We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous little boutique hotel with loads of character and history!”
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria bc
1 review
“Fabulous little boutique hotel with loads of character and history!”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

What a great experience, the rooms were classically furnished. A unique style and cozy atmosphere. We were upgraded immediately due to a small concern we had with our room to a beautiful corner junior suite. Great price overall with the inclusion of a great breakfast! Will come again for sure

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Going4it40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear valued guest - Going4it40

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and giving us 5 out of 5. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the way we took care of your concern right away.

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel.

Wish you all the best.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    409
    104
    19
    19
See reviews for
149
511
63
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

To be short and sweet....an absolutely top notch experience from top to bottom. Exchanged many emails with the hotel prior to arrival to set up a shuttle from the airport and a couple of additions to the room and everything was taken care of promptly and thoroughly. The hotel itself is gorgeous - an older historic hotel that has been completely revamped yet still has many of the old features that add to the charm of it. Love the old elevator, the hallways with many twists and turns and the old restored heating radiators. All staff were extremely pleasant and accommodating. When we checked out early in the AM only to arrive at the airport and find that our flight had been cancelled, they gave me the room back along with a late check in so we could catch some sleep. The Fireside Restaurant and Bar is very nice (and they make unreal caesar's). Very close to everything downtown including the arena which was great as we were there attending the Brier. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. I've never had much reason to go to Kamloops before, but if I ever do again I wouldn't stay anywhere else but the Plaza.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisMcQuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Chris

Thank you so much for your fabulous review and giving us 5 out of 5 in all areas; it was a real joy reading your review! I appreciate your comments about the hotel and how you enjoyed the charm of it. I have also shared your comments with our staff for being extremely pleasant and accommodating... And to top it all, the "unreal caesar's" in our Fireside Steakhouse & Bar!

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel.

Wish you all the best.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
100 Mile House, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed one night recently for a birthday getaway and was pleasantly surprised. It's a renovated heritage hotel and is so historic. The décor, lounge, fireplaces, Fireside restaurant are so comfy and homey. Our room had such nice linens and a beautiful view of Kamloops. Great price with an awesome breakfast included. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: we stayed on the 5th floor and it had a great view and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 502connie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear valued guest - 502connie22

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and giving us 5 out of 5 in all areas. I am also delighted that we were part of your special occasion and you felt "comfy and homey"! To us, this says: mission achieved!

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel.

Wish you all the best.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I absolutely love staying at The Plaza and will not stay at any other hotel in Kamloops. Chic decor, great restaurant, excellent and attentive staff, great value, centrally located and the MOST comfortable beds I have ever slept on! The restaurant is a steakhouse focused on local beef with a beautiful view and atmosphere in the evening. The breakfast that is included with your room is an absolute delight! I literally CAN NOT believe how inexpensive it is to stay in this beautiful and historic hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but I enjoy the historic rooms best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puddlefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear valued guest - puddlefox

Thank you so much for your amazing review and giving us 5 out of 5 in all areas. You are certainly one of our very loyal guests and we love serving you! People like you make us successful!

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for being such a great supporter and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Wish you all the best.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I recently stayed in the Plaza hotel and was very pleased with my stay. It has all the amenities you can ask for but the clincher for me is the character of this historic hotel - a rarity in these days of generic hotel blandness. I would definitely stay again. Very helpful staff too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Peter

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and for rating us 5 out of 5. It is so nice to see people appreciate heritage buildings with character... and very helpful staff!

I'm very glad to know that you will definitely stay with us again and we, the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Wish you all the best.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I have stayed at this location many times while travelling to Kamloops for business. The rooms are quaint, the bar and restaurant is a great place to relax and enjoy a great meal. Service is fantastic. The hotel really caters to ensure you have the most pleasant stay. You can choose from heritage to more modern rooms. They have a great hot breakfast buffet as well. One the main benefits is its location being so central to everything downtown. Great for business meetings. Don't miss out, you will enjoy the experience. One more add on is they give you free access to the YWCA and the yoga studio.

B Brethour

Room Tip: Check out the pictures on their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbrethour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Mr. Brethour

Thank you so much for your awesome review and rating us 5 out of 5! Reading your review made my heart rejoice specially when you said: "The hotel really caters to ensure you have the most pleasant stay". This is exactly our passion; we are here to serve!

You are one of our loyal guests and we will do our utmost to make sure The Plaza Hotel becomes your "home" in Kamloops.

Thank you for adding the Room Tip for viewers to check out the pictures on our website.

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Wish you all the best Mr. Brethour.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Had a 2 night stay. It feels like a boutique hotel. We had a deluxe room which was nicely decorated though on the small side. The bathroom was very small and only had a shower. The nightlife can be heard but never really bothered us. The breakfast was excellent. You had a choice of continental or full breakfast (cooked to order). Service was very attentive. Parking was $8 plus taxes (through Impark). It is close to the casino and lots of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spunkymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear valued guest - spunkymo

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us with high ratings; We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and considered your experience as "charming"!

We are a boutique heritage hotel with a variety of guest rooms and suites that differ in size; in addition, some of our bathrooms have tubs and some have showers only.

It gives me great pleasure to announce that we have started working on replacing our windows and the project should be completed by mid May 2014.

On behalf of all the ladies and gentlemen at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to sincerely thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel.

Wish you all the best.

Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Property: The Plaza Hotel
Address: 405 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#11 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamloops’ Grand Dame and only boutique hotel, The Plaza Hotel, is proudly reopening after an 8-month multi-million dollar renovation which has added style and modern conveniences throughout the hotel while preserving its treasured heritage charm.HERITAGE ELEGANCE WITH MODERN COMFORT.All 67 guest rooms received floor-to-ceiling refits, meeting rooms were given upgraded technology and design and the restaurant was remade with new decor and a brand new menu centered on locally-raised steak.New amenities:• New 24 hour business centre• 32” & 40" Samsung HDTVs• Premium HD entertainment and sport programming• Upgraded complimentary WiFi• Updated paint, wallpaper and colour schemes• New guestroom furniture• Superb triple sheeting and bathroom linens• iPod docking clock radios• Highest quality eco-friendly amenities• New bathroomsRESTAURANT: The newly-renovated Fireside Steakhouse & Bar at the Plaza Hotel is proudly offering a full range of locally-raised Black Angus steaks and other selections in relaxed, heritage surroundings perfect for any occasion. The completely renovated room features warm, inviting decor highlighted by a spectacular two-sided fireplace. The centerpiece of the menu is a wide range of premium Black Angus cuts from Southlands Ranch in Knutsford. This beef, available exclusively from the Fireside Steakhouse & Bar is raised by the Haughton family who have been ranching in the Kamloops area for over 100 years. MEETINGS AND BUSINESS TRAVEL: The Plaza Hotel has a variety of highly flexible, renovated function rooms and expert staff who can help you make your next event an unqualified success. The highly functional meeting rooms can accommodate up to 175 people and are ideal for small and medium size business meetings and social gatherings.WEDDINGS: The Plaza Hotel is an elegant and romantic wedding destination with multiple options for ceremonies and receptions and superb in-house catering from our expert kitchen team. Our experienced staff can offer support and insight in planning and executing a dream day and our newly-renovated guest rooms make a perfect place to end the special day for everyone including the happy couple who will adore our romantic Honeymoon Suite.LIQUOR STORE: Conveniently located at street level, the Plaza Hotel’s Liquor Store offers a wide selection of international and regional select wines, micro brew ales, domestic and imported beers and an impressive selection of spirits from around the world. Whether it’s beers for the BBQ, wine for a special dinner or whiskey for a night around the campfire, our knowledgeable and attentive staff will help you choose the right accompaniment for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Heritage Hotel
Plaza Heritage Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing