We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful venue for group meetings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
“Wonderful venue for group meetings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Thompson Rivers University was hosting 30 institutional partners from around the world and we chose South Thompson Inn both for our catering needs, as well for sleeping accommodation. Truly, the service and attention to detail was outstanding!!! The staff (every last one of them!) were amazing, and our guests were thoroughly impressed. The hotel was also flexible... late one night, some guests wanted to dance and party, and needed speakers and a room (spontaneously, the hotel found what they needed and a place for them to enjoy themselves) while others enjoyed a late night campfire the hotel provided... it was amazing to see people from all around the world gathered around the fire in the peace and tranquility of the resort. The setting is stunning, the food was wonderful, the rooms are lovely.... but the people are what really make this resort so amazing! I would host another group there in a heart beat and relax that they will accommodate every request.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanTRU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
What a wonderful comment you have taken the time to write. Thank you so much for choosing us to host your very important event, and of course welcome you back at anytime. I will make sure I pass on your thoughts to our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    187
    53
    18
    11
See reviews for
140
278
17
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

Setting was beautiful, rooms and service were great, as was the restaurant. Away from the hustle and bustle without being too far from the city. Would stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Redmond01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Wow all the way from New Zealand! Thank You, our team thrives on these wonderful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2011

My girlfriend and I were totally burnt out from the long drive to home to Vancouver from Golden. We saw the hotel from the highway and decided to stop in. The staff were fantastic, they helped us get a beautiful room, with an amazing view of the river, and a jacuzzi tub!

We poured a drink and sat outside on the wicker chairs. It was a lovely evening, and an amazing place to sit and relax.

It was the perfect break for our long and tiring day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanandTarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
So glad you stayed with us and had such a relaxing time. We really appreciate you taking your time to let us know how you felt, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

We were traveling with eleven couples are driving Porsche's or Corvettes. We thought this would be a safe place to park and spend the evening, because it is a half hour outside of town. We were so far out of town, it was as if someone in the surrounding area knew that the cars were parked there, and that there was no security. Because of this serious disregard for security, the front gate was left unlocked and even when the alarms went off at 4:OO AM, no one check the parking lot. So two vehicles were broken into, by smashing the passenger side windows. They stole a nice leather jacket! The next morning the owner David Patriguin, although he seemed apologetic, did nothing. He simply stated that he was not responsible for our vehicles.
I own a Inn in Washington and the first thing I thought of is "What would I do?" if this happened in my parking lot? I would at the very least give a "Gift Certificate" to the couples whose cars were damaged to come back and spend a night on me. They had to drive to Washington with no passenger windows in the pouring rain. Although the food a service was fine, we and anyone I know, will not be back!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cindytracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Conner, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

We were greeted at the door with a Banner welcoming our group of 11 couples with the anticipation of a great stay. It started out that way although by the time we checked out we knew we would not come back. During the night two of our friends cars were broken into. While they were waiting for the Police to show up and take a report, the owner David came over and kept saying, "I feel so bad, this has never happened before. I think we will now start locking our gate. I would love to do something to help, I feel so bad". One of owners of the cars went over to him and very nicely asked, If you feel so bad perhaps you can comp our rooms. David immediately backed off and stated "It was Not our Fault, we did not do it". He left faster then a speeding bullet, not to be seen again. 11 couples spent a lot of money on rooms, dinner and drinks. A good business person would have DONE something to compensate the two owners of the cars. It would have gone a long way. Be WARNED - PARK AT YOUR OWN RISK!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen-Edwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
This is the third negative comment from the same group basically saying the same things. This one is also a tough one because for the most part, as it stands, it’s true. TripAdvisor is sometimes great and sometimes not so great when they allow comments like these that are taken out of context. Thankfully they allow us to comment as well
We did welcome this group from Seattle and had a custom banner made to welcome them.
I did go over to where they were cleaning their cars to offer my condolences and said what was reported except I did not say “It’s not our fault” I said “We did not cause this”. This was in response to one of the ladies in the group asking me to comp their rooms.
Normally I would have happily offered them a couple free nights but after my conversation with one of the car owners I decided to not do so.
The car owner told me as well as my property manager and the police the same story.
He said “ The last driver in there group to drive here from Kamloops got lost and made several trips down the road to our property and kept turning around as he thought he was lost. So every time he drove past a yard with a lot of old cars and junk in it the 2 men sitting on the porch would wave their arms in the direction of the Inn." The last time back towards town he said he stopped and asked” if they knew of an inn” and they said no. The driver asked what they were waving at or pointing at and was told that a bunch of porches and corvettes went that way. The gentleman with the broken window then said that that is where his suspicions lie and it was his story and sticking to it”.
It was at this point I left the conversation.
They did spend a lot of money on rooms, dinner and drinks and it was appreciated.

Please read other than these comments about us as you will see we care and offer exceptional service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Conner, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We brought a car rally group of 11 cars on a four day tour of Britsh Columbia and looked forward to placesce that could accomodate our vehiciles and 11 couples. Each location was chosen with the expectation of security for our cars which included Porches and Corvettes of considerable value. Two vehicles were broken into at South Thompson due to lack of attention to security. The gate was not locked and the night watchman was apparently not close by. The manager's response to the incident was "It's not our fault!" and refused any compensation. Although the accomodations were OK, we will not be back and suggest you do not bring a nice car to their facility.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzie58545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Owner at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
This is the second of three comments so far from the same group. We do not lock the gate as our guests need free access to and from our property.
The response was not “It’s not our fault”. The comment was “we did not cause this”. As for not bringing nice cars to the Inn. We have never had an issue like this in over 15 years. We are a very safe property. More response on the comment above.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Islands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Beautiful rural setting next to a golf course and on the river, Rooms facing river share long deck, but there are only black out curtains, so if you want daylight anyone on your floor can look into your room. Cigarette smoke from next room came into our room from a smoker on the deck. Our party of 11 couples traveling in Corvettes and Porches had a very good buffet dinner in a "private" dining room. It was great until a very drunk man from a small wedding party joined us. He left with help from the wedding party, but kept returning. When he helped himself to our $130 bottle of wine we told him to leave and he finally did, with the parting comment "I'll get even with you". It's probably a coincidence, but the next morning two Porsches in our group had the driver's windows knocked out. This happened at 4 AM according to the night person who heard the car alarms. The hotel's management's response to this vandalism was mainly to explain they had no liability. They did provide a shop vac to remove bits of glass form the interior or the cars.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac-LindaMcGillicuty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STIGR, Manager at South Thompson Inn & Conference Center, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
We appreciate the car group of 22 from Seattle staying with us and it is extremely unfortunate two of theirs cars got damaged. The story on the “drunk” differs from our servers. We do agree there was a drunk person from a wedding in another area of the Inn. When we offered to have the person removed we were told by one of the group in the private dining room “we’ll bring him back later, he’s fine here. We need some entertainment”. Our server offered guests at the other tables a drink on the house for the inconvenience and they declined.
The wedding guest eventually left and went back into the wedding room. Later in the evening around 9:00pm we found the wedding guest back in with the car group, all were laughing. The ladies in the group asked their husbands to buy more wine; the wedding guest offered to buy wine for the group instead and proceeded to the bar to do so. When our servers returned to the private dining room the door was barricaded and our people could not enter.
The car group later came upstairs to the main bar and proceeded to have an enjoyable evening with us. There was no issue until the next morning when it was discovered two of their cars were damaged.
The comment that the wedding person said “I’ll get even with you” leaves the impression he was responsible for the car damage. Not what they reported to the police
We focus on guest service and we did everything we could to make sure this group enjoyed their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Thompson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Property: South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd East, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
Thompson Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing