We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“outright disgusting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kamloops Travelodge Mountview
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Doncaster England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“outright disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2007

From the web site this looked like a great place to stay over the weekend to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary during our tour of the west from the uk.
On checking in, the front office had a strong curry aroma and after receiving the key we went to our jaccuzi room on the top floor. Sorry but as soon as we opened the door the stains on the carpet hit us and it looked as if it hadn't been cleaned for years.
The top bed cover was also lacking in general cleanliness.
The jaccuzi taps came off in our hands when turning on the taps.
At least the washroom and shower were clean but the carpet reallly upset my wife and at $175.00 per night with a 10% discount we were very unimpressed.
Maybe we had been spoilt in Canmore with a china and crystal breakfast but when we went to the meeting room for our breakfast we were met with plastic and polystyrene and 6 warning signs that if we took anything up to our room we would be charged $10.00.We didn't dare. Maybe this is the norm in this area as there are a lot of beds required due to the Rocky Mountaineer stop overs.
58 and 54 years old from Doncaster England.

  • Liked — very little
  • Disliked — cleanliness of carpets and bedding
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chap0502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    70
    77
    28
    19
See reviews for
95
69
14
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Murdochsroomate
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2007

Let's face it, nobody stays at a Travelodge if they're looking for luxury accomodation, so with that in mind, this one is worthy of a perfectly decent review. Yes, there was a broken lamp, a cracked toilet flusher and some scuffs on the walls. But otherwise, the room was spotlessly clean and perfectly comfortable. Oh, and while the in-room coffee-maker malfunctioned, a replacement was brought quickly upon my request. All in all, the hotel lived up to my modest expecations.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Murdochsroomate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saskatchewan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

We were very disappointed with this hotel and expected far better from a Travelodge. The room was filthy! There were even footprints on the walls! The cups and stir sticks had been used and left for re-use. The sheets were stained and the room was just plain dirty. The door did not close properly because of a previous break-in and the pool water smelled funny. We were offered to upgrade our room for an additional fee, however this room was not much better and definitely not worth the price. We spent the next night at another nearby hotel and were more than satisfied for the same price.

  • Liked — Location and view
  • Disliked — Unclean
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank random_canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kamloops hotels

Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2007

Overall, I found this accommodation to be clean and modern with friendly service. We were accidentally given a room that had not been completely cleaned but the staff were apologetic and moved us to another room promptly. The hotel is located on a street with many other hotels and seemed safe. The continental breakfast was adequate.

The only drawback was the fact that the rooms are accessed from outside. The window in each room (which faces the outdoor corridor) is covered by heavy curtains, such that you must either open your curtains and be visible to passerby or close them and be immersed in complete darkness in your room.

I would recommend this hotel to travellers passing through Kamloops.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

This hotel is quiet, clean and located as you come into Kamloops off the Coquihalla highway from Vancouver. Our room was modern and clean, with free internet and a continental breakfast. A good hotel for a one-night stay thru the area. There is a small pool and hot tub, and the parking is fine.

  • Liked — Good location and very quiet.
  • Disliked — Room was on the small side.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2006

This Travelodge is located in a cluster of other chain motels overlooking Kamloops. Our room was large and clean and fairly quiet although you could hear other guests using the showers. The microwave was a welcome addition to the fridge and the room also had free wireless internet access. The complimentary breakfast was ok with a reasonable choice. The breakfast room might have been nicer if it had had some windows. We stayed here in September 2006.

  • Stayed September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank akhmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2006

After a bad Ramada Inn experience in Edmonton, I was carefuly to read reviews and choose this hotel. It was modern, clean, and staff were very friendly and helpful.
Swimming pool was cool, and so was hot tub.
No inroom movies, which was disappointing.
Free breakfast was just okay - pretty standard.

  • Liked — modern clean appearance
  • Disliked — cold swimming pool
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Aberdeen
Pacific Inn & Suites Kamloops
Quality Inn Kamloops
#29 of 55 in Kamloops
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Days Inn Kamloops BC
#36 of 55 in Kamloops
3.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Aberdeen
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kamloops Travelodge Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamloops Travelodge Mountview

Property: Kamloops Travelodge Mountview
Address: 1225 Rogers Way, Kamloops, British Columbia V1S 1R9, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > Aberdeen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kamloops Travelodge Mountview 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently remodeled Travelodge Mountview Kamloops Hotel is located in the southwest part of the city with spectacular views of the mountains and the South Thompson River. This Kamloops hotel is conveniently located only 20 km from the airport, just off Highway 1, and offers spacious guestrooms, an indoor hot tub and seasonal outdoor pool. The Travelodge Kamloops Hotel is within walking distance to local restaurants, shopping centers and many exciting things to do in Kamloops. The Travelodge Kamloops provides close proximity to popular outdoor adventures including white water rafting, fishing, boating, horseback riding and skiing. Additionally, nine nearby scenic golf courses offer some of the finest golf in Western Canada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kamloops Travelodge Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Kamloops
Travel Lodge Kamloops
Kamloops Travel Lodge
Kamloops Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing