We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #8 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Cupertino, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Surprisingly welcoming”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We knew this was a "moderate" hotel, but who knew "moderate" could be so clean, comfortable and have such surprisingly comfortable beds and linens. At the end of the stay (one night as part of the Rocky Moutaineer) we were honestly thinking "Hmmm why all the hoopla about the bigger fancier hotels?" the bathroom amenities were nice the shower was big strong and hot, the bed super comfortable with great cotton linens a small, but adequate T.V., and a small refrigerator.....it was a great basic no frills travelers haven with really solid, friendly, helpful staff

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 091380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear 091380,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Thompson Hotel! It gives us great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. We take pride in offering our guests the cleanest, most comfortable stay they can possibly enjoy. I know you came through Kamloops on a tour, but we do hope that you will visit our area again, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    334
    129
    26
    5
See reviews for
257
289
28
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here one night as part of the Rocky Mountaineer train trip from Vancouver to Jasper. We had "gold leaf" service with Rocky Mountaineer, so the hotel was supposed to be reasonably high quality. In Vancouver they put us in the Fairmont Pacific Rim. The Thompson in Kamloops was quite a step down. We found it mediocre. Nothing particularly wrong with it (it was clean), but nothing very appealing. Room was dark and looked out on a parking lot with railyard behind it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Dear Nick062,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm so pleased that you found us to be clean, our housekeeping staff works hard every day to present a quality guest room for you! We are a very different style of hotel from a Fairmont, but I think we do offer very good value for our guests.
As you were part of the Rocky Mountaineer Tour, you may not have had time to experience all of our amenities, including indoor pool with hot tub, complimentary breakfast, or our bicycle service! I hope you had a lovely vacation, and please give us another try if you are ever in beautiful Kamloops again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I travel for weeks at a time for work, and am rarely impressed by hotels, bit everything from the room to the location and the extremely helpful staff atThomposon were wonderful

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamelairenemontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 18, 2012
Dear Pamelairenemontreal,

Thank you so much for your review! We are all happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again soon. Our whole team takes pleasure in ensuring that you have the very best "home away from home" experience here at the Thompson!


Carollyn Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Wirral
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

There were three of us in our party and we were given a nice large room, two rooms in fact. We had three large, extremely comfortable beds and a good sized bathroom. The place was clean, if in need of some redecoration.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValkyrieTheWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear ValkyrieTheWirral,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am happy to see that you enjoyed staying in one of our Family Rooms, they are perfect for friends traveling together, families that need extra space, or anyone that would like some room to stretch out in! We have committed to upgrades and improvements here at the Thompson, so please be sure to stop by again and check us out!

Carollyn Anderson
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Sttayed for one night in May 2012. handy location in Main St, rooms ok, bathrooms small.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for your positive review! We are proud to be located in downtown Kamloops, and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay. I hope we see you again, we would love to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Very comfortable accommodation in the heart of town. Room was ok a little below the standard that we have enjoyed during our trip. On saying this it was good and I would suggest that it is good value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Also has free wifi which can be a bonus.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank densmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of the Thompson Hotel! I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to a return visit from you!
Our ownership and team is committed to providing you with the very best experience you can have in Kamloops, and, to that end, you will see continuous improvements in our hotel each time you stay. I hope that is sooner rather than later!

Carollyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay at the Thompson. I parked my truck in the hotel parkade directly in front of a security camera only to have my vehicle broken into. The thieves emptied the contents of my vehicle after punching out the lock on the driver's door. The police reviewed the camera tape and informed me that the footage was very poor quality with no hope of identifying the two guys who walked right in front of the camera and to my truck. The police have told the hotel in the past that they need to upgrade their cameras but they have ignored the recommendations. Very disappointing as I'm now out ~$1500 in contents and probably close to $1000 get the door fixed. Hotel offered no apology or any type of compensation. In fact they seemed quite happy to charge me $7 per day for parking.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you need to park your car at the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djk1_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carollyn A, Hotel Manager at The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Please accept my apologies on behalf of our hotel for the disappointing incident you experienced during your stay with us. Unfortunately, it is very difficult to be able to predict or prevent this type of vandalism. Please be assured that we are in the process of upgrading our security camera system in order to provide more accurate information for our guests and law enforcement alike. I am glad that we were able to find some of the missing items still on premises, a small consolation at best. We do encourage our guests not to leave anything in their vehicles.
As a downtown hotel, we take security very seriously, all of our staff are trained in precautionary measures.
Again, I am very sorry for your loss, but I do hope this will not prevent you from giving us another try during your next stay in Kamloops.

Carollyn Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,434 reviews
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kamloops
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 650 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre is a full service hotel with superb amenities and exceptional guest service. Located in the downtown area, our property offers clean, comfortable accommodations with rates to suit all budgets. Attached restaurant, The Noble Pig Brewhouse serves up homemade Canadian cuisine along with multiple thirst quenching beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing