We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for stopover.”
Review of Hotel 540

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel 540
Ranked #6 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed June 24, 2011

This hotel was excellent , very central easy to find.Lovely room with good facilities.Free parking and close to restaurants and riverside.Would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2011

Dear IsaNorthumberland,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience. It really does come down to whether or not you would recommend something to "friends" and so we are very pleased to see that you would recommend us, and considered your stay excellent. As a newly renovated hotel with a great downtown location, we are fortunate. We work hard to combine those intangibles with great service and please to see the result. Next time please stay longer !! There really is so much to do here in the area. I hope you enjoyed your travels in Canada.

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,509)
There are newer reviews for Hotel 540
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,458 - 1,464 of 1,509 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2011

We just had one night there from the Rocky Mountaineer. Not much in Kamloops but it was merely a 'stop over'. Good standard of accommodation and very well located.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2011

Dear mebates00,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I was pleased to see you enjoyed our location and the accomodation. We (of course) strive to be better than "fine" but given the individual area scores were all 4 out of 5, we will use this feedfback as part of our ongoing service improvement plan. Thanks again - hope you enjoyed Rocky Mountaineer !

Regards

Bryan Pilbeam / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Clean rooms.
Very nice friendly staff.
Well-priced.
Great breakfast - we had a continental breakfast for 10CAD.
Safe parking below the hotel.


I would definetely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHochreuter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Dear RHochreuter,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience. I was pleased to read that we hit the mark on everything we have been striving for - service, cleanliness, value and a future repeat guest ! Please to see you enjoyed your stay.

Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed here as part of a trip on the Rocky Mountaineer. We were assigned to this hotel and don't know how much it cost. Our room was very large and had a large TV and a sofa. It was quiet, comfortable, and within walking distance of numerous restaurants. The only negative was the odd bathroom arrangement - the toilet was situated next to a shower will all clear-glass walls.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank KCBirdLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Dear KCBirdLady,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience. As one of many we have the pleasure of looking after through Rocky Mountaineer - I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your experience. We are very proud of our newly renovated hotel, and when combined with the ideal downtown location and a strong service team we are enjoying receiving tremendouse guest feedback. I trust you enjoyed the Rocky Mountaineer adventure - it's an amazing experience I highly recommend !

Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Recent refurb shows, very good quality from halls into rooms. Bathroom not yet updated but adequate. Short stay, arrived late pm, walked down to Boston Pizza nearby, good night's sleep, then early check out. No issues encountered, would use again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gde2032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Dear gde2032,

Thanks very much for sharing your experience. I was pleased to read you enjoyed the refurb of the hotel and our location with a short walk to so many great spots. I noted from your comment on the bathrooms not be upgraded that you would have stayed in our standard room. These are priced accordingly - $10 less than Deluxe and $20 less than our club floor. The Deluxe and Club Floor have upgraded bathrooms with granite and marble, upgraded other amenities in the room- so there is an option and price point for everyone. (special note- we are upgrading the standard room washrooms in the fall to have new sinks, faucets, granite counter tops etc.). Thanks again and glad we will see you soon !

Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

the 540 is located downtown Kamloops and is close to everything. I was able to walk to everything and anything. The staff was just super. from housekeeping to front desk, everyone was helpful and courteous. just a great hotel

Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
Thank bigdog71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2011

Dear Bigdog71,

Love the name ! Thanks BigDog71 for taking the time to share your comments. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel, that you enjoyed service our team provided and the location. It is nice to be downtown in Kamloops, to be able to walk to amenities or after dinner etc back to the hotel. Hope to see you here again soon !

Best Regards,

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We didn't research a hotel in Kamloops and choose the 540 based on look. The room was fine. The queen bed was fine. It was for the most part clean except for a short black hair in the shower, quite near the tap. That put me off a bit. We had a nice view at the back of the hotel of the rolling hills - being on the 3rd floor we still saw the strip mall though I wasn't bothered by that. There was underground parking and breakfast available on site, although not included in the cost. We had dinner in the restaurant and were semi disappointed. The clam chowder was served with a skin on top, that is as if it had been microwaved or had been sitting under the heat lamp too long. The garlic bread served with it was super yummy. The soup of the day - a roasted red pepper and tomato was yummy and served with crackers. I would've rather had the garlic bread. The salmon pasta was terribly disappointing and i felt overpriced. We didn't get to go to the casino but I liked that it was available. The staff were helpful although did do a double take when I rejected the offer of 2 double beds rather than the queen bed that i had requested - perhaps that had to do with the fact that we were 2 women traveling together. Overall it was fine for one night.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up will have a nicer view
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tarouskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel540GM, General Manager at Hotel 540, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2011

Dear Tarouski,

Thanks very much for taking the time to share your experience. I appreciated your attention to detail as well as the room tip - yes, we are fortunate to have great views and they are better on the higher floors ! I will share your feedback with our new Chef and Restaurant Manager - your comments on the Seafood Chowder would have been from sitting a couple minutes too long. I am pleased to advise that we are in the printing stage of a new menu and beverage menu ! I hope you will be able to come back to try this. Please feel free to contact me directly as a repeat guest, I would be happy to make your reservation personally !

Best Regards

Bryan Pilbeam
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 540? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 540

Address: 540 Victoria St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 2B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Kamloops
#3 Business Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kamloops
#8 Family Hotel in Kamloops
Price Range: $96 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 540 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 540 is Kamloops' premier downtown hotel. This modern property has undergone a thorough $12m modernization and is now often referred to as "Kamloops' Best Address". Hotel 540 offers all the comforts and conveniences of a luxury hotel at an affordable price. Conveniently located downtown within walking distance of shops, offices, and art galleries, the hotel is also a short drive away from Thompson Rivers University, tournament venues and golf courses. The award-winning Sun Peaks Resort is 60 minutes from the hotel.If you are planing a special event, we offer exceptional, state of the art banquet facilities with all the amenities and services necessary to a memorable event or meeting. With accommodations to suit all needs, our blue. Dinning + Lounge, year round rooftop pool and hot tub , 24hr fitness room and our New Mountview Terrace, find out why the Hotel 540 truly is Kamloops' Best Address. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 540 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Executive Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing