We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“second time staying at this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Plus Kamloops Hotel
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Victoria Capital Regional District, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“second time staying at this hotel”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was our second time staying at this hotel we stayed early in September,and this time around we found the hotel lacking in a couple areas . We did find the front desk staff not friendly, most did not even look up when you would walk in to the hotel and even when you were standing in front of them you had to wait until they did look up to greet you or stop talking to each other ,not all of the front desk staff ,but some of them.
This hotel the breakfast is included and it was nice ,but did not seam as nice as we had remembered it ,it does have some hot items and some cold items .When we were at breakfast we noticed the staff helping them selves to the breakfast,not some thing we had ever seen at a hotel before.
We did find the chambermaids very friendly and helpful .
On our second night the hallway was very noisy until about 11:30 and then in the morning the same party was leaving and so some one was going around at 7 a.m. knocking on doors yelling at them to get up(we guessed some sports team) ,not the hotel's fault but it was a crappy way to wake up.
The location is great lots of stores near by and the back of the hotel has a great view ,but this hotel had a different feel to it from last time we stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daytripper008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimRodgers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kamloops Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that this visit was not up to our standards. We strive to provide superior customer care to all our guests and we fell short on this visit. It was the long weekend and a team did sneak in (we were not taking any teams) by booking individually.

We do allow our staff to help themselves to our breakfast but usually at the end when they get their morning break.

i hope you will consider returning so we can show our true hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    217
    80
    21
    11
See reviews for
239
186
28
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Shuswap
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

front desk service was distracted........arrived around 7pm..........viewed room, clean and modern well appointed ..........first thing we noticed was cigarette smoke ?? are the rooms mixed on each floor......?? other patrons walking the halls with cigarette in hand..??......pool was nice however the jets were broken in runway area......For $169.00 we would not do this again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ing2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimRodgers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kamloops Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I tried to contact you but your profile is not accepting messages. There was no guest complaints about smoking on the date of your stay? We are a 100% non-smoking hotel and respond to complaints quickly.

In reference to the jets in the pool. It is for our lazy river which is on a timer and goes on every 45 minutes during peak hours and 1 1/2 hour in non-peak to conserve energy.

We strive to provide superior customer care to all our guests and strive to satisfy all guests. I hope you will consider giving us a chance to show our true hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We didn't spend very long at the hotel (arrived at 9PM and were on the road again by 9AM), although we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Kamloops. The hotel is very centrally located, easy to get on and off the highway from. It is clean, modern and the beds are very comfortable. I appreciated the option of paying a little more to be on the top floor away from the elevator. We had a room with two queen beds and a pull-out which gave us plenty of room for our family of four. The breakfast in the morning was great! Our kids loved the pancake machine! Our only comment/complaint would be the funny smell in our room. We don't have any sensitivities so it wasn't a bit deal although the room smelled of cleaning products. The smell didn't go away either by the time we left so I'm not sure what it was? Anyway, we would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimRodgers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kamloops Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. We were doing some plumbing repair next door to your room and the smell must have lingered through to your room. We will be more careful in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The Best Western in Kamloops is the only place to stay if you want to stay somewhere from this millenium. Every ammenity you need is close by and the rooms are clean and modern. The rooms have a fresh new design with the bathroom at the far end of the room instead of two feet inside the door. In addition, the bathrooms have a timed heated flooriing that I now wish was in my home. I travel for a living and can say that even though you do not readily feel the heat on the heat on your feet, you are not cold when you you get out of the shower.....WOW!! It is with great confidence that I can say that this hotel cannot be more than a year old. As far as I am concerned this is the only hotel in Kamloops. For the record, they have wired internet in the hotel room, which is mandatory if I want to get any work done. Also, great food at your finger tips if you so desire.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimRodgers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kamloops Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thanks for your kind words. We are now just over 2 years old so hearing from our guests we look "new" still is kind words for our mainteance department who loves to hear this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed one night at this hotel and was so impressed I don't even know where to begin! Granite counters everywhere, HEATED bathroom floor(!), super comfy bed, nice pool and a pretty well appointed gym, even a laundry room you can do your laundry in! The colours are beautiful and classic and give the place a considerably more upscaled feel. Staff was very friendly. Free HOT breakfast (think pancakes!!) included. Will definitely stay here again and adding to my favourites.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Omanijewl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimRodgers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kamloops Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Our guests all agree the heated bathroom floor is a nice way touch! The Pancake Machine is also a big hit with the kids.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legal
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I am happy I joined the points reward program because the Best Westerns in Canada have really improved. this newer hotel is one example.

This was our second stay, beautiful hotel, nice breakfast , nice decor, very comfortable beds and pillows.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheresaLegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimRodgers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kamloops Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Our BW Rewards program is going great and the Summer Promotion is really going over well. Just another reason to stay with Best Western!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a fantastic stay, the kids received gift bags on arrival. Room was clean and spacious. Pool was lovely, saltwater, not too much chemical. Nice breakfast. Comfy beds. Staff at the front desk were helpful & pleasant. Definitely would recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcmoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimRodgers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Kamloops Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are family friendly and are glad that more and more families recognize that our saltwater pool is great for kids and enviromentally better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kamloops hotels
City Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Kamloops
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 540
#7 of 54 in Kamloops
1,465 reviews
The Plaza Hotel
#9 of 54 in Kamloops
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Kamloops Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Kamloops Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Kamloops Hotel
Address: 660 West Columbia Street, Kamloops, British Columbia V2C 1L1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Kamloops
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Hotels in Kamloops
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Kamloops Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kamloops Greenest Hotel. Located in the Sahali portion of Kamloops, nearest hotel to Thompson Rivers University and the Tournament Capital Center.With 81 guestrooms, free breakfast, Saltwater Indoor pool and hot tub. 42" Tv's with Optik HDTV and individual room wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Best Western, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Kamloops Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing