We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“service at its best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
1 review
“service at its best!”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Front desk staff were e extremely friendly and welcoming. The pool and games sera was awesome, the kids really enjoyed spending time there. Rooms were spotless, and beds were very comfy. We will be back soon!

Room Tip: If you have kids ask for a double room, lots of space and 2 tv's
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlrlsojjrslfrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear jlrlsojjrslfrs,

I'm so pleased to hear that you enjoyed one of our Family Rooms during your recent stay at The Thompson! They are very spacious and give your little ones room to play and sleep in comfort. Thank you for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon! Enjoy the holiday season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    333
    129
    25
    5
See reviews for
257
286
28
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Peaks, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Stayed over night, after flying in from the UK as a pit stop between hear and Sun Peaks. This was the second time I have stayed at the Thompson. All the staff were extremely friendly and approachable and let me leave my bags in store the following day as I had a few chores to do the following day. My room was very clean and comfy. The pool and hot tube are was also very clean and well maintained, a welcome sight after a long flight! I will deffently stay at the Thompson again and will also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex1987_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Bex1987_12,

Thank you so much for your kind review! Our Thompson Team is dedicated to ensuring that you experience the very best we can offer you every time you stay with us. We are ideally situated for those that need the amenities of the city while visiting the world class slopes of Sun Peaks. I do hope we will see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for one night on our way to Jasper from Victoria. Hotel is in good location with friendly check in. Room was fine good size but tiny bathroom. Continental breakfast included was a nice extra, it was served next door and was very ample. Noble pig pub next door was nice for a few drinks, food looked good. Kamloops downtown didn't inspire us too much but we went to an ice hockey game which was great, nice stadium, good beers and snacks and great atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear MissJen,

I'm so glad that you had an opportunity to experience hockey here in Kamloops! We have some excellent home grown teams that are our pride and joy. We are also proud of our restaurants, CRUSH and The Noble Pig. Hopefully, next time you are here, you will get a chance to enjoy their hospitality for dinner!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiawassee, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our tour group was to stay in another hotel, but at the last minute ended up in the Thompson Hotel and it was very clean, and had all the amenities anyone needed for a night or maybe two. This is an industrial type town between tour stops, but hotel is within walking distance of downtown area restaurants. No problems while we were there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southernaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear southeraire,

We are so happy that your tour group was able to stay at The Thompson! We do look forward to meeting with our guests from around the world, and hope that the remainder of your journey was excellent.
Thank you for your kind review, and please stop by for another visit if you are ever in Kamloops again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of the Rocky Mountaineer train excursion. The room was comfortable and was equipped with everything one could need for a night’s stay. We didn’t use their dining facilities but took the opportunity to walk around the town and park area after sitting on the train for more than 8 hours. The hotel was clean and comfortable and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula67Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear paula67Adelaide,

I am very happy to hear that you had an opportunity to explore our city, even if you were here for just a short time! I do hope you have a chance to visit again and find all the treasures Kamloops has to offer. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed one night on a stop over whilst travelling on the Rocky Mountaineer. Our room was clean and a goood size with coffee and toiletries. No complaints. We had a wander down to one of the nearby parks, it was lovely, had a chat with some local guys who clearly loved living in Kamloops.We then headed for drink in The Noble Pig busy, nice atmosphere. We had a good nights sleep despite being in a room over looking the Noble Pig's patio garden. I agree that the place could do with a facelift, couldn't we all. We did chuckle at the sign outside which if read quickly suggest that they do a dog friendly breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Puma50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Puma50,

I am sorry that you did not have an opportunity to enjoy our dog friendly breakfast! All kidding aside, we have changed the wording on the sign. I am pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us, we love to host our Rocky Mountaineer Vacation guests! I hope that the remainder of your Canadian visit was memorable, and thank you for staying at The Thompson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
512 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 277 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed overnight also as part of the Rocky Mountaineer tour. We had been advised that the accommodation would be 'budget'. In comparison to what I imagined, the Hotel was great. As you are issued with your room key ahead of time, there's no opportunity to test the standard of the Hotel check in. I don't recall any particular welcome, I remember there were a couple of staff members in the foyer but not actually doing anything. The room was very clean and comfortable - didn't have any problems. We had dinner at an hotel just along the road on the same side, which was very casual but once again - surprisingly good. (sorry, I can't recall the name) If I went back to Kamloops I would stay at the Thompson again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grimrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear grimrater,

I am very thankful that your review did not reflect your user name! We are always happy to welcome our Rocky Mountaineer Vacation Tour guests and equally as glad that you were able to enjoy one of our local restaurants. Thank you for taking the time to review The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#7 of 55 in Kamloops
1,429 reviews
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 650 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre is a full service hotel with superb amenities and exceptional guest service. Located in the downtown area, our property offers clean, comfortable accommodations with rates to suit all budgets. Attached restaurant, The Noble Pig Brewhouse serves up homemade Canadian cuisine along with multiple thirst quenching beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing