We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off season even better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sun Peaks Ski Area

Sun Peaks Ski Area
Ranked #2 of 66 things to do in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Whether you come for the diverse ski terrain or for the variety of summer activities, Sun Peaks is a haven for recreational fun in a three-mountain alpine area. Located in the Interior of British Columbia, Sun Peaks boasts Canada’s second largest ski area with 4,270 acres of terrain. With 6 meters of light, dry snow falling annually and over 2,000 hours of sun each year, guests enjoy spectacular winter conditions for downhill skiing, snowboarding and cross country skiing. Off the slopes, more winter adventure awaits with dog-sledding tours, snowmobile and snowshoe tours, horse-drawn carriage rides and more. Summer at Sun Peaks offers just as much recreational fun. Sun Peaks is home to BC’s highest elevation golf course. Guests can explore the alpine with lift-access hiking and world-class mountain biking trails, with opportunities for canoeing, kayaking, Segway tours and horseback riding. Sun Peaks’ vibrant European-style village is nestled at the base of Tod Mountain, Sundance and Mt. Morrisey. The village offers a wide selection of accommodations, restaurants and shopping boutiques.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Off season even better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I went to a WOW weekend in September and absolutely loved it! Great time spent with other women and lots of fun things to do. I will go again next year had sooo much fun!! Yoga, meeting Nancy Green, swimming, hiking and wine tasting, need I say more. Off season prices were quite reasonable. I have been there during ski season, but did not stay over. Ski runs are wonderful. Year round enjoyment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    94
    15
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sun Peaks is worth a look”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Have been a "local" fan for the past 18 years, have skied our home mountain every year and it keeps getting better! The snow is fantastic when its fresh and great even when its just groomed between snow falls. There are ample runs for every level of skier and lots of powder in not hard to get to places. For those really adventurous, you can test your skill through several tree runs as well. There is a well developed ski kids program and lots of amenities on the hill in terms of accommodations and restaurants. The mountain has lots of plans for expansion. Till then you have your choice of three different mountains to ski. If I could ask for anything more it would be more room in the Bentos lodge as at peak times it is very hard to find seating, and to the groomers, to leave us powder hounds 10 feet wide strips on the sides of the wider runs after a big snow so we can enjoy more powder than just the ungroomed runs that are set aside.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great mountain to ski”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We were there on Saturday for season opener and it was great. There was still patches of gravel coming through but the snow-making machines were going the whole time to fill in the hills. We enjoy coming here for a day of skiing and stopping in the Village to get something to eat. We were able to use our local mountain season pass to get a 25% discount on our lift passes, which is really nice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CrochetAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Peaks, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best trail layout I have ever seen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

On many mountains it is easy for a novice skier to get onto a black run without knowing it

Sun Peaks is one of the very few mountains that I have been to where it is difficult to accidentally get onto a run that is beyond your skiing ability.If you do, most of the Black runs that are accessible by a less than expert skier have a cat track about half way down that an inexperienced skier could "bail" onto.

This layout virtually eliminates the "ability conflict" between an expert skier and a novice. I am specifically thinking about Lower Franz on Whistler where you often find Green Level skiers sideslipping down the run because they have taken a miss-turn on the Pony run and cant get off

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank michaelfane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanata, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Congratulations Sunpeaks for Ranking 18th for North American Ski Resorts 2013 Conde Naste”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Glad to see that Sunpeaks is still in the top 20 as it is in the shadow zone between the Rockies-Banff Jasper and Whistler on the coast. We believe it should be higher based on our 16 visits since the 1990's. When we rave about SP people draw a blank and say where? Surprising because it is the second largest resort in BC with close to 128 runs and glades. We have returned over 15 times, last year for 35 days which I skied consecutively, this year for 40 if my body lasts as I am 70 and Diane is 67. The dry powder of the powder highway area in BC and the relative moderate temperatures of this area beats the bone chilling numbness of areas east of the Rockies and the 'eastern powder' (hard packed to ice) as well as the rain and the Cascade concrete of the coastal areas. In 15 years and over 200 days of skiing we have had only 2 days of mist and the snow conditions have generally been powder and packed powder. The grooming is great and the crowds and rates are low especially in January when we get out of Ontario to ski. We stay on the hill skiing down to the lifts in the am and back to Nancy Greene's Lodge for lunch and then.... We don't have a car, have a full kitchen and eat out sometimes with friends at one of the excellent restaurants in the Lodge and village. With beautiful scenery, no crowds, great weather, great grooming, friendly staff etc Sunpeaks is the best resort we have ever stayed at and as our friends have said: Why go anywhere else when we have powder heaven here. I would recommend it to anyone especially those with young children and seniors. Mike Purdy

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Peaks Ski Area also viewed

 
Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Sun Peaks Ski Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing