We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #9 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2007

We were very pleasantly surprised with this hotel. We got a really cheap deal through Hotel.com and we arrived at the end of a long days drive. We were expecting something quite basic.
However the hotel, room and staff were excellant.
We were met by a very efficient and pleasant man on reception (who also advised up to dine at the excellent Rick's Grill in Kamloops).
The room was very big - 2 queen beds- with everything we needed. The hotel clean and spacious with a good pool.
The only downside I can think of was that the breakfast was ordinary.
I would certainly stay at this hotel again and it is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (842)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 842 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2007

we really enjoyed our stay here as we were here for the weekend for spring training fire seminar this hotel has great features awesome beds clean rooms great staff very helpful and friendly
we would definatly return

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank OkFallsLiveitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

The Thompson Hotel is in dire need of a remodeling! The carpet in our room was dirty and the bedding was worn. The bathroom had an unpleasant odor and was not very clean.

Fortunately, we were only passing through on our way to Banff, so we only stayed overnight.

One the positive side - the room did have a refrigerator and parking was convenient. The staff was also friendly and helpful.

I would rate this hotel as a low 2-star.
.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MsMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2007

stayed here overnight on rocky mountainer tour most comfortable bed we slept in

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnandviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2007

Just passing through Kamloops and found the hotel very nice - great beds, fantastic breakfast, etc. The problem came a month later when we received our credit card statement. There was the normal $117.92 room charge as well as an extra $200 charge. When we contacted the hotel, we were told that the charge was for smoking in the room (which we did not do - neither my husband nor I smoke). In trying to get the charge reversed, we have had nothing but trouble - the manager is refusing to talk to us. This is nothing more than fraud. We received nothing to inform us of the charge, and it seems a bit trumped up. I had been recommending the hotel to family and friends, but will now have to change that.

10  Thank Spillque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2007

I was on a Rocky Mountaineer Railtour and stayed at the hotel in April/07. They have just put in HEAVENLY BEDS (like in Westin Hotels) and they are as close to heaven as a bed can be.
Also, the robes, the fact that there was cream AND MILK in the "in room fridge" for tea was a wonderful bonus.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Murray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2007

We travelled for a month in Canada, my wife and I and two children (12) and (9).

An exceptional property, made all the better by the outstanding service received. Although we had reserved just one room, when the staff member at check in saw the amount of luggage we had, he offered to upgrade us to a larger room that more easily accommodated the four of us and the bags.

He also offered valuable advice on restaurants and skiing options. His courteous and informative nature is an example of the difference between a “good” property and a “great” one.

The Thompson also offers free internet and a very good complimentary breakfast. Rooms were very modern and all facilities were excellent.

Would we stay there again? Absolutely yes, we wished we had more than one night here.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KiwiCanuckNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
2.7 mi away
Coast Kamloops Hotel & Conference Centre
0.3 mi away
The Plaza Hotel
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
985 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 540
Hotel 540
#5 of 54 in Kamloops
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Kamloops
1 mi away
Riverland Inn & Suites
Riverland Inn & Suites
#16 of 54 in Kamloops
359 reviews
14 mi away
South Thompson Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre

Address: 650 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#10 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: $77 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre is a full service hotel with superb amenities and exceptional guest service. Located in the downtown area, our property offers clean, comfortable accommodations with rates to suit all budgets. Attached restaurant, The Noble Pig Brewhouse serves up homemade Canadian cuisine along with multiple thirst quenching beers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Thompson Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thompson Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing