. They obviously have great beans to start with cause I haven't had a burnt or bitter experience yet. No gut rotting which is really appreciated as I'm grabbing a cup for the road and wouldn't gave any distraction from feeling awful.

I would have one recommendation for caffe motivo, that they dissuade toasting of sandwiches that shouldn't be toasted. That's all. I'm not always as happy with my snack as i am with my coffee. That said, I still look forward to stopping there whenever I'm in town.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CandisD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Cafe Motiva" replaces Cowboy Coffee: new and better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

The newly renamed "Cafe Motiva" is independently owned and managed. There is the same loyal crowd, seldom a free table. Free newspapers to borrow. Top-quality, wide variety of coffees and other drinks. New focus on fresh baked muffins, squares, scones...and lunch items..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank wenden_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“If you like it strong, you'll love it here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The service was good and the coffee strong. I like to add a little extra cream to mine to add to the overall flavor. If you want something a little different than starbucks with a good punch try cowboy coffee, you'll be pleasantly surprised.

Helpful?
Thank charwarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
252 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great Coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Rating 8.5/10, considering I am a harsh reviewer this is for a sensational cup of coffee I had, didn't try the food, for me anyone that does a good coffee should do decent food. Highly highly recommended

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Punit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowboy Coffee also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing