We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay!”
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I decided to stay at The Plaza as I had an appointment in Kamloops on the Friday, May 18, 2013. My husband and I had stayed there a couple of years ago and it was okay. This time I truly enjoyed it. The rooms have all been thoroughly updated with nice touches such as water, etc. The dining room, The Fireside, was excellent with great live music in the evening. The staff in the hotel and dining room were very attentive and accommodating. It is a beautiful heritage hotel that we will definitely return to again for our next stay in Kamloops. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher, quieter side when booking. Sometimes on the main street on a weekend night can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pepasita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear valued guest - Pepasita

On behalf of the entire team at The Plaza Hotel, I would like to offer you our sincere appreciation and gratitude for your support in making us your preferred hotel in Kamloops.

Our team enjoyed serving you and thank you for giving us the opportunity to do that.

We are all waiting to welcome you back to The Plaza Hotel soon.

Best regards,
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (989)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 989 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed for just one night as the overnight stop for the Rocky Mountaineer from Vancouver to Jasper. Comfortable room, adequate facilities although time was against us using them fully. Cannot comment on value as price was built into our overall holiday cost. Transport from station to hotel and back quick and efficient. Reception staff handled whole group of about thirty efficiently and speedily. Good downtown location.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank historian90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear valued guest - historian90

Thank you so much for your review and we appreciate your comments about our staff. Our entire team enjoy serving our guests and will continue to not just provide the highest standards of service and comfort but exceed our guests' expectations.

We would love to welcome you back to The Plaza Hotel again.

Best regards,
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for just one night on route to Vancouver from Calgary but what a brilliant one nights sleep! The staff were fantastic and so welcoming and very kindly upgraded our room for us as a honeymoon treat. We really appreciated it and didn't expect it so a nice surprise - the comfiest bed in canada i think. We ate at the restaurant which was lovely - food was great and again service was faultless. We'd definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for a place to stay in Kamloops.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear valued guest - Katherine R

I can't thank you enough for your review and giving us 5 out of 5 in all areas. I am thrilled about your honeymoon experience with us.... whether it's our guestrooms or restaurant (Fireside Steakhouse & Bar). Thank you for including us in your plans!

Our entire team took pleasure in serving you and we will always look forward to welcoming you back.

Wish you all the best.
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Expecting a dull overnight en-route to Jasper we were amazed with our friendly reception at The Plaza, at the old-world simplicity of the place and surprise, surprise, free parking and breakfast included. The Fireside restaurant is exceptional, with wonderfully relaxed, yet competent, service and fabulous food. Try the Scallops and Prawn appetiser, the Glazed Salmon, or any entree with the fabulous mashed potatoes. Add to this the attention of the lovely manageress and you'll want to go again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank GolferYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

My dear friends - GolferYork

It was such a pleasure meeting you; I really enjoyed our conversations and thank you so much for your review and giving us 5 out of 5.

I told my family and friends about you... you are such a great couple and I, wholeheartedly, enjoyed serving you.... Would love to see you again sometime soon.

Wish you all the best.
Your friend - Shatha Al-Reihani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

My fiance and I stayed here for a night and we will be back! The hotel is over 80 years old but was newly renovated last year however they have managed to keep all of the character and history of the hotel such as original hardwood floors and an elevator almost as old as the hotel. We stayed in the honey moon suit which was unreal, antique furniture and a 2 person claw foot tub. The room was very clean and the views were great. We also ate at the hotel restraunt and the food was very good and they have live entertainment on the weekends. The staff at this hotel are frindly and accommodating. The location being right in the middle of downtown Kamloops can't be beat. I really can find anything bad to say about my stay. If your looking for a interesting hotel with some history, in a good location with friendly staff at a reasonable price then you will enjoy your stay at the Plaza.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canuck1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear valued guest - canuck1414

Thank you SO MUCH for your great review, lovely comments and giving us 5 out 5 in all areas... I am so glad you liked the renovations, the honeymoon suite and our restaurant (Fireside Steakhouse & Bar).

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you and we will always look forward to welcoming you back.

Wish you all the best.
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel was our overnight stay on the Rocky Mountaineer train. Transport by coach from the station to the hotel was quick. Efficient check in. Room was adequate, rather old fashioned, free bottles of water, TV, free wifii and free international calls (I didnt use).
Bed and pillows very comfortable.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M00nm0nkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear valued Rocky guest - M00nm0nkey

Thank you so much for your comments and I'm glad you liked the extra amenities we have.... we offer great value with our complimentary inclusions.

We will always look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel.

Best regards,
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We had low expectations for our overnight in Kamloops, but this hotel was a great find. It was extensively renovated last summer and provides a wonderful stay. People are friendly and the downtown area is charming.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrazyCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePlazaKamloops, General Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear valued guest - KrazyCanadian

I can't thank you enough for giving us 5 out of 5 in all areas... I am thrilled that we have exceeded your expectations.

We appreciate your business and we will always look forward to welcoming you back to The Plaza Hotel.

Wish you all the best
Shatha Al-Reihani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#5 of 54 in Kamloops
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Aberdeen
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: 405 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Business Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: $77 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamloops’ Grand Dame and only boutique hotel, The Plaza Hotel, is proudly reopening after an 8-month multi-million dollar renovation which has added style and modern conveniences throughout the hotel while preserving its treasured heritage charm.HERITAGE ELEGANCE WITH MODERN COMFORT.All 67 guest rooms received floor-to-ceiling refits, meeting rooms were given upgraded technology and design and the restaurant was remade with new decor and a brand new menu centered on locally-raised steak.New amenities:• New 24 hour business centre• 32” & 40" Samsung HDTVs• Premium HD entertainment and sport programming• Upgraded complimentary WiFi• Updated paint, wallpaper and colour schemes• New guestroom furniture• Superb triple sheeting and bathroom linens• iPod docking clock radios• Highest quality eco-friendly amenities• New bathroomsRESTAURANT: The newly-renovated Fireside Steakhouse & Bar at the Plaza Hotel is proudly offering a full range of locally-raised Black Angus steaks and other selections in relaxed, heritage surroundings perfect for any occasion. The completely renovated room features warm, inviting decor highlighted by a spectacular two-sided fireplace. The centerpiece of the menu is a wide range of premium Black Angus cuts from Southlands Ranch in Knutsford. This beef, available exclusively from the Fireside Steakhouse & Bar is raised by the Haughton family who have been ranching in the Kamloops area for over 100 years. MEETINGS AND BUSINESS TRAVEL: The Plaza Hotel has a variety of highly flexible, renovated function rooms and expert staff who can help you make your next event an unqualified success. The highly functional meeting rooms can accommodate up to 175 people and are ideal for small and medium size business meetings and social gatherings.WEDDINGS: The Plaza Hotel is an elegant and romantic wedding destination with multiple options for ceremonies and receptions and superb in-house catering from our expert kitchen team. Our experienced staff can offer support and insight in planning and executing a dream day and our newly-renovated guest rooms make a perfect place to end the special day for everyone including the happy couple who will adore our romantic Honeymoon Suite.LIQUOR STORE: Conveniently located at street level, the Plaza Hotel’s Liquor Store offers a wide selection of international and regional select wines, micro brew ales, domestic and imported beers and an impressive selection of spirits from around the world. Whether it’s beers for the BBQ, wine for a special dinner or whiskey for a night around the campfire, our knowledgeable and attentive staff will help you choose the right accompaniment for any occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Heritage Hotel
Plaza Heritage Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing