We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the heart of downtown Kamloops!”
Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #7 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
seattle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in the heart of downtown Kamloops!”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Absolutely loved this hotel! It was our first time at Hotel 540...here is what the experience was like:

~Friendly staff upon check-in
~Warm and well-lit parking garage
~Clean, newly upgraded, comfortable & spacious rooms (we had 2)
~Great views
~Extremely quiet
~Delicious breakfasts served at the hotel restaurant (Embers)
~Very friendly cleaning staff when walking in the hallways

Overall, the hotel exceeded our expectations...we will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveltheworld95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear traveltheworld95,


Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. I was so pleased to read you enjoyed literally every aspect, from the service to the food, the location to the amenities. We are fortunate to have the list- and we work hard to deliver a great guest experience to each guest. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon !

Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    536
    188
    45
    21
See reviews for
334
506
69
312
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pritchard, British Columbia, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed at the Hotel 540 on April 12, 2012 and it was just excellent. The Staff was superior especially David Bryde. Helped me out so much last night as we kept having trouble with our keys and the elevator. Was a great help. The Hotel 540 is very lucky to have him as a member of the Hotel 540 team

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear SharonB,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. Yes, David continues to be a great asset for our team and is one of our favourites with our regular guests. We look forward to welcoming you back and seeing you here again soon.

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We recently stayed at the newly renovated Hotel 540 with the Casino. It was nice and clean, a good modernupdating and was comfortable and quiet.

the only thing is you have to pay a 10 dollar a day parking fee even if you park outside rather than under ground.
No continental breakfast, but restaurant on site was good for breakfast, but a bit slow on the service.
Overall, a good stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munster19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Munster19,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience and the renovations for both the hotel and the casino. You mentioned there was a charge for parking - yes we have chosen not to bury the cost of parking for all guest in to the rate - but rather those that use it pay a $10/day charge. We also are pleased to be the only hotel in Kamloops that has gated covered/heated/air-conditioned parking - which we just renovated. I know our guests in the winter and on rainy days like today enjoy it. For those vehicles above 6'5" we have contracted some spots in the lot behind the hotel - which we pay for, on a per usage basis. I hope you enjoyed your experience at a full service, business class hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Stayed for a second time at Hotel 540, I like the hotel and it is conveniently located near the office I needed to work at as well as a Tim Horton's. I was disappointed that the internet in the hotel lobby was not working and staff were unable to fix it. The heating in my room was very noisy and continually woke me up throughout the night. I did not want to try turning it off in case it became too cold. Front desk staff was very friendly and the interior hotel renovations look good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sipari_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear sipari_traveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, and for being a regular at The 540 ! We are fortunate to have a fantastic location downtown. I was sorry to hear of the internet challenges, I do know from your stay date that this coincided with a city probably our internet company had. On the same note, we have just upgraded our wireless capacity - again - to meet the growing needs our guests have. We have also hard wired some rooms on our executive club floor, for guests who must have that option. Next time you stay, please mention to the Front Desk and they can have a bellman with you to show you the thermostat control on our new envergy efficient heating/air conditioning units. We look forward to welcoming you back !

Bryan Pilbeam
VP/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

A very clean hotel, overall.

Pros:
1. Spacious rooms
2. Recently renovated
3. Fantastic views both ways
4. Fridge and microwave are good

Cons:
1. Parking is not free
2. Breakfast not included
3. Strange plug situation for the pot
4. Ccarpoets in a long run will be a home for house mites, dirt etc.

Will I stay there again-may be, 80% positive

Room Tip: Overall, it's a good and clean place, however, there is casino (which is a negative thing for us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarAndr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear MarAndr,

I thank you for you review and taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased you enjoyed your room, the amenities there and the views we have. You noted we don't include parking and breakfast. That's correct, we are full service hotel with a variety of choices. The first is our bed and breakfast package - this is a full breakfast (your choice, in our restaurant). I think you will find it is priced very modestly from this upgraded service. As well, you experienced our heated underground parking- which is not offered any where else in town. As part of our current renovation, we have just upgraded, painted and added new lighting to this area. I must politely question your comment on our carpet, it is plush but very suitable for hotels. I look forward to you returning !

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here mid week for just one night. We chose this hotel mainly because it was connected to the casino, and would give us something to do if we got bored. I booked our room to include Breakfast, casino credit and parking. Glad that i did, breakfast was worth it! The only complaint about our stay was the shower.... It was terrible, it would jump back and forth from scalding hot to freezing cold, kinda funny at first but very annoying. Rooms were clean and comfy, loved the bed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear Natxoxo,

Thank you for you response and taking the time to share your experience. I am pleased you enjoyed the hotel and felt your breakfast was very good. We have just improved our breakfast area during our recent renovation and we are set to open again to the public March 4. I am sure you will enjoy this new space on your next visit !
I was sorry to learn of your experience with the shower temperature. We have also just updated all of our mechanical systems and HVAC in the hotel during this renovation. While I can say I had not heard of this issue before - I am also sure that this new system will prevent any further occurances in the balancing of water temperature.

Kind Regards

Bryan Pilbeam/ General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Great job with the renovations: Really liked the new look - Modern while warm. Friendly staff at the front desk. Excellent housekeeping, room was very clean. Large fridge in the room. Very comfortable beds and pillows. Underground parking really nice and convenient, especially in the winter. Centrally located to everything, right in the heart of downtown, yet only 10 min drive to Canada Games Aquatic Centre (we were in town for a swim meet). Highly recommend and will always stay here when in Kamloops !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NVladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Dear NVladybug,

Thanks for your response and sharing your experience. If you enjoyed your experience in December - I can't wait for your to return when we re-open after ANOTHER multi-million dollar renovation. The lobby, meeting space and restaurant are new and improved - and we are working on a new Front Entrance (porte cochere) to come in off the street when you arrive. It's another new service experience not seen in Kamloops before. You are correct as well on our convenience to TRU (University) and their facilities...6 minutes by car is very convenient and you get all of the downtown amenities !

Best Regards and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Bryan Pilbeam/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 54 in Kamloops
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Property: Hotel 540
Address: 540 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing