We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bit of spoiling never goes amiss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bit of spoiling never goes amiss”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly, room was very comfortable with a great view overlooking the river with a balcony, food was good and bar staff very attentive, really nice stay, and good value

Room Tip: Go for the river side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind words. Your mention about a “Bit of Spoiling” is great to hear but to us it’s what we expect of our service. We are always so thrilled when our guests leave happy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    189
    53
    18
    11
See reviews for
141
282
17
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

About 10 minutes from city centre this is a very nice place for a romantic escape. I was on business and was terribly missing the wife! Seriously it is a nice quiet place that offers a lot and to make matters even better, it's affordable. Plenty of activities, they even rent bicycles for free. The only thing that I have to say is if you go on business, the working place is chanllenging in your room. Super duper comfortable bed, quiet room (except for the trainsssssssssssss with a waterfront room).
Unbelievably good grilled cheese for diner and inexpensive.
The coffee is also very good at breakfast ($10 fee for breakfast).
On trip advisor this place very well deserves its high ranking.
I will definately go again.

Room Tip: Although waterfront rooms have a nice view, it might me more quiet on the other side of the hotel, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvain F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for telling Tripadvisor about your positive experiences while staying with us, we really appreciate it. We also love hearing you will come back. Maybe eventually we will not be so hidden. When you book your next stay with us ask for a room with a mountain range view as you will not hear the train, so silent you will think you lost your hearing. We also have beautiful business Kings which include a large desk for those who must work. Coffee is Lavazza a real Italian roast
It is difficult for a small property like ours to stay #1 on Tripadvisor. This out of 54 properties in Kamloops . It is guests like you who keep us here. Thank you

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Good: I don't tend to notice how clean or dirty things may be, however, the rooms were completely spotless! That was nice, almost as if you were the first ever person to walk into it. The pool and hot tub were up and running with a washroom right next to it which is awesome. waitresses were friendly, nice, and go out of their way just for you!! housekeeping, to my surprise, were friendly, nice, and say hello/goodmorning!! at other places they don't bother to say good morning.
The location is wonderful, well maintained, out of the way from busy streets, and the view is so much nicer than a concrete jungle.
The river is so very close and beautiful!
Bad: front desk lady seemed happy and friendly but will roll her eyes at you (I'm sure she was having a rough day with lots of people)
food was pricy, which is fair enough for the time/fuel it must take to actually get it to the inn, unfortunately the buffet was slightly sub par (did those hardboiled eggs come out of a bag? I like shelling my own for that reason) most of it tasted like it came out from a freezer or a pre made package.hmm?

Room Tip: I would recommend a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thanks for all your positive comments about your stay with us.
Housekeeping will love the spotless comment and they are honestly friendly and love welcoming or speaking with our guests.
Do not know who the front desk person was you dealt with but do not understand the rolling eyes comment. Liked that she was happy and friendly.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your buffet. I hope you mentioned to this to one of our team members as we really want your entire experience to be perfect.
We do not offer eggs from a bag. We prepare them from fresh eggs and the only pre made package items would be the cereal and yogurt. Our chef makes the muffins and banana bread herself.
Thanks again for your comments and when you return please ask to speak with me.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Our second stay here and happy again. They stepped up food level which lacked a bit something on our last stay 2 years ago. Previously it was cafeteria buffet; now at least decent conference fare.

Quiet location save for occasional train passage across the valley.



Rooms were comfortable if not opulent. Service was good and friendly. We'll aim to be back again for same convention .

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Pepeflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
So happy to hear you were happy with your stay with us for the 2nd time. We loved having you and the Rod Builders. I understand they will be returning so hope to see you again in the future.

As far as the food is concerned we have a great Chef and as you are probably aware we prepare and serve what the organization orders. If you have a suggested improvement please tell them for next time

If you request a room on the mountain/golf course side it is dead silent.

Thanks David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My girlfriends and I have just completed visit to the South Thompson Inn. It is the 6th year in a row that we have been coming to the Inn and each time, we experience amazing service and care.
The ambiance is quiet, relaxing and very enjoyable. The food in the restaurant has a wide range of meals available which meets each of our palates. The rooms are clean and very comfortable, with views out along the river... watching the birds and wildlife that live there.

We have already booked our rooms for April 2015....looking forward our return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WesternCanadianGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
WOW how great is this. You can stay anywhere you want and you choose us. We appreciate your loyalty. I hope we never let you down. If we ever do I would sure appreciate a call. We love having you & your girlfriends stay with us and it makes us very happy that you all keep choosing us for your time away together. Thank you so much for your review and look forward to seeing you next year!
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

On our way by car from Vancouver to Calgary, this was an ideal hotel to stay overnight. In May, the beautiful garden is a great place to relax with many different trees blossoming in a variety of colours. The room is very comfortable with a great view on the river. Dinner was good and the service was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. So happy to hear you enjoyed a relaxing time and appreciated our blossoming trees. It is a beautiful time of year! Even gets better when all the fresh fruit is on the trees. Please return and thank you for the great comments.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

From the airport this us a 75.00 Cab ride. Beautiful location on the river but way too far out of kamloops. They need to get a shuttle service. Food service is limited and no options are close. The Inn is fashioned after a southern us horse farm and is lovely

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A May M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Thank you for the positive location on the river comment but sorry you found us too far out from town. Most conferences choose us for just this reason, the privacy and service. A bit surprised about the taxi fair, seems a bit much.
We have a great menu and pretty varied. Sorry not what you wanted. If you return please ask and our chef will be happy to make something special for you.
We did have a shuttle for a while but was not efficient for either us or our guests.
Happy you enjoyed the property.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Hotel 540
#9 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Thompson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Property: South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
Thompson Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing