We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location. Great Hotel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Location. Great Hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

I was really surprised by this hotel. It was downtown Kamloops so I didn't expect it to be as new, or as nice, as the hotels up on the highway. The beds were awesome, the breakfast was plentiful, and the staff was so quick to help. But the location was the best part. Easy walking distance to restaurants, bars, Tim Hortons....what more can you ask?

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank faajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here. We are very central for pretty much everything you may need, close to the arenas, restaurants and parks.

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    311
    118
    25
    5
See reviews for
245
268
25
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Thompson is what a great hotel choice for travelling hockey teams is all about. The rooms were quiet and comfortable, the visitors lounge for use in the evening was fantastic and well furnished, the breakfast was very tasty and plenty of healthy choices as well. In the immediate neighbourhood are some great additional amenities and restaurants and many more a short drive away.
Add in the courteous and friendly staff and I am sure you will be very happy with your choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor! It is very much appreciated, and the staff love to hear the feedback! We are one of the only hotels in Kamloops with a dedicated games room for teams to socialize and parents to relax.

Let me know when you are back in town!

Many thanks,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Everyone was so accommodating to our hockey team! Especially on our early morning games. Great breakfast and the we really enjoyed our stay! We will be back again.
I was given a fast reply by the manager who was able to give us an awesome rate, we travel up every year for hockey and we keep coming back to this hotel !
Jodie

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jkmn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor! We are one of the only hotels in Kamloops with a dedicated games room for teams. We are glad the new breakfast room was a hit! Can't wait to welcome you back again soon!!!

Enjoy the Christmas Season!

Many thanks,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Thompson Hotel and we were thrilled with their service. Staff went above and beyond. From the coffee awaiting us in the lobby to the sticky notes from housekeeping on the bathroom mirror with an affirmation of the day to the pet friendly amenity and the friendly and very hard working staff in the Sunrise room and the maintenance man who eagerly worked to get one of our girls lip balm unstuck from the pool table, all made it a fabulous stay. Thank you!

Room Tip: We stayed in a pet friendly room as we had our dog Cassie. I couldn't even tell that pets had e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor! It is very much appreciated, and the staff love to hear the feedback! We are one of the only hotels in Kamloops with a dedicated games room for teams to socialize and parents to relax. We are glad you enjoyed the new breakfast room. So happy Cassie enjoyed the stay too!

Let me know when you are back in town!

Many thanks,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have stayed there three times and each time was with a hockey tournament. Staff are helpful, friendly, and efficient both at desk and cleaning staff. They have dog friendly rooms (same quality as other rooms) and place you near a door so you can go in and out with dog easily and least disturbance to others. Kids loved the pool. Breakfast is very good and wide variety even for vegetarians. Three people in our tournament group got parking tickets in the hotel parking lot. Ours was unfair (claimed obstructed area but there was so much snow on ground you could not see yellow lines on ground and no signs), and don't know much about the other two tickets. Because ours was unfair, the hotel took care of it ($62.00).

My only issue was the beds really are not comfortable (queen bed in a double room). Another person in our group stayed in a single room King bed and said the same about the beds.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christine b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Thank you so much for the wonderful review on TripAdvisor! It is very much appreciated, and the staff love to hear the feedback! We are very sorry about the parking mis-hap however we quickly addressed the issue.

Let me know when you are back in town!

Many thanks,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BANFF
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

hi ..every one

I m a travel lover, stayed at THOMPSON Hotel every time ( to way back to Banff). But this time some thing changed (for good reason).Good size room, clean linens, spotless breakfast room with so many food options. I am no meat ( at all) person so every time I asked for non meat breakfast but always disappointed but this time when I demanded as usual (I was irritated actually )..............the Asian or Indian kind of girl with golden smile said "let me see what I can get for you. i wont let you go hungry". I thought ........ she will come with sorry but she came with a plate with some kind of egg pita with cheese .Believe me, that moment changed my views about this hotel ..so compassionate server she was .I want to thank her for being such a wonderful server but she was very busy with sports teams so ............. I lost the chance. now I would like to thank her and the hotel manager for having such a good eye for choosing that kind of wonder full person. My wife was so happy with hotel pool and front desk service.....definitely we are coming again for family reunion and get together. Your breakfast room is kind of mirror of your hospitality services and your ambassador there,,,,,,,,,,,, was damn good !!!!!!!!!!!!!!ha ha ha . Cheers team Thompson //love to see you again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank douglascharls73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. It truly is appreciated by all the staff that work so hard day in and day out to provide an enjoyable stay for the guest. There is no cookie cutter method to customer service, so we cater to different needs right down to different breakfast options. I will pass on your comments to the staff.

Next time you are in town, please stop by.

Happy Travels,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

we stayed here for 1 night on the way from Banff to Seattle. We had a deluxe room with 2 queen beds (traveling with our 10yr old). Our deal included continental breakfast, free parking and free Internet. The parking is to the side of the hotel with NO parking signs all down the entry to the hotel, so we parked in what we assumed was the hotel parking area and checked in and then brought in the gear. The hotel has a games area. The night we were there it was taken over by a hockey group. These kids were a bit noisy at night running up the corridors, but heh they were excited kids. The continental breakfast was O.K. There wa cereal, muffins and pastry , juice, yogurt waffle machine and 2 choices of hot food. The room unfortunately looked over the bus stop and train line but we weren't disturbed at all and I am a light sleeper.The noble pig up the road is fantastic for a meal! There wasn't an onsight restaurant when we were there in october but the Noble Pig is only a short walk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. I am sorry you missed the signs for the parking and that the front desk agent didn't give directions at the time of check-in. I am glad to hear the room was satisfactory, however we would have gladly moved you to another room on request.This time of the year a lot of tournaments are in Kamloops which means lots of kids!

I would love to welcome you back again, and show you the different options in the hotel.

Happy Travels,

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 650 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thompson Hotel is located downtown close to Interior Saving Centre, Kamloops Curling Club, Lake City Casino. Hotel amenities include; indoor pool, hot tub, fitness centre, business centre, games room and free breakfast. Two on-site restaurant; The Noble Pig Brewhouse &Vittorio's Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing