We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean, centrally located - recommended”
Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #5 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This was our allocated hotel enroute to Banff via the Rocky Mountaineer, so it immediately has their endorsement as one of the best available in town which is a good start. Welcome drink on arrival was a nice touch.

We were pleasantly surprised at the enormous size of the room, which had 2 large windows and even included a full 3 piece lounge suite with large sofa. The bed was huge and very comfortable.Coffee and tea making facilities were also included with a reasonable supply of coffee and teabags. Small fridge also in room which was good. Airconditioning was effective if slightly noisy.
The room was very clean with fittings that may have not been the most trendy however were all in good condition - nothing was evidently worn or badly maintained, and the bathroom was good size (significantly bigger than the bathrooms at several famous Fairmont hotels we stayed at after this) with plenty of room for 2 people. Lighting in the bathroom was excellent.

We ate for a reasonable price at the Chinese restaurant just across the road and the location was very central to lots of other eating options.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Kerry1G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Kerry1G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I was pleased to see you gave us 5 out of 5 in several areas- including cleanliness and the room. We are situated in the right area of Kamloops, you are correct - with many dining options within a block or two walk. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your journey as much !

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,407 - 1,413 of 1,539 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

Very nice hotel with cool rooms after a long day travelling. Casino next door. Frick n fracks tap house across the road. Chinese restaurant almost next to that. Very well situated hotel . In the morning ashort walk for a snack breakfast to Tim Hortons. Nice stay

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobcop_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear bobcop_12,

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the local area that offers so much at your fingertips ! We hope to have you stay again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This is a centrally located hotel to all the downtown local attractions. The front desk and maintenance staff are most accommodating with a genuine friendly approach. Rooms are spacious and clean with all the modern amenities. Recommend this as an excellent choice and would defiantly stay here again when in the area.

Room Tip: Recommend the club floor which includes hot breakfast and free parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear GaryM,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to see you enjoyed our friendly team - and you gave a great tip ! Our Executive Club Floor is becoming so very popular, with some great value added essentials. Look forward to seeing you again

Best Regards,

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

On arriving by train into Kamploops it was a pleasant change to enter into the hotel and our rooms were beautiful and cool - awesome. A very nice bar and restaurant area. there were renovations going on next door at the casino - didn't hear a thing they only thing was when you were leaving the hotel it was a bit congested.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellady007_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear travellady007_11,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience. I hope you enjoy the train journey as much ! Yes our renovations are finally over ! and we have a beautiful new entrance to brag about. Our guests are now greated in a new porte cochere by a doorman, offering valet parking or assisting you as required. Hope to see you again soon !

Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went on a girls trip for the weekend to visit a friend. Overall the hotel was probably in line with other hotels in Kamloops. The location is nice because it is walking distance to some great places to eat. The hotel charges $10 for underground parking, which can be somewhat hard to navigate in - very tight spots, etc. While the room was renovated, the bathroom had not been and the toliet and taps were always making a lot of noise and leaking. We basically used the hotel as a place to sleep at night and it was great for that. I booked a few weeks in advance using the hotel website and received a rate of $129/night (for a standard 2 double bed room). The day before my trip, I checked the website again and the rate had been reduced to $119. I phoned the hotel to ask if they could please make the change on my reservation, but they were unable to, so I had to cancel the old reservation online and make a new one. A minor inconvience, but a very strange system and the response of the front desk staff was not customer service oriented. It can also be quite noisy on the street at night so if you like to have your window open at night, you might want to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bostonterrier17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear bostonterrier17,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to you have return in the future, we have just upgraded our entrance and can now offer you valet parking along with an improved parkade (heated underground) experience. It sounds as though you were in a standard room - which does not yet have renovated bathrooms. Sorry to learn that you felt your stay was average...not what we are shooting for ! Should you wish to return, please give me a call - I would be happy to make your plans personally.

Kind Reagrds,

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Loved the fact that we had to pay an extra $10 to park the car. Hotel is beside a casino. Our room was very small, bed was okay. Bathroom was awful, drippy cheap Waltec taps and taps in the tub were almost impossible to open and close.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoraT96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear CoraT96,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I was sorry to read we did not meet up to your expectations. We do have packages that include the cost of parking (as well as breakfast and other items) as well as various room types/upgrades that are all priced accordingly -based on the requirements of the guest. We have a frequent room maintenance program to attempt to catch items such as a leaky tap or scuff in the wall proactively. My apologies that the room was not up to your, nor our own high standard ! I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future, if you do - please call me directly to assist with your arrangements personally.

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had stayed at the Hotel 540 August 23-27.
Very impressed by the staff working at the hotel, from Front Desk, Housekeeping and Restaurant staff they seemed genuinely happy to to make our stay there a good one.
Even though renovations were being done it did not impact our stay, underground parking was a bonus. Had breakfast each day at the hotel which was very good as part of a bed and breakfast promotion that included underground parking at the hotel.
Air conditioning worked great we like a cold room at night and the A/C unit worked well with minimal noise.
Rooms were clean, beds comfortable and food was good what more do you need or want.
Lots of good restaurants downtown within easy walking distance from Hotel.
We will return again when we are in Kamloops

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2012

Dear RobB,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. I was pleased you scored us a 4 overall, but in service, cleanliness and Sleep Quality - a 5! This is what we strive and work hard for. I look forward to seeing you stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Address: 540 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: $91 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing