We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“newly renovated and clean”
Review of Ramada Kamloops

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Kamloops
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Reviewed May 21, 2009

We stayed at the Ramada Inn in Kamloops and were favourably impressed. Rooms were newly renovated, clean, spacious and comfortable. The lobby was still under construction and was to be finished soon. Friendly staff made our stay enjoyable. We would stay here again and would recommend it to all travellers.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
There are newer reviews for Ramada Kamloops
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

387 - 393 of 412 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2009

I have stayed here once before my trip in November, oh about 8 months earlier, which was terrible as stated in other reviews i,e: dated, old, dirty.

However received letter from Manager with good rate and new rooms. Took a chance and went back. The new room on the top floor near the lounge was I think a business room. Bed was excellent, bedding comfortable and overall room renovations good. Took a long time to get hot water running in the bath tub but thought this maybe due to fact I was maybe one of a handful of people staying there or first time room was used since renovations.
I travel to YKA once per month for business and admittedly a bit picky.

There is still updating to be done in the lounge, front desk and hallways but this time was good. I think it was quite again due in part that I might have been one of only a couple of people staying there last trip. Last time walls were paper thin so I'll see again as I am booked there next week for 2 days in Jan. 2009.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HIGA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

We where with a tour group so had no very little choice where we stayed but this hotel did the wrong thing by the group - we understand that the tour leader was not warned that the hotel was undergoing renovations. The rooms most of us stayed in smelt heavily of paint and I think the paint was being used to make the rooms more presentable - it did not! The whole place looked like it had been ransanked or maybe that's normal. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Ray170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

We knew we were traveling to another country, but from the looks of this hotel, we were in a third world country, not beautiful Canada. Even the one staff member we encountered couldn't quite understand English ( or French).
Remodeling was underway and very apparent: from the construction debris everywhere, especially the lobby and entrance/exit ways. Old mattresses and other furniture littered the parking lot and the entire place had a bad odor. The hallways were dark, cluttered, and downright frightening.
We received an already "remodeled room" that reeked of something unknown to us. We opened the window to get fresh air and discovered no window screen and horrible road noise. Some of the items in the room were new, but others had not been ungraded, like the yellowed outlet covers and old thermostat.,etc. Speaking of temperature control--there was none. The air conditioning had only one setting: high cool. Attempts to change to lower fan or higher temperature did not work. The only way to keep from freezing all night was to unplug the unit from the wall!
The refrigerator also rocked so badly we thought it would tip over. The "new" furniture was cheap and already damaged.
After I took a bath, the entire bathtub was covered with black sooty material---definitely not from me! How disgusting to think that I bathed in that water!
One plus note for the room was the clean, comfortable bed.
Children were running around the hallways until well after 2am. Attempts to complain were met with the front desk person simply hanging up!
The only saving grace to this disaster of a place was the bar. Fortunately, food was served here and was quite good. The 2 servers were friendly and attentive. Too bad they work at this Ramada!

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmommyof6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

We booked in for a tournament at $69.00 a night. Not too bad, except that at -13 degrees centigrade, we expected a heating system that worked. The first night, the electric heating unit could not be turned off and we boiled. The second night, we changed room, and ended up huddled in bed at approximately 15 degrees. There is an urgent need to upgrade this hotel to bring it to minimal highway stopover level. The hot tub did not work, and there was a lump in the hall way carpet that could have caused an accident. A family moved in next door during the night. The poor teething baby was as if in our own room, and keys turning and doors opening and closing had us thinking that there were intruders in our room.

The desk staff was very friendly, and we didn't have the heart to ask that when they rolled a cot into the room, that it be set up.

The rooms were small but adequate.

Stayed: December 2007
1  Thank neamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRamadaKamloops, General Manager at Ramada Kamloops, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2008

As the new Manager of the Ramada Inn, I can certainly appreciate the previous critizisms of our Hotel. However, we are currently in the process of major renovations & refurbishment of our Hotel. Approx 75% of our guestrooms have been completed. We will commence work on the balance in October of 2008. In addition, we will also be renovating the lobby, restaurant, lounge this Fall/Winter. We have begun work on expanding & up-grading our Hot Tub facility and will also be creating a new Fitness Room in the Fall. While we will not have a swimming pool, we will provide our guests with complimentary passes to the Canada Games Pool - just 3 blocks away. We are working very hard on not only improving our physical amenties, but also our Service levels; as it is our goal to increase our Canada Select Star rating from 3.5 to 4 prior to the end of 2008.
I am sure that previous guests who had an unhappy experience here previously, will be very pleased with the improvements that our new owner and myself are undertaking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2007

Stayed there as an overnight stop on way from Banff to Vancouver with rest of coach tour party - we were not alone and I hear from the two staff left to cope with the breakfast rush the next morning that a total of 3 separate coach parties stayed there that night, hence the delays and doubling-up at tables to accommodate everyone who wanted breakfast.

Fortunately we were there by 7am and got served our breakfast as expected. Others in our group were not so lucky and either got cold food or no food whatsoever and told they could not have the buffet being provided for one of the coach parties at one end of the dining room. How hospitable is that?

Situation of hotel is on edge of Kamloops (so good for quick getaway back onto Trans Canada Highway #1) however it is a long walk down the steep hill into the centre of Kamloops property which is pretty much dead/closed up by 10pm(Tues. evening) in any event so don't waste your time going there late hoping to still find food and/or drinks. It's an awful long trek back up to the hotel although we were lucky to find both what seemed to be the only pub/restaurant in town that was still open with a server willing to call the cab for us when we were ready to leave again. I certainly wouldn't have fancied the walk back up to the hotel - that hill is steep!!

Room at the Ramada Kamloops was adequate for a stopover but nothing special. Clean and well maintained. Electrics seemed to be as dodgy as one or two other places we had stayed at - i.e. lack of power points and those that we did have didn't always work as they should. Also what's this with the coffee maker being plugged in at the vanity unit in the bathroom (and the hair dryer also being situated there)? Saw this kind of thing many times and it worried me greatly as to how safe it was to be potentially mixing electricity and water like that !!

Would I stay there again? Well, as a UK resident, the chances of me ever being in Kamloops again are pretty remote but, depending on what else was available at the time, I may still consider the Ramada Inn Kamloops as the place to stay though it wouldn't be my first choice I don't think.

Complimentary soft drink on arrival (served from a temporary canopy like structure erected in the car park) was a nice touch we did not get elsewhere and very welcome after a long drive in the sunshine from Banff.

Friendly, polite staff although I did feel a little sorry for the two ladies left shorthanded in the dining room due to Ramada's greed to accommodate 3 coach parties simultaneously but not provide adequate cover on the staff front.

Lovely view of the town from the top floor bar area which has an outdoor terrace and tables/seating area too.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cornishscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2006

I love Ramada Inns.( I should say, the one in Penticton, BC.)
I used up my trip reward points to book two rooms at this motel in July 2006. We have a large family, (seven of us), and we wanted to have a night stay on our way to Vancouver. I had never been to Kamloops before, and thought a night on the Ramada was great.
Walking in to the front area, it looks clean and tidy. The rooms, however, were a different story. They were filthy! There was urine on the floor around the toilet, and wrappers to pornographic magazines in the dresser and night side table. There was crusty material on the bedspread and carpet.
HOWEVER: the worst was yet to come. The pool had a young couple in it. Not clothed. Until they saw myself and my two younger children spinning on our heels to rush out.
The front desk had no comment, so we had one creepy night there and checked out at daybreak. The man that checked us in, however, was very kind.
Don't waste your time or money here. We saw the room rates and they were around a hundred dollars per night. Although that isn't exactly cheap, you sometimes know what you will get with a lower price range. I really wasted my trip rewards here.
Read my Vancouver Ramada Metrotown reveiw.....

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank heatherbennett_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
968 reviews
Accent Inn Kamloops
#12 of 54 in Kamloops
360 reviews
Panorama City Centre Inn
#33 of 54 in Kamloops
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 54 in Kamloops
346 reviews
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Hotel 540
#6 of 54 in Kamloops
1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Kamloops

Address: 555 Columbia St W, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 1K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range: $78 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Kamloops 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the RAMADA INN KAMLOOPS HOTEL;where your comfort comes first. An excellent choice for families, couples and business guests, with breath-taking panoramic views, well-appointed rooms and thoughtful amenities that put us a step above other Kamloops hotels experience. Ramada Inn Kamloops welcomes corporate and sports team travel guests, offering special group rates and stylish venues for meetings and events. Don’t worry about a thing - we’ve got you covered even your pets. YOUR FIRST CHOICE FOR KAMLOOPS ACCOMMODATIONS Your top choice for comfortable, contemporary and pet-friendly Kamloops accommodation, the Ramada Inn Kamloops features luxurious beds and fluffy pillows, black-out drapes, free high-speed Wi-Fi, 43” flat screen TV with Cable and much more. We promise you a good night’s sleep and a pleasant stay experience. Book your stay online today for fast, easy and secure reservations. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Kamloops British Columbia Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing