We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reservation details not honoured”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Trail, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“reservation details not honoured”
Reviewed May 21, 2008

When our soccer team had a tournament in Kamloops, the team manager reserved a block of rooms at the Thompson for $139 which included breakfast. I phoned to confirm the reservation with my visa number, and I was assured that yes, breakfast was included.

Upon arrival, we were informed that the breakfast deal was not going to be honoured, but the price would be lowered by $10 per night (breakfast was $10 per adults, $5 per kids). I complained and the staff said I would have to talk to the manager of the hotel the next morning (and to be fair, they felt badly and were nice about it).

When I spoke to the manager the next morning she was polite but a bit condescending, and I was told that she couldn't find enough staff, so we would end up being unhappy with the service (though part of the breakfast was self-serve) and that's why they reneged on the deal.

So I guess if I PAID for my breakfast, and got bad service because of lack of staff, that would be OK??

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank TrailSoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    337
    133
    26
    5
See reviews for
258
295
28
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DORSET
Level 4 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

Kamloops was the third of six destinations on our Honeymoon in Canada. We travelled fom Jasper to Kamloops which took 6hrs, not only did the scenery change from lush and green to dry and dull but so did the time zone, we gained an hour. Kamloops gave us the impression that it was an industrial town built up around a railway, that said it was better than we had expected. The hotel was quite big, nice and clean with a very friendly, helpful staff. Our room was very good with a lovely comfortable bed and air-conditioning (which was a God send). The gym was small but better than nothing and the pool was clean and uncrowded. Although we were close to the train lines we were not disturbed by any noise. There was a choice of shops including a supermarket and chemist just a short walk away. We had our evening meal over the road at the 'Fogg & Suds' pub where the food and atmosphere were good and the staff were very chirpy 'For sure!' I would stay here again.
I hope you enjoy your visit to Canada as much as we did.

I will also be writing reviews and posting photo's for Tunnel Mountain Resort - Banff, Suwapta Falls Resort - Jasper, Summit Lodge & Spa - Whistler, Best Western Carlton Plaza Hotel - Victoria, and Pacific Palisades Hotel - Vancouver

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable with helpful staff
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLUGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We chose this hotel because it looked to be in a nice quiet spot. What
you don't see from the web site is that it's not far back from the freeway and, if you had a room facing in that direction, I would imagine you would get quite a bit of traffic noise.

There is nothing wrong with the rooms - just a bit basic - but it is an older hotel and looking a bit tired with creeky hallways and thin walls. When we were there it was almost empty but, we were told, when the train is in it is full and I would imagine you would get quite a bit of noise from the hall and between rooms then.

The main reason we would recommend staying in town though is that you need to go all the way back in there to eat. Yes, there is a restaurant at the hotel but the prices are truely outrageous - they obviously don't want you to eat there - which nobody did on the night we stayed. If you did eat there I can't imagine it would be very fresh
with such low turnover. So, after a long day of driving, you have to drive another 20 minutes or more into Kamloops and back to eat. We agree with a previous reviewer though. Ric's Grill in Kamloops is great. I really pleasant surprise in a fairly uninspiring town.
Breakfast was very reasonably priced and, although it just arrived at the table in the bar in what is basically a box, it was tasty and adequate.

  • Liked — nothing much
  • Disliked — outrageous restaurant prices
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANVEY ISLAND, ESSEX, U.K
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

We were very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We got a really cheap deal through Hotel.com and we arrived at the end of a long days drive. We were expecting something quite basic.
However the hotel, room and staff were excellant.
We were met by a very efficient and pleasant man on reception (who also advised up to dine at the excellent Rick's Grill in Kamloops).
The room was very big - 2 queen beds- with everything we needed. The hotel clean and spacious with a good pool.
The only downside I can think of was that the breakfast was ordinary.
I would certainly stay at this hotel again and it is very reasonably priced.

  • Liked — A really good hotel at a competitive price
  • Disliked — The breakfast was very ordinary
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ok falls
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2007

we really enjoyed our stay here as we were here for the weekend for spring training fire seminar this hotel has great features awesome beds clean rooms great staff very helpful and friendly
we would definatly return

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank OkFallsLiveitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

The Thompson Hotel is in dire need of a remodeling! The carpet in our room was dirty and the bedding was worn. The bathroom had an unpleasant odor and was not very clean.

Fortunately, we were only passing through on our way to Banff, so we only stayed overnight.

One the positive side - the room did have a refrigerator and parking was convenient. The staff was also friendly and helpful.

I would rate this hotel as a low 2-star.
.

  • Liked — Starbucks coffee served in the lobby
  • Disliked — The quality of the room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcs uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2007

stayed here overnight on rocky mountainer tour most comfortable bed we slept in

  • Liked — the comfy bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,469 reviews
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 650 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre is a full service hotel with superb amenities and exceptional guest service. Located in the downtown area, our property offers clean, comfortable accommodations with rates to suit all budgets. Attached restaurant, The Noble Pig Brewhouse serves up homemade Canadian cuisine along with multiple thirst quenching beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing