We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This was our first visit the the Inn and it will definately NOT be our last. We arrived late for a much needed getaway and although we only had two days, the friendly staff and relaxing atmosphere made it seem like a week. It was like they opened up just for us. Our room was so romantic with a fireplace and a jacuzzi tub. The deck overlooked the river but you have the choice of that or mountains. We took full advantage of the inviting lobby while we drank coffee and leisurely read the newspapers the next morning. The restaurant food was stellar (I reccommend the seafood matelote). We will definately be back. Thank you for such a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: I would as for a room upstairs next time. The floors are hardwood (no carpet) so could be noisy if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seralyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

What a great review, thank you for taking your time to write about your stay with us. For The Inn to work as well as you said it also takes great guests. We sure look forward to you returning to stay with us in the future. Thanks again!

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (793)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 793 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2013

We have stayed at STIGR twice now on our way home from the west coast. It is a nice change from the hotels right along the highway because you don't have the traffic noise keeping you awake. It's a bit out of the way if you are going on to Edmonton as it is about 15 minutes east of Kamploops - but it's well worth the detour. The service is beyond compare and the food in the restaurant is excellent - not cheap but really good. We travel with dogs and there is lots of space to walk the dogs.

Room Tip: I don't thnk there is a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

We really care about our guest service and appreciate you noticing and commenting on Tripadvisor. Brenda our Executive Chef will love the “food is excellent” comment.

Thanks David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Quiet and very relaxing - my room had a beautiful river view. A nice change from Kamloops commercial areas. I would consider returning again and paying the price premium. Dinner menu and staff service met expectations.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

We love hearing that you felt you had a very relaxing time with us. That is what everyone needs once in a while and happy you felt that way staying with us. We really want our guests to feel the quiet and relaxation that STIGR has to offer. Hope to see you again!
Thanks David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

It was the perfect setting for our daughters wedding, and even the weather cooperated. PTL. Anke is the event coordinator and she is fabulous. Right from our first meeting we knew we had made the right choice and she was extremely easy to work with. Christina was the food coordinator and she worked so hard to have everything right. The service and staff were amazing as is the setting of this charming boutique inn. It's cozy and very comfortable, and they go out of their way to make it a wonderful time. I can't say enough about how fabulous our weekend was, other than if you're planning a wedding, seriously look at the South Thompson Inn and conference center, you won't be dissappointed!!!

Room Tip: The first floor has an all inclusive deck that you share and an amazing view of the river. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

You have made our team feel so great! Now Anke and Kristina are going to have swelled heads. We feel so honored to be chosen as the host of a very important day in your Daughter & Son-in-laws life as well as both your families lives. Thank you so much for choosing STIGR, we loved having you here. We wish your Daughter and her new Husband a wonderful & long life together. Thank you for recommending us to others.
We do everything we can to make our guests experience great and when we get comments like yours it makes it all worthwhile.
Thanks David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our first time at the South Thompson Inn and it was amazing. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The rooms are all different and unique. It isn't like most hotels where every thing is exactly the same. It's unique, beautiful, and comfortable. I was honestly sad to be leaving and absolutely plan on going back. The rooms on one side look out onto the river which was also really nice. There was the equestrian center and a nature walk, although it was to spring like to really go on the nature walk I still went on a little adventure and the grounds are stunning. Horses, the white fences with the mountains in the background and the horses and lama's. I honestly loved this place. They have so many different options to help accommodate you and are so incredibly helpful. If you want something different than the usual, go here. You will love it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maig22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Wow, thank you so much for your review! Our team loves to hear about your experience with us. We appreciate you taking your time to share your thoughts about your stay with us and look forward to you coming back!
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This is our second winter attending the South Thompson Inn. We really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and it was very relaxing for all 4 of us. The staff were very accommodating and helpful and there was one staff person doing the check in and waiting the tables in their restaurant (probably because of the winter season) and they did a great job! Our room had a beautiful view of the water and it was nice and quiet. We will definitely be back agin.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2013

You are correct during the slow winter we try and have our team do double duty. Glad you noticed and happier still it did not affect your service We Love hearing that we did a great job and that you have been here twice and will definietely be back. Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing such a lovely review on Tripadvisor. See you again!
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This was our first time at the South Thompson Inn and Convention Centre for our staff party and we had an amazing time. The food was delicious, party room was beautiful, music was great, our overnight accommodations were awesome (beautiful rooms) and the setting was magical. We will definitely be back. Many of the staff have said it was the best Christmas party ever!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful and charming; however, the corner King suites are really spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cindiham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

How great is this. I loved reading your review about your stay with us. Hearing that it was the best Christmas party ever makes us feel extremely happy. Our team will love it. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thank you for taking time to write about your experience on TripAdvisor.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#5 of 54 in Kamloops
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Thompson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: $76 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
Thompson Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing