We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Retreat Centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2011

I recently organised a Retreat for Reiki practitioners, everyone loved the hotel, the staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was the best ever, the rooms were very clean and respectful of the environment. The meals were fantastic, all staff from the cleaning ladies, front desk and dining room were very helpful, we had a few people who werevegan and they were happy with the food they received,A special thank you to Mike, Gerda and Anke, you all made this happen for us! all in all the whole weekend was great I highly recommend this hotel for retreats, it is very peaceful and the scenery is great. Thanks again,Elaine hopkins.

Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank elabria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

698 - 704 of 799 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2011

We spent a week at this INN in August 2010 and we have to say we love it there ..it is so peaceful and the food is fantastic ... the service there and the hospitality is excellent .. our room looked out over the river and its so peaceful and serene and to watch the eagles and the king fishers feeding is so amazing ... we totally enjoyed the out door pool and the deck out side to eat and have a few drinks .... we would recommend this place and we do recommend this place to any one that will listen ... we are also planning a 2 week stay there again this August ...we love it that much

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skippette42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

This is the second time I've stayed, this time for business. Staff were excellent. The event went off without incident. Accomodations and food were above average.

One note is that there isn't an in-room coffee maker, which for early risers might be an issue. However, coffee and tea are served in the lobby beginning at 5:00 a.m., should you wish to pad down in your jammies.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyVisitor154925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

We overnighted in Kamloops on a Rocky Moutaineer train journey. We expected this to just be a place to rest our heads, but it was so much more. We were at the South Thompson Inn which prides itself on Kentucky Style hospitality. It is set on a ranch, with a wide array of resident animals, a large lake, a fire pit, buggy rides and many equine activities. Our room was extremely charming and we only wished we had more time to see the town and enjoy the hotel offerings. Dawn had barely broke when we were picked up for our second day on the train.

Thank you for being so welcoming for our one night stay. I am glad I had the chance to enjoy your hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobynPringTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

We arrived at the Inn after a rather challenging day of driving with our family pet. We all received a kind welcome, and were shown to our spacious and comfortable room. Our dinner that evening was outstanding - the onion soup and lamb are highly recommended as is the bread pudding. The menu and food preparation alone were worth the drive. The Inn is surrounded by spacious grounds, and even in snowy winter weather the walks were beautiful. A glimpse of the pool by the river and the gazebo in the park area gave a sense of what a stay in the summer would be like. As with all Inns, the hospitality makes the stay and all staff were excellent.. The beds are extremely comfortable and we had a very good nights sleep. The only suggestion would be some clearer information regarding the Exit number from the Highway, along with driving directions that give a clearer indication of distance. If that information was on the "net" I missed it. This is definitely a country inn is and is situated with a beauriful view, right along the river.. If you are looking for a lovely, calm retreat with wonderful food and hospitality, then this is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

The New Years Eve meal was very tasty, but we felt rushed with the eating time available.
Room was comfortable with view of the river. Had a nice long walk along the golf course.
Staff are excellent, very accommodating and helpful.
Nice meeting you David : Happy New Year to you and yours.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pussycat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Our stay and dinner were fabulous. Everyone at the Inn were so welcoming and friendly. All of our family and friends just raved about the dinner and accommodation. Our compliments to your chef for a wonderful meal.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KamloopsRoseKamloops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#5 of 54 in Kamloops
1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Thompson Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Thompson Inn & Conference Center

Address: 3438 Shuswap Rd, Kamloops, British Columbia V2H 1T2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: $76 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Thompson Inn & Conference Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Unique Boutique" Inn is situated on 55 beautifully landscaped acres right on the South Thompson River. Guest accommodations are all individually decorated and feature balconies overlooking the spectacular mountain or river views, luxurious bathrobes, soaker or jetted bathtubs & complimentary wireless internet service. Adjacent to Rivershore Golf Links."Kentucky style" Inn with Western Hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your South Thompson Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Thompson Conference Center
South Thompson Inn - Guest Ranch
South Thompson Inn And Conference Center
South Thompson Hotel Kamloops
Thompson Inn Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing