We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
White Rock, Canada
2 reviews
“A gem”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We found this hotel online and were not really sure of what we would get when we arrived. WOW we had picked a winner. Although it is an older hotel, it has been completely remodeled and renovated. The lobby is roomy but you don't feel like you need to walk a mile to get to the check in desk. Parking is $10 per day in an underground gated garage.

Our room was nicely appointed with king bed, desk, bar sized fridge and comfy side chair. The bed was clean and comfy; not too soft, not too hard.

The front desk staff were very helpful, even recommending a great restaurant across the street.

We will definitely be back. And we will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for quality at an affordable price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Brenda E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. 5 out of 5 across the board- we will take it ! That said, we are improving our hotel every day - with a new restaurant opening this week, pool and fitness room opening the first week in July !

We look forward to seeing you again

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    521
    180
    44
    20
See reviews for
322
487
68
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here March 2013 for a conference. Hotel is a very old property that has had some modern renovations. Rooms are small but very clean. Dated bathroom but new white bed duvets and large flat screen tv. Fridge in room is a nice convenience. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the restaurant served a fairly wide selection of entrees. I had the chef salad and it was excellent. The best thing about this hotel is location. You are within walking distance of arenas, restaurants, movies, shopping and the beautiful riverside park. There is also a casino on site, but looked seedy and smokey. I didn't go in. One thing I would have liked is a complimentary coffee/tea bar in the lobby. Many hotels I've stayed at in the past couple of years have this and it is so nice to be able to come downstairs in the morning and grab a good quality coffee to go or relax later in the day with one. The in-room coffee is revolting and undrinkable and is a complete waste of time. The Oriental Gardens restaurant across the street was fantastic!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank allabouthockey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Allaboutthehockey,

Thanks for taking the time share your feedback. We have a handful of discounted rooms left - these are our standard rooms and they are like the rest but do not have a renovated bathroom. We price them accordingly / discounted by $10. We have just completed 30 new bathrooms, so there are only a handful left as mentioned - encourage you to choose a deluxe or Club room next time to that extra special experience ! I am sorry to learn you did not like our coffee- we have had tremendous feedback on that lately. That said, another reason for the club rooms (other than breakfast and parking included) are new tassimo machines- your choice, quick and easy !

I look forward to seeing you back to get that last star to be 5 out 5 !

Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloydminster, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

we stayed at the hotel five540forty in december on our way to vancouver.from the time we pulled up to the hotel till the time we left the next day we got nothing but great service.the staff were friendly and helpful.the room was bigger then the your average hotel which was great for us as we have a 5 year old and a 1 year old,so having the extra space helped.we got the basement parking which was great and it was free.the room was very clean and nice decor.the room service was fast and the food was great,good value for money.we travel alot and this hotel was by far the best i have stayed in,in canada.keep up the good work guys,you are doing it right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deshinee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Deshinee M,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay. I was very pleased to read how we scored excellent in all facets of your stay - and how you were able to enjoy Room Service when you were here. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards


Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a very nice room. Breakfast was included and it was fantastic except for the potatoes weren't hash browns. They were a little plain. Other than that the front desk staff was awesome and the service staff was great.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linzi0113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Linzi 0113,

Thank you for sharing your experience. From your other reviews, you clearly have discerning taste and know hotels well. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, you must have been on our bed and breakfast package or on our club floor which includes breakfast and parking. Very smart ! Thanks for your feedback on the breakfast potatoes, we are trialing a few items for our restaurant opening in April and I have shared your feedback with our Chef !

We look forward to another great stay again here in the future.

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed in Kamloops for a night on our way to Sun Peaks.

This was a great choice, the staff were friendly, helpful and very approachable. We used the parking which was great, lots of space for a bigger car like ours. The room was in great condition very spacious and had everything we needed. The bathrooms and parts of the room look like they have been recently updated which was nice. We ate in the restaurant which was reasonably quiet that night, the food and staff were good. The restaurant was small and comfortable we decided to sit in the bar section so we could watch the hockey while we ate. We also had room service for breakfast, it took 2 conversations with the staff for our order to be delivered correctly, the food itself was good and delivered on time, but next time we will probably eat in the restaurant instead.

Sun Peaks was only a 50 min drive so this was the perfect stop for us to make the most of our short but sweet ski trip.

We would definitely return to Hotel 540 on our next trip to Kamloops!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdPilberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Ed Pilberry,

Thanks very much for choosing The 540 ! I appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon whether it is en route to Sun Peaks again or simply in town to enjoy all there is in the area.

Look forward to seeing you again soon !

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 9, 2013

When you travel for work, there is nothing better than being able to relax after a long day and not have worry about details. My new address in Kamkloops is the Hotel 540, the service is fantastic and consistent! Reservations are always completed accuratley, and confirmed via email (a smartphone's best friend). The Club Floor is great for a travelling worker as it includes everything you need - Food, Parking & Business amenities. When you're not in town for work, downtown Kamloops has it all - and it's just steps away from catching a Blazers game.

Room Tip: Always take the Club Floor - Best Value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Catherine C,

Wow - you nailed it ! Thanks for taking the time to share. Great tips - and you are right, best value is in our best rooms on the club floor ! We look forward to welcoming you again - as a regular traveler you will want to be sure to be signed up for our PERKS program, where you get special amenities and recognition benefits every stay. Not to mention 500 AEROPLAN points on most rates !

See you soon

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed twice at the Hotel 540 on Victoria St in downtown Kamloops after some research.
Chose this location as there are great cafe's within walking distance and a few stores (grocery and London Drugs) and quite being away from the Hwy where most of the other hotels seem to be located.
Chose the larger room "suite" with King bed and lounge chairs for the extra elbow room. Also requested a quite room as our stay was due to post surgery.
The $10. off dinner voucher and 2 person complimentary breakfast (anything off the menu plus a drink of your choice) as well as underground parking (they also have nearby outside parking if your vehicle is too tall to fit underground) evened out the price compared to the other hotel prices.
Having the option not having to drive somewhere to eat was awesome especially when one is recovering from hospitalization. The menu is decent, enough variety for everyone. Try the Chocolate torte for desert...you will want to go back just for this!

The room was tidy, clean and quite; the bed and chairs comfy.
I would highly recommend this one.

Room Tip: The suite with sitting area is very comfy for more than one person
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear adkuprel,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share of your experience- great tips ! Our new Chef Mitch Shafer has a tremendous reputation in town - and if you loved the food this time, just wait for our new restaurant to open in mid April - WOW ! And you're right, if you want to try something else, so many other options just outside the door. See you soon !

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
928 reviews
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Property: Hotel 540
Address: 540 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing