We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
adelaide
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Quite acceptable”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel as part of the Rocky Mountaineer train excursion. The room was comfortable and was equipped with everything one could need for a night’s stay. We didn’t use their dining facilities but took the opportunity to walk around the town and park area after sitting on the train for more than 8 hours. The hotel was clean and comfortable and we had no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula67Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear paula67Adelaide,

I am very happy to hear that you had an opportunity to explore our city, even if you were here for just a short time! I do hope you have a chance to visit again and find all the treasures Kamloops has to offer. Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    333
    129
    26
    5
See reviews for
257
288
28
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed one night on a stop over whilst travelling on the Rocky Mountaineer. Our room was clean and a goood size with coffee and toiletries. No complaints. We had a wander down to one of the nearby parks, it was lovely, had a chat with some local guys who clearly loved living in Kamloops.We then headed for drink in The Noble Pig busy, nice atmosphere. We had a good nights sleep despite being in a room over looking the Noble Pig's patio garden. I agree that the place could do with a facelift, couldn't we all. We did chuckle at the sign outside which if read quickly suggest that they do a dog friendly breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Puma50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Puma50,

I am sorry that you did not have an opportunity to enjoy our dog friendly breakfast! All kidding aside, we have changed the wording on the sign. I am pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us, we love to host our Rocky Mountaineer Vacation guests! I hope that the remainder of your Canadian visit was memorable, and thank you for staying at The Thompson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
516 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed overnight also as part of the Rocky Mountaineer tour. We had been advised that the accommodation would be 'budget'. In comparison to what I imagined, the Hotel was great. As you are issued with your room key ahead of time, there's no opportunity to test the standard of the Hotel check in. I don't recall any particular welcome, I remember there were a couple of staff members in the foyer but not actually doing anything. The room was very clean and comfortable - didn't have any problems. We had dinner at an hotel just along the road on the same side, which was very casual but once again - surprisingly good. (sorry, I can't recall the name) If I went back to Kamloops I would stay at the Thompson again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grimrater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear grimrater,

I am very thankful that your review did not reflect your user name! We are always happy to welcome our Rocky Mountaineer Vacation Tour guests and equally as glad that you were able to enjoy one of our local restaurants. Thank you for taking the time to review The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed as part of the Rocky Mountaineer train tour. The hotel is pretty good and the room was fine, but we were a little disappointed that none of the hotel staff made any attempt to welcome us when we arrived. That might have been because there were 3 coach loads arriving together and we didn't need to check in having been given our room keycards on the train, but the staff seemed just as bored when we departed the next morning. However, this did not detract from our short stay in Kamloops, and the staff at the frick'n'frack bar across the street were we ate we very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianni1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Gianni1701,

You have my most sincere apologies regarding the lack of welcome you received when you arrived at our hotel. I will most definitely review our procedures with our representatives. You are always welcome at The Thompson and I do hope we will see you again so that we can let you know that in person!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Thomson overnight as part of our trip on the Rocky Mountaineer. The rooms were clean and comfortable and perfectly adequate. The staff again were welcoming and friendly and very helful when one of our bags had not been delivered from the train, we received it within an hour of telling them. They also recommended and booked us a nice restaurant down the road for our evening meal. The hotel itself needs a little updating but other than than we didn't have any cause for complaint. Best experience was our coach driver Elsie, who drove the coach to and from the Rocky Mountaineer, quite a character.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindilou60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear lindilou60,

It is a pleasure for our team members to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Thompson! I do hope you will consider visiting Kamloops again, we would love to be able to give you some sightseeing tips for our fair city. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel appears to have had some bad press. We stopped off overnight as part of our Rocky Mountaineer experience and found it more than adequate. The rooms were clean and well equipped with coffee/tea making facilities and toiletries. It was quiet and absolutely nothing wrong with our stay at all.
We were at the back of the hotel and experienced no noise having a good night's sleep.
Not fussed on Kamloops!

Room Tip: We were at the back of the hotel on the top floor. Very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglandRuddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear EnglandRuddles,

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your visit to The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre. Our team goes out of their way every day to make your stay here the best one possible! I am truly sorry that you didn't get an opportunity to experience everything Kamloops has to offer. For outdoor activities, we are beyond compare, with fishing, swimming, skiing, boating, water sports, hiking, mountain biking...the list goes on! For indoors, we have shopping, movies, libraries, museums, art galleries, pub hopping, fabulous restaurants....can I stop now?! I hope we see you again, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed one night from the Rocky Mountaineer. We found the room dated and rather scruffy. Although the bed was a good size and comfortable the room was not very big especially on a three week tour with two large suitcases. Popped into the Noble Pig for a light meal and beer, it was very crowded and very noisey, the food was pub grub and ok.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Ken P,

Thank you for your review of The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre. I agree that our rooms could use a little updating (and this is definitely on our radar and in the works!), but scruffy is a little misleading. You will not find a cleaner hotel room in our fair city, indeed, our Housekeeping staff takes every care to ensure you will be comfortable during your stay. I hope you will return to Kamloops in the future and give us another try. We would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,433 reviews
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kamloops
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 650 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre is a full service hotel with superb amenities and exceptional guest service. Located in the downtown area, our property offers clean, comfortable accommodations with rates to suit all budgets. Attached restaurant, The Noble Pig Brewhouse serves up homemade Canadian cuisine along with multiple thirst quenching beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing