We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Small but pleasant”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed in this hotel as part of our Canada tour in June 2011. The staff were very helpful and the young lads handling the bags were very enthusiastic. The breakfast was nothing special but adequate. The hotel itself is a bit dated, but this did not detract from the experience. It was a pity we could not stay longer in the area, but the tour did not allow for this.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I hope you have a chance to stay longer in the future as Kamloops is a very exciting place to stay. We are in the process of some extensive renovations to improve the product and services for our guests. One of the current renovations is our breakfast room which will be carry a great selection of healthy and convenient choices to start your day.

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    325
    124
    25
    5
See reviews for
253
279
26
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Langley, BC
Level Contributor
189 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the Thompson while in Kamloops for a hockey tournament. The rooms themselves were comfortable, but dated. However, you can tell they are used to hosting large groups. Check-in was quick and efficient, as was check-out. The boys loved the games room, and we were able to rent the theater room for a movie one evening. The pool is small, but the boys didn't care. While this isn't a hotel I would stay at if we were vacation, it was just fine for our group.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Langley4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are a great choice for sports teams and groups as we have some unique and wonderful amenities including the games room. We are in the process of some extensive renovations to improve the product and services for our guests.

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was conveniently located near the highway and all necessary stores. The bed was comfortable which is important for me! There was a very small gym which was good enough but if a lot of people were to use it at once it would be very awkward due to lack of space. The hot tub and pool were amazing luxuries! The hotel was also quiet even with the renovations going on at the moment. The restaurant we received breakfast at (Crush) was great as they make pancakes to order! They were delicious. The one thing I notice about most hotels are the sandpaper towels in the bathroom. Why don't they invest in some fabric softener??
Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, and yes the beds are extremely comfortable! We are in the process of some extensive renovations to improve the product and services for our guests.

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at The Thompson for our boys Hockey tournament in early April and booked the family suite ( King - Queen - Queen). The room was a good size, with a new LG LCD TV, Fridge and Microwave. The hotel is undergoing renos, but we had no issues with noise or dust. Paid parking was complimentary ( whew !!) and you just need to get an Impark pass from the hotel staff. We also got free Wireless Internet. Our hockey team also got to enjoy the movie theatre room free of charge and we were able to get in a movie night as well as review one of our own taped kids hockey game. The hotel also had games room. Complimentary continental breakfast was also included for us at The Crush next door, which included some fruits, toast, croissants, pancakes or boiled eggs ( rotated), juices, yogurt, cereal, coffee and tea, This was a great bonus given there were 6 of us and sometimes we had early hockey games. The Crush opened at 6:30am. The kids loved the swimming pool and hot tub to relax in after a hard day of hockey. The beds were large and very comfy I must say. It is a very central location on Victoria St, so we could get around to all the hockey arenas fairly quickly and any eateries and shopping sites.

Room Tip: If you have a large family go for a "family room".. A bit more money but well worth the sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mapleleafr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are a great choice for sports teams and groups as we have some unique and wonderful amenities including the games room and pool. We are in the process of some extensive renovations to improve the product and services for our guests, once complete we will have an onsite breakfast room which will be great for all our guests.

Again, thank you for your review and happy travels!

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel met all of our needs, top marks for staff. The hotel was unfortunately under renovations which is nice to see, but they should be compensating their guests for the various inconveniences. Great location.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ipc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed 1 night on Saturday March 9th. Parking was very close and check-in was a breeze and the staff very polite and attentive. We had a 2 queen bed room on the third floor. The room was clean and the beds were fairly comfortable. They have a coffee maker in room and a fridge and a tv from the 1980's . The room was very hot and you can not turn on air conditioner for some strange reason? you can only shut the heat off which did not really help much. You can hear pretty much everything in the room next to you and from the hallway. The continental breakfast is nothing special, toast, cereals, pancakes, some apples and bananas, coffee and juices. The area is something else... Lot's of homeless, drug addicted freaks all over the place. Not sure what happened to Kamloops since the last time I was there? Overall the hotel is on par with a best western or holiday inn express.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
68 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great hotel with friendly staff. Been staying for several years with them. Rooms always clean and nice modern decor, roomy bathroom enough for two women to lay out all beauty items etc with decent swimming and pool tables for late night 8-ball. Nice to have the option of a fridge in-room as well for taking leftovers home!
Enjoy our stay each time, walking distance within interior savings events center, close to lots of restaurants and coffee shops....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lromanick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
929 reviews
Hotel 540
#7 of 55 in Kamloops
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 650 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thompson Hotel is located downtown close to Interior Saving Centre, Kamloops Curling Club, Lake City Casino. Hotel amenities include; indoor pool, hot tub, fitness centre, business centre, games room and free breakfast. Two on-site restaurant; The Noble Pig Brewhouse &Vittorio's Downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing