We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoroughly recommended for short stay in Kamloops” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Dublin
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Thoroughly recommended for short stay in Kamloops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

I stayed here with my partner for one night on drive from Jasper to Kamloops, and we saw this hotel first. Before we decided, we checked the main hotel area, which is quite a bit out from the centre, so we decided to go back and book in - we weren't disappointed. The reception ladies were all very friendly and helpful, and the hotel was very nicely decorated. Our room was spacious and very clean, with a really comfy bed, and a fridge. There' s not a lot to see in the city itself, so it was great to be able to put a bottle of wine in the fridge to have when we got back from dinner - I can recommend 'Frick n Frack' restaurant across street for food and 'Hello Toast', a few doors down from restaurant for breakfast. Also, the lobby had two computers for free high-speed Internet access, which was so welcome. I'd have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone stopping over in Kamloops.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear Byron 31,

Thanks so much for sharing your experience and your recommendation for our hotel. We are so pleased you decided to stay downtown as opposed to up on the hill ! We hear this more and more now and it really is tough to be all of the amenities are you finger tips here and to be able to walk a few blocks to so many options as opposed to having to drive (especially for dinner and evening etc.). I hope to see you again in the area...all the way from Dublin !

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    490
    173
    43
    20
See reviews for
300
460
65
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kamloops
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Our company facilitated a small business meeting at Hotel Five540Forty and they had the perfect size meeting room for our group. They provide all the audio visual equipment we required and it was a comfortable professional setting for our clients.
Service was great. Thanks Jennifer

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmacfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear Jmacfresh,

Thank you for sharing your experience of your business meeting. We are proud to be ranked as the #1 business hotel in Kamloops and meetings and catering events are our specialty. I am pleased to read everything was perfect. We are anxiously awaiting the opening of our new Executive Board Room in mid July. There will be nothing like it in town - and throw in a 5th floor view through large windows of Mt Paul and Mt Peter facing north....well, we look forward to welcoming you back as we take it to a new level !

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

This hotel was excellent , very central easy to find.Lovely room with good facilities.Free parking and close to restaurants and riverside.Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Dear IsaNorthumberland,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience. It really does come down to whether or not you would recommend something to "friends" and so we are very pleased to see that you would recommend us, and considered your stay excellent. As a newly renovated hotel with a great downtown location, we are fortunate. We work hard to combine those intangibles with great service and please to see the result. Next time please stay longer !! There really is so much to do here in the area. I hope you enjoyed your travels in Canada.

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
407 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

We just had one night there from the Rocky Mountaineer. Not much in Kamloops but it was merely a 'stop over'. Good standard of accommodation and very well located.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
Dear mebates00,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I was pleased to see you enjoyed our location and the accomodation. We (of course) strive to be better than "fine" but given the individual area scores were all 4 out of 5, we will use this feedfback as part of our ongoing service improvement plan. Thanks again - hope you enjoyed Rocky Mountaineer !

Regards

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2011

Clean rooms.
Very nice friendly staff.
Well-priced.
Great breakfast - we had a continental breakfast for 10CAD.
Safe parking below the hotel.


I would definetely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RHochreuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear RHochreuter,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience. I was pleased to read that we hit the mark on everything we have been striving for - service, cleanliness, value and a future repeat guest ! Please to see you enjoyed your stay.

Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here as part of a trip on the Rocky Mountaineer. We were assigned to this hotel and don't know how much it cost. Our room was very large and had a large TV and a sofa. It was quiet, comfortable, and within walking distance of numerous restaurants. The only negative was the odd bathroom arrangement - the toilet was situated next to a shower will all clear-glass walls.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KCBirdLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear KCBirdLady,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience. As one of many we have the pleasure of looking after through Rocky Mountaineer - I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience. We are very proud of our newly renovated hotel, and when combined with the ideal downtown location and a strong service team we are enjoying receiving tremendouse guest feedback. I trust you enjoyed the Rocky Mountaineer adventure - it's an amazing experience I highly recommend !

Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Recent refurb shows, very good quality from halls into rooms. Bathroom not yet updated but adequate. Short stay, arrived late pm, walked down to Boston Pizza nearby, good night's sleep, then early check out. No issues encountered, would use again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gde2032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear gde2032,

Thanks very much for sharing your experience. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the refurb of the hotel and our location with a short walk to so many great spots. I noted from your comment on the bathrooms not be upgraded that you would have stayed in our standard room. These are priced accordingly - $10 less than Deluxe and $20 less than our club floor. The Deluxe and Club Floor have upgraded bathrooms with granite and marble, upgraded other amenities in the room- so there is an option and price point for everyone. (special note- we are upgrading the standard room washrooms in the fall to have new sinks, faucets, granite counter tops etc.). Thanks again and glad we will see you soon !

Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Property: Hotel 540
Address: 540 Victoria Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Reservation Counter, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing