We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“straight BRUTAL”

Fiesta Mexicana Restaurant
Ranked #53 of 339 Restaurants in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This restaurant was named "Tangos" but is now "fiesta Mexicana" and there is no listing in Trip Advisor for it. Their website is not up, but they have been doing business for a while now and its a hot spot!
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“straight BRUTAL”
Reviewed December 13, 2013

got there at 6 tonight, waited for 3 street tacos and a quesadilla for AN HOUR AND TWENTY MINUTES, left and was expected for our over priced sub par drinks, how did this place get on TV?? i fear if we didnt walk out we'd wait till 9.. never going again, nor reccomending it. should hace paid attention to the bad (accurate) reviews!! ive worked at kamloops restauraunts with less fame and glory yet they had more professional staff, managers, and a better work space. a little tip about the restauraunt industry if you go into the bathroom and its dirty, the kitchen is more than likely the same.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIESTAMEX, Owner at Fiesta Mexicana Restaurant, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear Chris;
thank you for your comments. We do try to take everyone as a learning experience on how to do better and we are about to renovate and update the facilities, it is an old building, but we think that it adds to the authenticity, not detract.

i myself talked to you that night, a busy Friday night, to capacity, and our kitchen had just taken orders for 40-50 people (Christmas party season:). Your dishes were in order and i must say, once again, we are not a fast food restaurant. There are many in town so please come back and try us without any time constraints, trying to squeeze us in before a movie on the busiest Friday night since the summer is not like we purposely set out to ruin your night. i do not feel we deserve your harsh remarks but then this is the price to pay for being in the people business, we take the bad with the good.

Please come back and try again!
Cheers,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    65
    29
    26
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Logan Lake, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I am not sure what the bad reviews are about. I have eaten here dozens and dozens of times over the years since they first opened and will be having my second large event, with 25+ people, there soon.
I have never had a bad meal, nor have I ever needed to wait for my food to arrive.
The staff is friendly and the owner's frequently check in to ensure everything is up to standard. They have the best margaritas in town!
They have never disappointed and I am a bit of a snoot about my food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We came in, were seen by several staff, but were ignored. Bad start. The service was ok, but the food was very good. We liked the prices too. With a little attention to customer service, this restaurant can survive. May return, but we would have recommended this location with just attention to some basics.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank couloir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It's a little out of the way. A definite smell of Lysol on entering. Service not too swift and decor is nice for the first right or ten feet then it seems like it was too much trouble to cover over the last establishments paint scheme. The staff must like baseball though because I noticed a bat behind the bar. Food was okay and the portion was large. Can't say I'd recommend it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BubbaLui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FIESTAMEX, Owner at Fiesta Mexicana Restaurant, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
First, we thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We take great care in trying to learn from all critiques and indeed this is how we have achieved National TV exposure on the Food Network, from listening and improving as we go. However, we do not have a corporate HQ to support us, our competitors down the street each have million dollar renovation budgets and we paint ourselves on Sunday night at midnight. This business is not for thin skinned people or the faint of heart. That decor is supposed to look aged because in Mexico you will see the plaster cracking and peeling and showing the bricks under, so, again, art is truly in the eye of the beholder!!!
Muchas Gracias,
Rodd Cruikshank / Liz Lujan & Daughter Jacqueline
Proud Owners & Operators
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not impressed.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

1st impressions are important! Walking in we were assaulted with a very strong Lysol odor! Service was quick, The salsa was very good, however the dish was small and hard to dip into. The decor is quite sad, and we got the creeps when we looked up and the chandelier above our table was caked in dust! My husband moved so it wasn't hanging over his plate! I love Mexican food and was tempted to try the soup that said "You've never tasted anything like this before!" However the waiter said they didn't have it, he didn't know why it was on the menu because they never make it. No wonder it's the soup nobodies tasted! our mains were generous portions, but it was a lot of rice, which was bland and dry. The tortillas were steamed?? yukky! The chicken dish was a gooey mess with dry meat. We did not have the chef that represented the restaurant on the show "You've got to eat here" The prices would be acceptable if the food was better, but these dishes should have cost $9.00, NOT $16!! Very over priced, not authentic, dirty environment and below average food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cheryl w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fiesta Mexicana Restaurant also viewed

Kamloops, British Columbia
Kamloops, British Columbia
 
Kamloops, British Columbia
 

Been to Fiesta Mexicana Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing