We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comfortable, attractively located inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverland Inn & Suites
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Last August, my family and I travelled, as a wedding anniversary gift, on the Rocky Mountaineer (RM) from Banff, Alberta to Vancouver, British Columbia. To allow passengers to enjoy the beauty of the Canadian Rockies and the Fraser Valley, our train did not travel at night. Our train package included a one-night stay in Kamloops, British Columbia, and we were assigned to Riverland Inn & Suites. The property consists of two buildings and is located right on the river bank of the South Thompson River,

Because RM had assigned to us our two rooms, we did not have to go through the formal check-in. Instead, we received our room keys and found our luggage in our rooms. They are large with king beds and soda beds and offer a sweeping view up and down the river and of hills across the river as well as of parts of Kamloops.

The Inn did not serve us dinner. Instead, we ate at Storms Restaurant next door. The meals on the terrace were good and so was the service.

We found our air-conditioned rooms large and our beds comfortable. The rooms came with free WI-FI; coffee makers; irons and ironing boards, and flat-screen TV. The bathrooms contained adequate toiletries. Regrettably, we had no time to use the indoor pool or the whirlpool. Although the Inn offers free breakfasts, we did not partake, because breakfast was served on the train.

In the morning, we enjoyed water and coffee in the reception area. The check-out was simple. We left our luggage in our rooms (for pick-up and transportation by RM) and our room keys at reception. We found the reception staff friendly and helpful. As the cost of our accommodation was part of the train package, we are not aware of the rooms rates. All in all, we enjoyed our very brief stay. As we were last in Kamloops almost thirty years, and have no plans to return any time soon, we won’t return to the Inn, but if we do, we would consider returning to the Inn.

Room Tip: Go for a ground-level room with a view on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonifacius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

252 - 258 of 357 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

This motor hotel is located just off of the highway 5 bridge entering Kamloops from the north. When you look at the location on a map, it appears to be in a noisy location at the junction of a main highway and a rairoad. The railway seems to be sheltered from the hotel by a large berm or cut out so sound from the railroad is minimal. We stayed one night in July 2012 and again for one night on 5 January 2013. Both times our room was located on the river side of the hotel and we found it quiet and comfortable. On our summer stay we found that there are several picnic tables on the grassy area between hotel & river and a very large patio with lawn chairs and BBQ's. The rooms we stayed in were recently renovated and equiped with flat screen TV and Bar size fridge. Staff on both visits were pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for River side room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyBert_50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed here for business. I always bring one of my dogs with me on my work/road trips and this has been my best experience in Kamloops to date.

Pet friendly rooms are never the best that a hotel has to offer and I'm sure this was no exception.
However, the room was very clean and relatively modern. The bathroom is small but very clean and updated.

The real appeal of this place is the surroundings. It is central to just about anything you want to do in Kamloops and is directly backing onto the South Thompson River. There is a dog park, riverbank and paved trails all within a short walk. The service is fast and polite.

All in all, I can't imagine a better experience for pet owners in Kamloops.

Room Tip: Just make sure to get a room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kennedy_Kirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Quiet hotel at a certain distance (25 minutes walk) from the city center. Big, clean and comfortable rooms equipped with mosquito nets and a small balcony with a view on the river. Excellent restaurant nearby (Storms on the River).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brigittep37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and i stayed at Riverland Inn on a recent trip around the Rockies,first night on the road after flying into Vancouver nad we could not have made a better choice.
Sharra,in the front office was so so helpful.I honestly thought she would get sick of this dopey Aussie asking so many questions but she was up to it on all ocassions,I cannot speak highly enough of her.
The inn itself was very good value for money we thought,spacious room,right on the river bank,BBQ and laundry.
Excellent restaurant next door.also on the river front.
Only downside was the trucks reversing at 2a.m. as over the road is an industrial area but that is a minor point.Clean,tidy,well impressed
If we ever get back to Canada will definitely stay here again,Even a fruit loop water skiing on the Thompson river when to Australian outback temperatures it was freezing.Loved it and loved Sharra.

Room Tip: Grab the lower floor, then one can walk straight out onto the riverbank.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank otistdriftwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Comfortable, spotlessly clean, and in a quiet location within easy access of the city centre, the Kamloops Heritage Railway and walks along the river bank. The staff was most friendly, and the breakfast most adequate. A place to relax with outside terraces overlooking the river after a dipin the indoor swimming pool and jacuzzy.

Room Tip: Undoubtedly the rear of the hotel for views of the river and hill scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finntrainfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Stayed here one night whilst on the Rocky Mountaineer from Calgary to Vancouver and this was the only part of the trip that was disappointing - Having stayed in a 5 star hotel in Calgary and with a 5 star planned for Vancouver this no star hotel was a let down - Small room with noisy ac - room on the upper floor and acess via small open walkway - wash unit in the bedroom - on site restaraunt was dark, overpriced and limited menu. Only good point were the views from the back of the place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorlestonpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#8 of 54 in Kamloops
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 540
#5 of 54 in Kamloops
1,567 reviews
Aberdeen
Holiday Inn Express - Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverland Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverland Inn & Suites

Address: 1530 River St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 1Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range: $53 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverland Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Thompson River with picturesque Mount Peter and Mount Paul as a backdrop, our Inn is the ideal stay for those looking for quiet comfort, and knowing it is only just a short walk into town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riverland Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverland Inn And Suites
Riverland Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing