We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing Country Inn Setting Michael & Francie”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing Country Inn Setting Michael & Francie”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband & I stopped for 2 nights on our way to Vancouver. (09/17-09/19). We were delighted to find such a charming place with beautiful views. Our room was newly renovated with a fireplace, jacuzzi & a mountain view.
My wife has a severe gluten allergy & it was comforting to know that the dining & kitchen staff were able to accommodate this.
All the staff was quite attentive and it was nice to see the "hands-on" owner, David around.
I would not hesitate in recommending this resort to anyone!
Thank you!

Room Tip: Our king room facing the mountains was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Well thank you very much Michael & Francie for your very lovely comments about your stay with us. We appreciate your words very much! We love hearing that you would not hesitate to recommend us, it makes our team very so very happy to see the care for our guest is noticed Hope to see you back for a visit. Thank you again!

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    189
    53
    18
    11
See reviews for
141
282
17
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
421 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The rooms are large and roomy with comfortable beds and a great shower with lots of hot water and good water pressure which was very welcome after a long game of golf on a cool day.
We had dinner in the restaurant and ended up quite disappointed. The food is not cheap which is fine if you get value for your money. However, I ordered Pork Baby Back ribs and although the sauce had some nice taste the meat was not hot enough and in fact was cold before I could finish my meal (and I'm known as a fast eater!!).
Then I tried the 5 layer chocolate cake for desert and although it was very rich and tasty, it seemed as though it had been sliced earlier and maybe refrigerated for a while as the sides of the cake were quite dry.
We were here with a large party for dinner and a couple of my buds were also quite disappointed with their meals (in fact 2 guys actually sent them back).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your experience staying with us, we really appreciate it. So sorry that you did not enjoy your meal, I sure hope you mentioned this to your server so they could have dealt with this for you. We welcome you back anytime and would love to offer you a much better dining experience. We get very few food complaints and it really bothers us when we do. Food service is a tough business. You can do a great job most times and then for whatever reason we let someone down as we did with you. Brenda, our chef, will not enjoy these comments and I am sure she will see if we can improve. Thanks again for all your comments and hope you do return.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nominingue, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed there one night on our way to the Rockies from Vancouver. Beautiful room, great pool, excellent meal (rack of lamb and vegetarian meal for my wife). Personnalized service from the Patriquin family and the owner himself (he gave me a bottle of BC wine he wanted me to try !)
Very pleasant surroundings, with lamas, horses AND EVEN A BLACK BEAR !!! Great place, warmly recommend. Would be great for a company meeting or a seminar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zibo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for the great comments and recommendations for others to enjoy STIGR. I enjoyed our conversation and appreciated your knowledge of wines.
We have great BC wines and wanted you to experience one of them . We enjoyed having you stay with us!
I do want everyone to know our agreement that the bottle of wine would not impact your Tripadviser comments We NEVER influence responses other than by striving to offer great service.
Thanks, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Our company had a beautiful weekend at this resort. The Thompson Inn & Conference Center was clean and a quiet relaxing place, beautiful views of the mountians and is beside the river. Our room was over looking the golf course.
Had a wonderful BBQ Dinner and sat by the firepit for the evening!
Lots of things to do.. golf, walking trails, pool, gym and nice lounge and restaurant.
I would highly recommend this resort for a couple's getaway or business.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrishMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. We so appreciate our guests writing into Tripadvisor to share their experience. We are the South Thompson Inn and Conference Centre. There is another property called the Thompson Hotel. They are a downtown hotel, not on the river.
We do have the river, the mountain, the fire-pit, walking trail and all the other stuff as well as overlook Rivershore golf course. So thank you again and please say hello when you return.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked our September 14th wedding here over a year ago and we knew from the moment we drove down the lane into this beautiful property, that this is where we wanted the rest of our lives to begin. When I saw the ranch, it was a nostalgic moment growing up with a grandfather who raised and raced horses, seeing the beautiful animals when first driving in, I knew this place is perfect. No matter how many times you're told it's a one of a kind space, until you drive in and see it first hand, you have no idea.
We were looking for an established venue that could not only host an outdoor September wedding (with an indoor plan b back up ceremony site) and reception space, but that also had beautiful scenery for our wedding portraits and of course a unique venue that offered everything we wanted in a reception space with a hotel that our guests could spend the night and not have to worry about getting home after a full day of celebrations! We wanted our guests to feel like they were away from the city without having to travel a long way to get the out of town feeling. We were looking for an all inclusive but local kind of a venue for our guests. The grounds are beautifully maintained and lush but still has a ranch rustic feel. The south thompson river is a stunning back drop for the perfect wedding day!

The two most important factors for us when planning a wedding were venue and food. The staff at the Inn delivered for us, time and time again!!

We worked for over a year with the amazing events staff, Julie and Anke. They were so great to deal with and we were super picky. Shane and I, along with our family, wanted our wedding to be the very best our guests had seen in a while and it was wonderful dealing with an events staff with patience and the desire to deliver!!
We worked closely with chef Brenda and asked her to create food she enjoys making. What she came up with was anything but your standard buffet. We are still hearing daily how amazing the appys and dinner was. I highly recommend a tasting prior to settling on your menu. Yes, you will need to pay for it (obviously) but its well worth tasting what you will be serving your guests. Shane and I feel very strongly that food is not something you should skimp on when planning a wedding. When working with the South Thompson Inn, I can guarantee, there is no skimping. I'm not sure Chef Brenda realizes the extent of her creative abilities and how absolutely amazing she is!!
The Inn has a charm that is unmatched, the rooms are beautiful and super clean. But one of our favorite parts of our weekend, wedding aside, was the manor house!!! WOW!!!! That space is incredible!!!! I can't recommend taking advantage of everything the manor house has to offer, more!! We absolutely loved the manor house!! My husband his Dad and his 6 groomsmen enjoyed the night before our wedding there and then our entire families spent the night of our wedding there, while Shane and I enjoyed the bridal suite. The Manor House is a great spot that we can't wait to get back and enjoy :))
The staff....everyone we worked with in planning, the staff the night of our reception and the staff the day after our wedding...thank you for being as exceptional as you are!!!
Anke...thank you for being so good to us. Never treating us like a number, but as friends. Thank you for helping us create the kind of day we thought only happened in movies.
Julie...you my dear are adorable! Thank you so much for all your help throughout our planning. Thank you for that smile of yours and also for bringing those appys to Shane, our bridal party and us. You have no idea how much we needed that ;)
Brenda, you are incredible!!!! You impressed us (and our guests) beyond any words I could possibly write. Everything was delicious, you surpassed every expectation we had!!
David...you have an incredible staff and your Inn is the perfect place for a wedding. Thank you for taking the time to call me personally a few weeks before our wedding and thank you so much for your kind words the day before the wedding :)
Thank you all so much...I could write for days about how perfectly charming The South Thompson Inn is :))
Sincerely and from the bottom of our hearts we love you all,
Julie and Shane Dawood

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieDawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
WOW nothing else to say!

Well this is fantastic and is better than anything I could say about us. Thank you
BUT we cannot do what you have written without you guys being so great to deal with. You knew what you wanted, let us know what you wanted and allowed us to deliver it as best we could.
We have had other events where we offer the same level of service and get complaints.
You have no idea how much our team appreciate what you said about us. We read your Tripadviser comments at our weekly management meeting and everyone was ecstatic, Brenda high fiving with Anke and Julie hugging each other.
So Thank You, Thank You
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Super friendly staff.

We stayed for 1 night on route from Jasper to Vancouver and this hotel was perfect.

Our son loved the heated swimming pool.

Dinner was very tasty.

Wifi was fast and complimentary.

Views from the rooms are great - either the river or the mountains.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank dcorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Doesn’t get better than perfect.

Thank you for stopping to stay with us on your drive from Jasper to Vancouver. So happy you enjoyed your experience with us.
Super friendly staff says it all. This kind of feedback helps everyone understand why we are here.
I would also like to thank you for sharing it onTripadvisor.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We found the staff extremely helpful and friendly. They went very far out of their way to provide a good experience for our tour of 50, even when the bus broke down and we arrived 5 hours late for dinner. Also, we ended up scheduling an extra night there when we learned of all of the possible activities in the area. We would definitely return to this hotel whenever we can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 846Anitabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
What a great group!

When we heard you were stranded in Banff with a broken bus we wanted to do all we could to help as best we could. After an unexpected extra 5 hours of traveling we wanted to make sure you were comfortable. When I told our team you would arrive around 11 PM and asked them to wait for you there was not one complaint . Everyone was happy to help.
What we found when you arrived was a great happy group who enjoyed themselves without a complaint about the difficult day.
We welcome you back anytime.
Thank you!
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Hotel 540
#9 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Thompson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Property: South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
Thompson Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing