We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't recommend this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Kamloops City Centre
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Reviewed May 19, 2012

We booked this hotel based on the pictures on the website which showed flat screen televisions and beds with duvets. We were checked into a room in the second of their two buildings and the room looked nothing like the pictures. Room was tucked away in the corner of the building and one of the locks on the door was broken. Carpets were stained and the windows did not have any screens. Very outdated, old bedding, power cords under the bathroom sink and just an overall disappointment. Not worth the $125 we were charged. We moved to another room in the main building and even thought it was a non-smoking room the smell of stale cigarettes was very strong. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I've ever slept in. Wifi listed on website but does not work. Will never stay at a hotel in the Travelodge chain again!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goosetard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky T, Manager at Travelodge Kamloops City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. You must have stayed with us before all our upgrades where phased in. We worked hard over the last year to upgrade the entire property. For instance our internet now is better than ever and our bedding and TV’s are all new. Even though it’s strictly forbidden some customers smoke in non-smoking rooms(happens on a rare occasion) despite our best efforts to prevent it, this may be what you experienced. We do have an effective program (newly upgraded) to rid the room of the smell of smoke in case a customer inadvertently does smoke in a non smoking room. We encourage you to give us another chance and I’m sure you would approve of all the changes we have made. Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 360 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2012

My husband, 20y/o son and I stayed here last night. Overall, everything was fine. reception staff very friendly and helpful. Room spotless and well set up. The weather was very warm that day and the fan did nothing to cool the room down. We are from Australia and used to hot weather but we have ceiling fans and air conditioners. We expected that a Travelodge hotel would provide air conditioning as a regular feature, even in chilly Canada. None of us slept well due to the stuffiness of the room.

Handy to the hospital...and Courthouse if you need it. Only complaint...efficient air cooling and fans.

Room Tip: Great fo access to hospital but stay elsewhere during summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spunkybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky T, Manager at Travelodge Kamloops City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and staff. All our rooms are equipped with heating/cooling units which work in dual modes. I think what may have happened was the particular A/C unit you where using was not converted to summer mode, had the staff been alerted our maintenance team would have fixed your issue promptly. We have since started the summer conversions (of A/C units) earlier since the weather in Kamloops can be unpredictable at times. Thank you again and hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

When our mother was transferred from 100 Mile House to Kamloops for surgery to repair her broken hip it was very stressful on everyone. We understood that the best and most convenient place to stay was the Travelodge City Centre and it was definitely convenient. The hotel is across the street from the hospital and offers a discount if you are visiting patients at the hospital and includes a small, hot breakfast with your room rate - this is a very nice touch, and much appreciated. The last thing you need when you are dealing with a stressful situation is testy staff and any of the staff that we were in contact with at the Travelodge were friendly and understanding to our situation.

Thanks to all, much appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask to be situated on the quiet side behind the pool - this was a tip given to me by my sister - don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lesmocellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky T, Manager at Travelodge Kamloops City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for your positive comments. I hope your mother is feeling better. Due to our location near the hospital we do get a number of stays for the hospital. I’m glad to hear you took advantage of our hospital rate. We work hard to be sure we are sensitive to all our customers’ special needs in situation such as yours. We hope to see you again under happier circumstances.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Much better than the average priced motel room. Very clean. 35 inch flat screen TV.
The free breakfast was very nice and poached egg exactly what I asked for. Would certainly stay again. Across the street from Hospital, where we had to be early in the A.M.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 21,226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky T, Manager at Travelodge Kamloops City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you very much for your positive review. We are glad to hear our recent upgrades are appreciated and that you enjoyed Sleepy’s Diner. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night and on arrival the exterior was daunting. It looks unloved and there are maintenance requirements to the structure since you can see cracks in the roof in the area directly above the lobby.

The room itself was very spacious with spotless, comfortable beds and a good bathroom.

There did not appear to be much in the nearby downtown area which also looked a bit rundown.

In the morning we were happy to depart having had a comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LothiansJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky T, Manager at Travelodge Kamloops City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. Since your review we have completely redone the exterior of the build and it looks fantastic. We always look at user feedback as a tool to improve. Thank you for your kind works about our room cleanliness, our chambermaids work hard to keep everything spotless. We look forward to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed here one night on my way back home with the family. It provided exactly what we wanted. A clean room to crash for the night and a pool for the kids. My wife was a little concerned about how clean the water was in the pool but the boys didn't care. You get a free breakfast of egg, bacon, toast and coffee in the restaurant next door. All in all a good place to stop for the night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky T, Manager at Travelodge Kamloops City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for your review. We try to provide all our guests with a positive experience. Our pool uses a state of the art saltwater system to keep the water clean. Our also staff monitors the pool all day to detect any issues. I’m glad to hear you took advantage of our complimentary breakfast from our diner. We look forward to see you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We stayed here because the hotel is very close to downtown and across the street from the hospital. The beds were very comfortable and had beautiful fluffy duvets. The rooms were very clean and quite. The staff knowledgable and friendly. Pool was also nice. Best of all the price of the room included vouchers for all of us for a free breakfast at a quant authentic diner on the otherside of the property. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldtravels8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky T, Manager at Travelodge Kamloops City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Thank you for your great review. We pride ourselves on our clean, newly upgraded rooms and helpful staff members. We are always thankful for such warm and wonderful compliments!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
991 reviews
City Center
Sandman Inn & Suites Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
Riverland Inn & Suites
#17 of 54 in Kamloops
359 reviews
Quality Inn Kamloops
#20 of 54 in Kamloops
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Kamloops City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Kamloops City Centre

Address: 430 Columbia St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2T5, Canada (Formerly Travelodge Kamloops)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops > City Center
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range: $76 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Kamloops City Centre 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Kamloops City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge City Centre Hotel Kamloops
Travel Lodge Kamloops
Travelodge Kamloops
Kamloops Travelodge
Kamloops Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing