We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not impressed with the canned tuna” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Kamloops

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Kamloops
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
BC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not impressed with the canned tuna”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2012

I was in town for a course at this hotel but I did not stay here.

I am confident I got food poisoning from the provided lunch. The canned tuna sandwich did not smell right and I turfed it after the first bite. Buddy next to me said the same thing. I get the flu every year and this did not feel like a flu. It felt like the last time I had food poisoning.

The room the course was held in was very dated, you could here the outside traffic. Not a great place if you need to concentrate.

Friendly staff though. good location.

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank gottagetoutofhereBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    124
    84
    45
    35
See reviews for
113
92
25
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2011

Stayed at this hotel for business twice in 2011. All i have to say is don't judge a book by its cover. When i pulled up in the taxi, i got a little nervous as the outside was dated. I went in, updated lobby and it was very nice. Great people at front desk and i was checked in super quick and off to my room. Rooms were very nice, updated and very clean - had everything you'd need. Hotel has restaurant and lounge on site. I ordered room service as i was travelling alone and working late and it worked great. i wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

I said earlier the outside looked dated, ive heard this is getting fixed too so next time i stay it should be different :) i also should mention the beds here were awesome!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucygoosey1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

My husband and I have stayed here several times. The beds are always comfortable, the rooms very clean, and staff are very helpful. We found the rooms to very quiet, unless you are staying near an exit door. If you have a city view room the view is beautiful at night.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

The overall design of the hotel showed its age but the rooms were comfortable, clean, of reasonable size and had all the facilities you need. The price was reasonable and we had no complaints about the room. We did suffer one problem and that was that there was an Indian (Asian) wedding taking place and they had booked 95% per cent of the rooms. We were disturbed continuously by shouting in the corridors, children running up and down and doors banging until nearly 3pm. Very inconsiderate behaviour indeed. We were also trapped in the foyer in the morning when they all left the hotel en mass. The hotel staff apologised and gave us free breakfasts but we were left feeling this was not adequate. I realise the behaviour was not the fault of the hotel but perhaps they could have done more to control it. If you want to stay in future then check the wedding bookings!

Room Tip: Check for wedding parties!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnTravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sampson46, General Manager at Ramada Kamloops, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Lincoln Travellingman,

I would first like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Ramada during your recent visit to Kamloops and taking the time to address the issues during your stay with us. It is only through constructive comments such as yours that we can better our service as we strive to meet & exceed our guests expectations.

I can appreciate your comment regarding the building as of this date we have not renovated the exterior however it is in the plans to complete this spring. I am glad that you found our rooms comfortable and clean.

I do apologize for the issues of the mass of guests here attending a wedding and how the staff reacted to some of your issues which could have been control better.

We do value you as a customer and would like the opportunity to host you again should you come to Kamloops to prove that we can exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,


Jackie Bailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We booked a 1 night stay at the Ramada Inn in March 2011, Kamloops to break the drive from Whistler to Jasper. We were a little worried after reading a lot about Kamloops on this website, however, we got there and were very pleasantly surprised. Kamloops is a lovely little town (well....it's not actually little at all!!) and we had a lovely afternoon wandering around (we drove down to the main street, parked and then walked around as we had limited time - however, would probably only be about a 15 minute walk to get to the beginning of the main street). The hotel was much nicer than expected, the room was very spacious and had an AMAZING view over all of Kamloops and further!! We walked across the road to the Kamloops Lookout for sunset which was beautiful. Great value for money!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sampson46, General Manager at Ramada Kamloops, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Ramada during your visit to Kamloops and for taking the time to leave comments regarding your stay with us. I can appreciate that the outside is deceving as we have only completed the renovations to the inside of the property, however will be changing the outside in the spring of next year. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as those comments are a reassurance that we can meet and exceed our guests expectations. Once again thank you and know that we value you as a guest and hope that should you come to Kamloops in the future that you would once again choose to stay with the Ramada Kamloops.

Sincerely,

Jackie Bailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
210 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

As hotels go, this was quite good, but Kamloops has nothing whatsoever going for it - it's just a rather dreary town. For a one-night stop though, the Ramada Inn was okay.

It's located a little way from the strip, 0.5 to 1 km from the malls. We were welcomed with a drink on arrival and our bags were whisked away to the room.

Outside, the hotel - like the town - looked a bit drab, but the rooms had been refurbished and really very pleasant. Our two Queen-sized beds were very soft. The bedside clock didn't work but, fortunately, we didn't need to use it anyway. The lighting was poor - why do hotels assume that their guests don't want to read in their rooms?! The new air-conditioning unit was efficient and not noticeably noisy. There was also a window that opened for when we wanted real air - excellent! There was also free, fast Internet access in the room. A four-cip coffee machine, with ample supplies, was also provided.

The bathroom, although not huge, was spacious and very clean - with bath, shower, wc and handbasin. Toiletries, from San Francisco Soap Co., were soap, body lotion, shampoo and conditioner in "sugared citrus".

In summary, if you have to stay in Kamloops, the Ramada Inn is probably as good a choice as any.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeepSmilingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sampson46, General Manager at Ramada Kamloops, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear KeepSmilingUK,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with the Ramada during your visit to Kamloops both constructive and complimentary as each helps us to strive to exceed our guests expectations.

I can appreciate that you found the outside a bit drab, as we have only completed the inside of the property and will be looking to do the outside in the spring of next year. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the inside to be pleasant other than the lighting in the rooms, which I can say that we will review and look at other options as the lighting is set up on the Green Energy Program and yes can seem to be very dim.

We value you as a guest and hope that in the future we may have the opportunity to once again have you stay with the Ramada Kamloops.

Sincerely,

Jackie Bailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed at the Ramada for one night on our way from Jasper to Vancouver. The hotel was easy to find and is located on a strip of various hotels, motels viewing over the city of Kamloops (centre of town a ten minute drive). Shops and fast food are on a short distance walk. The exterior is somewhat dated, but inside the rooms are up-to-date: clean, spacious, comfortable. We had a friendly welcome and the service and food was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisalaagland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sampson46, General Manager at Ramada Kamloops, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Lisalaagland,

Thank you for choosing to stay with the Ramada, during your visit to Kamloops and taking the time to write a review based on your stay. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the outside(yes a little dated but is scheduled to be redone in the spring)did not change your decision about staying with us and that we were able to meet your expectations. We value, you as guest and hope that we would have the opportunity to have you stay with again should you come through Kamloops again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jackie Bailey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#21 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Panorama City Centre Inn
#32 of 55 in Kamloops
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Accent Inn Kamloops
#11 of 55 in Kamloops
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Kamloops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Kamloops

Property: Ramada Kamloops
Address: 555 West Columbia Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 1K7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Kamloops 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the RAMADA INN KAMLOOPS HOTEL;where your comfort comes first. An excellent choice for families, couples and business guests, with breath-taking panoramic views, well-appointed rooms and thoughtful amenities that put us a step above other Kamloops hotels experience. Ramada Inn Kamloops welcomes corporate and sports team travel guests, offering special group rates and stylish venues for meetings and events. Don’t worry about a thing - we’ve got you covered even your pets. YOUR FIRST CHOICE FOR KAMLOOPS ACCOMMODATIONS Your top choice for comfortable, contemporary and pet-friendly Kamloops accommodation, the Ramada Inn Kamloops features luxurious beds and fluffy pillows, black-out drapes, free high-speed Wi-Fi, 43” flat screen TV with Cable and much more. We promise you a good night’s sleep and a pleasant stay experience. Book your stay online today for fast, easy and secure reservations. We look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Ramada Kamloops reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inn Kamloops British Columbia Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing