We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend to remember!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A weekend to remember!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have just returned from an amazing weekend at the Manor House. The house was spacious and accommodated 14 women with ease. The rooms were clean and the bed was comfortable. The kitchen was adequate and very well stocked with glasses and cooking supplies. The highlight was an evening with Chef Mitchell at the house where he organized and taught us ladies how to cook four different appetizers. It was an evening to remember forever. The food was amazing and the Chef was a hit with us all. I not only reccomend staying at the manor but I would insist that you look into a cooking session with Chef Mitchell.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
We are so very happy that you & your girlfriends had such a lovely experience staying with us. I may pass on your comments to Chef Mitch He can already be a pain when he gets comments like yours and as you can imagine he never gets tired of hearing such great words. You ladies were great as well and I appreciate how caring you were and how nice you left the house. Thank you for taking your time to write about your stay with us on Tripadvisor, we certainly appreciate it!
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    202
    55
    20
    12
See reviews for
148
308
18
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bremerton, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great place to stay. Would reccomend this place to anyone. Nice staff. Clean room. Very quiet. Just perfect. If you're looking for an out of the way place to relax this is exactly what you're looking for.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank i_am_crabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We love hearing the words "just perfect," this is what we strive for. Thank you for your review and thank you for recommending us.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Recently we had the pleasure to spend a night at the South Thompson Inn. We started our evening at Madison's restaurant. The food and service was excellent. Chef Shafer did not disappoint us! We recommend that you try one of his decadent and delicious desserts. The whole dining experience was incredible. After dinner we retired to our very clean and comfortable room. There we enjoyed a night cap on the deck with an absolutely stunning view of the South Thompson River. In the morning we had a refreshing swim in the pool and hot tub. We found our stay to be one of the best and relaxing hotel stays we have ever had. The staff were friendly and accommodating. We would recommend the South Thompson Inn to anyone that needs a romantic getaway!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
We are so very happy you enjoyed your romantic getaway at STIGR. Our Chef will love this comment. He thrives on compliments and antagonizes over negative comments. Crystal our Executive housekeeper works extremely hard to accomplish what you noticed. We take no credit for the great view of the river . Thank you for staying with us and for your outstanding review of your experience with us, we thrive on this.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the South Thompson Inn to celebrate our 30th anniversary. It was a lovely spot to just spend time together in a relaxed rural settling away from the noise and hustle of of our city lives. We enjoyed the many places to walk that are available both on the property and adjacent to it; the lush lawns sloping down to the steady quiet river, the well cared for horses in the green pastures, and the stark brown hills across the road. All very tranquil.

The hotel itself is older but very well maintained, with a "yes, this is a lovely change" kind of feeling. Our room was a pleasant mix of masculine and feminine decor that was comfortable and relaxing for both my husband and myself. Our view looking out on the dry brown hills set against the crisp blue sky and the lush green lawns was invigorating.

The service was excellent, the staff friendly and polite, the only slight disappointment was the restaurant. The settling was lovely, the food was good, (not great and my husband's dish was rather bland,) but there was a lack of "pampering", no sense of nudging the appetite, that would have made the experience complete. (By the way, the morning coffee was excellent, and lasted long enough to have that unhurried holiday feel.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Congratulations on 30 years of marriage!! What a great accomplishment. Thank you for your kind words about your experience staying with us. The Inn was built in 1993 and we are constantly maintaining and improving to keep fresh. We have to apologize for your husband not enjoying his meal, I sure hope he mentioned his concerns to the server. It was never brought to my attention so cannot comment other than to say we would have been happy to offer him another selection if the one he ordered was not to his liking.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future and ask for me and I will see what I can do to improve the dining experience.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We had the pleasure to have our wedding and honeymoon at the South Thompson Inn. The grounds are beautiful. Postcard scenery from our honeymoonsuite and dining areas. The pool and hottub are an added bonus to keep cool. The entire property are exceptionally taken care of with much pride. The staff helped us from day one, a year ago planning for our big day and made it almost effortless for us to have an amazing expeience. A lot of our family and friends stayed at the Inn as well and loved being able to share our day with us, but also have a vacationa at the same time. Everyone raved about the Inn, it's ameneties and the food. The food for the reception was AMAZING! We are ready to go back for our 1 year anniversary now! You will not find more helpful and caring staff anywhere. If your thiking of a wedding, anniversary, reunion or just a night to yourselves go here! You won't be dissappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
WOW how great is this. Thank you for your wonderful comments. This is exactly why we exist. Our team will love your TripAdviser comments and thank you for taking the time to write them. This can be a tough business and to have someone still like us after dealing with us for a year is fantastic. Of course relationships work both ways, you were great to deal with as well. Thank You.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed at the South Thompson Inn for two nights - they are clearly very aware of the power of Tripadvisor, and encourage their guests to submit reviews, so here goes!

The Inn is about 20 minutes drive from Kamloops; we preferred the quieter Shuswap road on the same side of the river as the hotel. There are paddocks at the front, and the river is immediately behind the hotel - the location is beautiful. Rooms are individually named and decorated (there were some rather bizzare choices of names - very entertaining). We were on the first floor overlooking the river, which was ideal. It should be noted that there are no lifts, so those with reduced mobility should ask for a ground floor room.

The room had a very comfortable bed and was tastefully furnished. It had a balcony shared with the adjacent room. There was also a connecting door which was lockable from either or both sides. It would have been nice to have a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities - one would expect this of an hotel of this size and standard.The bathroom was very well equipped. We did notice that the sound insulation was not very good - we could, at one point, hear three different television programmes! The air conditioning was quiet and efficient. The room was light and bright, and had a really lovely view over the South Thompson river.

The breakfast arrangement was slightly strange. We were given a card to fill in to say what we wanted and whether we wanted it in our room (for $2 extra per person) or in the lounge. For people who had breakfast in the lounge it seemed to make no difference what was written, so the system could be dispensed with in this case. The hotel seemed understaffed again, (see separate review of Madisens restaurant) especially as the poor waitress had to carry a lot of breakfast trays up two flights of stairs. Breakfast comprised cereal (a choice of three cereals including a rather stale granola), a bowl of fresh fruit, a bowl of yoghurt, a slice of cake and tea or coffee (self service).

Room Tip: First floor rooms are accessible only by stairs. Ask for a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Family152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
First let me thank you for the 5 star comment and taking your time to write such an extensive review of your stay with us. As you know we do not charge 5 star prices We love hearing all your positive comments and I appreciate your advice to future guests to request a first floor room if they have reduced mobility. As far as sound proofing this is a comment we never get so possibly the neighbors had the TV on high volumes or the patio doors were open. Don’t know but will pay attention to this to see if it is an issue.
We do have fridges available and we have never had coffee machines In our rooms but do have great Lavazza complimentary coffee available in our lounge. See our web site why no coffee in rooms. I do not understand the understaffed comment and someone has to deliver room service so who better than our breakfast server and only one flight of stairs. Our chef will not like the stale granola comment as he makes the granola fresh himself as is the fresh banana bread.
Thanks again and hope to see you return.
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at South Thompson Inn in July with our Golden Retriever. We loved the location. We could park the car after a long day of driving, walk around the beautiful grounds with our dog, and completely relax. The staff were very warm and welcoming. The rooms were lovely, attractive, and comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on our patio overlooking the river. We were happy to be able to enjoy a drink in the bar before dinner, and have a restaurant within the complex so that we did not have to get back in the car. We were told that it was some of the best dining around. This is where my only complaint comes from. We went in with high expectations. When you are in the middle of British Columbia in July you would expect the fresh items on the menu to be endless. I ordered the New York strip steak which was to come with fresh vegetables. I was expecting an assortment, perhaps green beans, baby potatoes. No, instead I was served corn kernels, which I am pretty sure were frozen and simple boring matchstick carrots served with a compressed square of scallop potatoes! Ugh. What a disappointment. Where were the seasonal fresh vegetables described on the menu? It struck me that the chef, and perhaps the kitchen staff, were taking the lazy, easy way out by choosing items that could be made ahead and reheated. It was the only disappointing thing that stays with us about our stay at The STI. I would stay there again, but would think twice about dining there unless some changes are made.

Room Tip: We were thrilled that the STI is dog friendly. It meant a lot to us that we could walk the dog on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherryblossom248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
First let me give you are chef’s response to the vegetables

Hello, and thank you for your comments.
So very sorry you were not satisfied with the vegetable component of your dinner.
Just to explain a few things, we ALWAYS use fresh vegetables in our dining room.
The corn you received was hand cut from fresh corn on the cob in our kitchen.
We actually go to great lengths to always provide seasonal, local and if possible organic produce.
The carrots were chosen that evening because of the color contrast with the corn, we try to make our plates as visually appealing as possible.
Yes, the carrots were simply sautéed with a little clarified butter and salt and pepper, sometimes simple is better, this way our guests are able to taste the fresh vegetables.
About the scalloped potatoes, we have a daily starch and on that evening it was Dauphinoise potato, similar to scalloped but a much more classical preparation.
And thank you by the way for the comment “compressed” since that’s exactly what that dish is supposed to look like.
Scalloped potato would use a roux (fat & flour) to thicken the sauce with milk, Dauphinoise uses a liaison (cream & egg yolks) so again, we spend a little more but we like to ensure our guests get the best possible.
Scalloped may or may not contain cheese, but Dauphinoise always contains imported Gruyere cheese.
So as you see we hardly “take the easy way out” if fact quite the opposite.
Thanks again for your comments.

OK that was Chef Mitch our Red Seal Chef’s comment’s

Now mine

Thank you so much for your very positive comments about your stay with us. I am happy you were able to relax and happy to have had your Golden stay with us. We hope our chef was able to explain the vegetables. One time I asked him why he bought corn on the cob and then cut off the corn rather than just buy corn kernels. His comment was “It does cost more but it gives our guests a better fresh product".
Thank you for mentioning that you would stay with us again, we appreciate that. Hopefully you will dine with us again and maybe try something different and ask to see if we can make something special just for you.

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kamloops
948 reviews
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Thompson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Property: South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
Thompson Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing