We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay in Kamloops”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverland Inn & Suites
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay in Kamloops”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Like a PC, a hotel needs hard- as well as software. For the Riverland Inn in Kamloops, BC the hardware consists of the usual items like building, room, bed, breakfast room etc. And all this is already of great value. When it comes to the software, it is about services rendered by human beings. And the staff of the Riverland went the extra mile when I needed a tailor made and flexible solution to find a place to stay for motorbike enthusiasts from all four corner of the globe. Despite some difficulties on the road, every participant finally made it safely to Kamloops and was able to enjoy and experience the great hospitality of the Riverland Inn. Not to forget the dinner in the lovely restaurant with a patio next door and the breakfast with a view over the river in the hotel the next morning. I have travelled extensively around the globe, but the Riverland is outstanding. Congratulations.

Room Tip: All four rooms were facing the river and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sagogn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    143
    66
    14
    12
See reviews for
89
143
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Well appointed and brand new renovations made this an excellent choice. Enjoyed the mighty Thompson River right outside the door of the main floor room. Even though there were guests on both sides, there was no noise leak-through so in other words, there is good soundproofing. There is an excellent restaurant for fine dining next door. The breakfast was fresh and tasty but the breakfast room is a bit closed in feeling, especially if there are little kids in there. Overall a brief but pleasant stay. It's worth getting off the highway and seeking this place out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hexakali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We were only going to be in Kamloops for one night and had not made reservations at any hotel/motel. As the Riverland Inn offered a South Thompson River view, hot tub & pool, we decided to check it out.

I inquired regarding an "walk-in" or internet rates that might be available and, for a nice surprise, was quoted a very reasonable rate on a family suite. Mind you, this was in the 2nd week of May and prior to the high season. Still, it was much lower than what our research had indicated. Check-in was very friendly and efficient.

Access to our unit was down a short flight of stairs. If there are elevators, I didn't see any in the various parts of the inn we viewed. Accordingly, if one has mobility issues, assistance should be obtained through the front desk.

Our family unit, which, as it turned out, was one that is scheduled for remodeling by the fall of 2012. When the new Riverland management became aware of my intention to post a review, they asked if I would include information regarding their ongoing room upgrades. While I'll include some photos of these upgraded rooms, my review pertains to OUR unit. In that respect, Riverland Inn & Suites exceeded our expectations.

The family unit had one queen-size bed, in the main room, and twin singles in the bedroom. The suite includes an efficiency kitchenette, dishes, etc. All the stuff you'd expect in this type of unit. Everything worked perfectly and was very clean. The main room was comfortably large enough for a family. The beds were firm, but, everyone slept quite well. Quiet. The heating/cooling unit, unlike in some places, worked well without a lot of noise. Nice, flat screen tv with lots of channels. Wifi is free and works great.

Bathroom was a comfortable standard size. Full tub and shower. Lots of hot water. Good lighting. The usual bathroom amenities (shower, rinse, etc.) are all provided.

There's an awesome "green space" provided for guests, with chairs and tables. As it overlooks the South Thompson River, the view is really nice. Additionally, there's a bbq area - with gas bbq's provided - for the use of families and groups.

The hot tub and pool, while nice, are on the remodeling list for some attention. Just some painting and cleaning up. Again, both clean and good working order.

The remodeled units, that we were shown, were not structurally different from our own suite. What is being done, however, amounts to some nice redecoration and replacing of appliances/equipment that warrants it. They looked great!

The inn is about a five minute drive to downtown Kamloops. Very easy to find restaurants and shopping. While there is a restaurant - Storms - attached to the the Riverland, we did not use it. The complimentary breakfast is better than average and the guest sitting area, while small, is really nice! It has a great view. The business center seemed to be decent, as well.

I would not hesitate to return to the Riverland Inn & Suites! This is a great place, particularly for families or group events.

Room Tip: View rooms face the river. Upper floors on only one of the units has balconies. You'll need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letterdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devils Lake, North Dakota, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2012

They were very helpful and friendly. Late arrival was easy, helped with transportation to the hotel from the train. A great view of the river and the continental breakfast was hot and tasty! Indoor pool and a hot tub. Clean and quite and the beds were very comfortable, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We booked the executive suite (316) on the top floor for a one night stay and it was great! A large open, quiet room with a corner jaccuzi tub and king bed (which does need a soft mattress topper!). A sofa and two chairs so we could visit when our kids came over. Two huge sets of patio doors onto a wide balcony overlooking the river. All the beauty of this motel is at the front so do NOT be put off when you drive up as the back parking lot side has no windows, etc. We like parking right in front of our steps to our room!

The inn is close to the highway which you will hear but it did not bother us. You also hear all the birds in the grassy bank and trees and the ducks are swimming around on the river. We even saw otters on the dock of the restaurant next door! The proximity to the highway made it convenient.

It included a hot breakfast which we went down to get and took back to our beautiful room. Well kept pool areas.

There is a really nice outdoor seating area and bbq's and I think it would be great to stay here with children in the sumer.

Kamloops is a tough place to find a hotel with a balcony and this is how we discovered the Riverland Inn. I will definitely not look farther whenever in Kamloops as it was PERFECT!

Room Tip: Always choose upstairs for view and quiet. 316 is and end room which is nice. There is a restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skibumbeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in the Riverland Inn for two nights.The hotel was giving a discount to people who were attending the Gun and Antique Show in Kamloops.(which we were)The first room we were given, was on the lower floor, but didnt have a view, as there was a staircase leading to the upper floor (outside). We asked for another room, and they were happy and willing to change our room . We got a room on the 3rd floor,with a balcony and view of the river.
The rooms are quite spacious.
The bathroom was small and only had a bath and toilet in it. The bath was very nice, but the showerhead was a little low.....so was a little hard to wash our hair.
The vanity was located outside the bathroom......(beside the front door as you walk into the room) A little unusal.
We had a room with 2 Queen size beds. They were quite firm, and the pillows were too.
We slept ok,.. but could hear the traffic outside.
The room comes has a bar fridge., free internet and a flat screen tv.
The balcony had two chairs on it, but no cushions on them, A nice place to sit outside and enjoy the sunrise , and watch the ducks on the river.
There are picnic tables in the back of the hotel....that are on a grassy area that face the river.
The pool and hot tub were covered the whole time we were there. Not sure why.
The breakfast which was included in the room rental.....was good.
It consisted of :
Egg pattties
Hash brown patties
sausages
bread, bagels, muffins, cookies
Cereal... little boxes
fruit, apples and oranges
Tea, coffee, milk
Juice Apple, orange, cranberry
There was friendly staff there the whole time, cleaning and making sure everything (the food and coffee) was full. The dining area was nice, and had a view of the river.
All and all the Inn was a nice place to stay for the discount price. Not sure if we would stay there for the full price.

Room Tip: choose a room on the bottom floor.(river view)..if you dont like to climb stairs and want easy acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rubberducklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We stayed at the Riverland Inn for one night while passing through Kamloops. We were pretty happy with the size of the rooms and they were clean. The bathroom was a little bit on the small side and the vanity/basin area is outside the bathroom beside the front door as you walk into the room. This area then doubles as your tea/coffee area. The view from the hotel in nice and there are walkways along the river and a few balconies. The gentlemen at reception was really nice, even helping us out with a phone call which was I was very greatfull. The pool area and spa downstairs was good, my son and husband had a quick dip after dinner. We walked next door to the Storm restaurant which was really very good and well worth a try! The only not so good things about this hotel was I could clearly hear the coming and goings of other guests up and down the external stairs and then in the rooms above us - we could have been just unlucky and had bigfoot above us. Also, I found the pillows really uncomfortable they were far too high and hard. The breakfast in the morning was fine as long as you went for the ceral, muffins, toast etc and stayed away from the cooked/hot stuff. They did have quite a few choices so we were happy with that and it was included in the price. All in all a nice hotel with friendly and helpfull staff, next door to a really great restaurant on the river.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ren95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
The Plaza Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kamloops
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Sandman Signature Kamloops Hotel
Hotel 540
#8 of 55 in Kamloops
1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverland Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverland Inn & Suites

Property: Riverland Inn & Suites
Address: 1530 River St, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 1Y9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverland Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the Thompson River with picturesque Mount Peter and Mount Paul as a backdrop, our Inn is the ideal stay for those looking for quiet comfort, and knowing it is only just a short walk into town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Riverland Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverland Inn And Suites
Riverland Hotel Kamloops

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing