We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel, nice terrace!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, nice terrace!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is newly renovated and in a great location downtown close to the park and all amenities like good coffee shops, bars and shopping. The rooftop pool and terrace complete with sofas and a gym is really impressive. I will always stay here when I come to Kamloops!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dalnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    490
    173
    43
    20
See reviews for
300
460
65
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. There were two lovely queen beds in our room with quality bed linen and very comfortable pillows. The recently completed roof pool and pool area were a joy to use. This hotel is located downtown and in easy walking distance to restaurants and the Riverside park. Parking is not clearly marked as you have to turn into the alley at the side of the hotel and casino. Stop in the alley while you go into hotel and collect key for car park.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOLFFLUSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford
Level Contributor
158 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you need to stay in Kamloops, then this perfectly positioned, well-run hotel is a must. The staff are professional and welcoming, the place is new and very well maintained - and there's a grerat restaurant both inside, and also just across the road. (Frick n Frack) all this - and a rooftop pool too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanGBradford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Kanloops was a brief stop for us on the way to the Rocky mountains.
The 540 hotel is nice, clean, the bed was good, breakfast nice and has a nice fitness room.
Parking was a bit of a pain as the car park was full.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MassiG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked a surprise night here for my partner and I following a long stint at work with no time off. The front desk service was efficient and friendly and the hotel was well-maintained. The Valet/doorman was super nice and very helpful, we asked him about good places to eat and he told us about a music event happening that night.

When we got to our room I was disappointed, it was nowhere near as big as expected. Having booked a Club King, I was expecting the 50m2 room that I asked for. However, we were put in a Standard Room. We asked the front desk about our room size, and they changed rooms for us. I still don't believe the room was the size I booked, but we settled. I should have just booked a Standard Room and saved money.

The power was out all night, and when we returned from dinner the man on the desk was pretty frustrated with the situation, but asked if we needed help to our room. We declined, and the helpful doorman helped us any way.

The pool area and gym were really nice, I worked out in the gym and found all the equipment to be clean and well-maintained.

Breakfast was good, I can't eat dairy and had to adjust a menu item. No complaints or errors from our server.

Overall, nice stay but wouldn't waste my money on an upgraded room size again. Even paying to add $10 to park and breakfast to a standard room would have been cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here overnight as part of a tour and t previous hotels we visited were rather poor. This hotel was really very good. The staff were very helpful, the room very nicely furnished and spotlessly clean with an exceptionally comfortable bed.....Kamloops was not flash but this hotel was. The TV in our room did not work, but we only stayed overnight so not a major problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darwin1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, CA.
Level Contributor
159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here one night as part of a Rocky Mountaineer package tour.

Front desk was extremely helpful, rooms of good size and well maintained. The air conditioner was a bit noisy but typical of most hotels.

Location is in Downtown Kamloops and is quite convenient, we had stayed once before in Kamloops but at a location way, way out on the edge of town.

There is a casino attached, which we did not use.

The restaurant was certainly acceptable, not 5 stars by any means, but they went out of their way to meet my wife's request for an item not on the menu. The food was well presented, service was good, and the setting decent enough.

A plus in my opinion is free internet service available in their small business center in the lobby very convenient as I do not lug a laptop when I travel for pleasure.

A negative is no laundry facility on premises, but the front desk was very helpful with directions, and finding the closing time for a coin laundry about 2 1/2 blocks away.

On the whole a good choice of a medium priced hotel to stay in if you are in the Kamloops area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Property: Hotel 540
Address: 540 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing