We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place but could us a few more guest services”
Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
1 review
“Great place but could us a few more guest services”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My stay there was great but I would have liked a couple more services

1. There is no workout room

2. The menu at the hotel is limted and expensive, espically for breakfast. I would have like to seen more individual chioces, like eggs, as I don't care for hashbrowns or breakfast potatoes but I had to pay for them anyway

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bco2136spc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear bco2136spc,

Thank you for your response - have you read our continuous improvement plan !

We are launching our new restaurant - blue. this week. Contemporary décor....fresh, fun and seasonally inspired. I know you will love you new menu, wine list and a beverage program not seen anywhere in the city !

To work it off...our new fitness centre with state of the art equipment will be ready at the end of June.

We listen to our guests and we are doing it better ! We aren't another cookie cutter hotel, and we are proud of that. See you again soon !


Kind Regards


Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    548
    193
    45
    23
See reviews for
349
519
70
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here for a hockey tournament. You can tell the hotel is in transition as some of it looks very nice downstairs, and other parts need work.

However, it was very clean, the beds were easy to sleep in, showers and bathroom updated and clean. There was a buffet breakfast in the AM which was decent, nothing to crazy, your standard mix of cold and hot stuff but it did the trick.

Staff was great overall, warm and friendly to all.

Never went into the casino next door, but you can tell that is where the shady guys hang out. The only bad part of the hotel is the riff raff from the casino around outside.

Easy walking distance to restaurants and shops and to the arena.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justinssvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Justinssvc,

Thanks for choosing us all the way from California ! And for your review. I was pleased to see you scored us 5 out of 5 on service.

Though the rest of the scoring did not meet our own high expectations, I was pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again !

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Saskatchewan
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just stayed at Hotel 540 in Kamloops and it was much better than expected. Hotel has gone through a massive renovation, rooms are well appointed, spacious and have amenities such as fridges and microwaves.

The hotel is centrally located and has numerous restaurant choices around. Sushi was great. Their pool was not open yet but that was the only thing that was missing. Plus the rates were reasonable.

Room Tip: Family Suite was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunderbird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Thunderbird22,

Thanks for taking the time to share your review ! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Unfortunately our pool is not yet done - but we hope you can come back and stay with us again - it is going to be phenomenal - like nothing else in the area.

Let me know when you do...poolside beverages in the hot sun await !

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Bc
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in March and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel looks like something you'd see circa 1972 in Moscow from the outside but the interior has been tastefully redesigned and decorated. Our room was spotlessly clean and quiet, with comfortable beds, a mini-fridge, coffee making supplies and even a kettle for making tea (too rare in hotels I find). The bathroom was clean, with nice water pressure and a large double shower. My only complaint was that the pillows were overly firm and lumpy. I asked a very helpful housekeeper if a softer pillow was available but, upon checking her room of supplies only came back with pillows which were the same as the one I had. We had breakfast one morning at "Embers", the hotel's restaurant. It was excellent, if a little slow (20 minutes to make 2 poached eggs on toast and an omelette when we had told the waitress we were on a tight time line when we sat down, and there was only one patron there already eating his breakfast).

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Demisemiquaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Demisemequaver,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. LOL - 1972 Moscow....close....how about 1960 Kamloops- mid century modern as we like to call it. That said, we have completely renovated the inside, heat and a/c windows (we are now a perfect 5 green key rated !). We have added a new front entrance and a bunch of work in the last month again to the exterior. But as you say - it's what is inside that counts !
Thanks for the note on breakfast - we have renovated and launched a new restaurant in place of Embers...WELCOME ....blue. - it's fun, fresh and seasonally inspired. The way a restaurant should be. I know you will enjoy on your next stay.

Best Regards,

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We found this hotel online and were not really sure of what we would get when we arrived. WOW we had picked a winner. Although it is an older hotel, it has been completely remodeled and renovated. The lobby is roomy but you don't feel like you need to walk a mile to get to the check in desk. Parking is $10 per day in an underground gated garage.

Our room was nicely appointed with king bed, desk, bar sized fridge and comfy side chair. The bed was clean and comfy; not too soft, not too hard.

The front desk staff were very helpful, even recommending a great restaurant across the street.

We will definitely be back. And we will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for quality at an affordable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Brenda E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. 5 out of 5 across the board- we will take it ! That said, we are improving our hotel every day - with a new restaurant opening this week, pool and fitness room opening the first week in July !

We look forward to seeing you again

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here March 2013 for a conference. Hotel is a very old property that has had some modern renovations. Rooms are small but very clean. Dated bathroom but new white bed duvets and large flat screen tv. Fridge in room is a nice convenience. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the restaurant served a fairly wide selection of entrees. I had the chef salad and it was excellent. The best thing about this hotel is location. You are within walking distance of arenas, restaurants, movies, shopping and the beautiful riverside park. There is also a casino on site, but looked seedy and smokey. I didn't go in. One thing I would have liked is a complimentary coffee/tea bar in the lobby. Many hotels I've stayed at in the past couple of years have this and it is so nice to be able to come downstairs in the morning and grab a good quality coffee to go or relax later in the day with one. The in-room coffee is revolting and undrinkable and is a complete waste of time. The Oriental Gardens restaurant across the street was fantastic!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank allabouthockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Allaboutthehockey,

Thanks for taking the time share your feedback. We have a handful of discounted rooms left - these are our standard rooms and they are like the rest but do not have a renovated bathroom. We price them accordingly / discounted by $10. We have just completed 30 new bathrooms, so there are only a handful left as mentioned - encourage you to choose a deluxe or Club room next time to that extra special experience ! I am sorry to learn you did not like our coffee- we have had tremendous feedback on that lately. That said, another reason for the club rooms (other than breakfast and parking included) are new tassimo machines- your choice, quick and easy !

I look forward to seeing you back to get that last star to be 5 out 5 !

Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we stayed at the hotel five540forty in december on our way to vancouver.from the time we pulled up to the hotel till the time we left the next day we got nothing but great service.the staff were friendly and helpful.the room was bigger then the your average hotel which was great for us as we have a 5 year old and a 1 year old,so having the extra space helped.we got the basement parking which was great and it was free.the room was very clean and nice decor.the room service was fast and the food was great,good value for money.we travel alot and this hotel was by far the best i have stayed in,in canada.keep up the good work guys,you are doing it right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deshinee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Deshinee M,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay. I was very pleased to read how we scored excellent in all facets of your stay - and how you were able to enjoy Room Service when you were here. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards


Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Property: Hotel 540
Address: 540 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing